We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, Poor food only high price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Olympia Makati
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was one of the worst stays on my abroad trips, while charging around 4000 paisos its reaaly not worth to stay a single day.

Rooms were average and clean but definately not worth the price they charge for.

The service here is so bad that u would like to go down to the reception to get everything.

Avoid this hotel unless u dont have other options!

Room Tip: Try nearby hotels in Makati which are international 5 star chains for little more around 5000 paisos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rligade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

"Serviced residence" stands for faulty service at hotel prices. While the apartments themselves are pretty nice and the location is great, this particular location of the Somerset apartments is not the best. The internet access system is difficult to get to work and if you are an Apple user, it might take you a lifetime or two (I never did and while they promised a technician, they never showed up). The staff is particularly unhelpful and the array of offered services varies according to who gets you call (they apparently, had stopped offering some services they had listed without telling anyone). Breakfast is barely edible, they promise "real" orange juice and give you from concentrate, at best. The lobby is sad to say the least and messages and packages do not get through. I have stayed in other Somersets (the one in Seoul is fantastic) but really would not recommend staying here, for that price you can find better in Manila.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilianovaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

While the hotel is in a great location and the apartment itself is very nice, we had some issues. No hot water in the shower is a big problem. Our safe didn't work, although that was quickly fixed. Our modem didn't work so we were told to access the internet via a neighboring unit. This created spotty coverage, but worse was that we could only access the internet with one device at a time. In 2013, that's unacceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericnelsonchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Everything about the hotel is great.. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.. Food is great.. They had good vegetarian options even for breakfast at CAVA.I was always greeted by staff even when I got back at 2 in the night..Staff arranged taxis for me all along on time...

Rooms are clean and airy/spacious..

Hotel is close to the malls as well.. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpletrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My second time staying at this hotel. What I like is the space, clean design and safe and convenient location. This time we booked a basic room with a King size bed. What I liked about this is that it came with a microwave, utensils, heating pot, ironing board, etc -everything ideal for a long term stay or if you want to eat in the room. Split type air con provided nice and pleasant coolness. The extra room space can fit another bed! Amenities in the bathroom were not personalized and the refillable type.
What I dislike is the hotel's "old"smell. The breakfast areas are also "outside". Got a little wet because it was raining. Check-in was a bit disappointing. He was suggesting a higher rate for the same room because of some technical glitch. He gave free wifi access though but seemed quite unhappy that I did not follow instructions when he realized, none was provided. Stay here if you're looking for a cheaper alternative in the middle of the city or when it's safer to go home the following day.











































Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank annarvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm the traveler who wishes to have a good night sleep after a long day. A clean bed, shower, a hotel room conveniently located near restaurants and transportation is typically enough. This hotel has all the typical standard amenities. It is close to shopping malls about 5 minutes walk and is in one of the main roads in Makati near the airport. My friends would choose to book a room on this hotel whenever we wanted to get together and have sort of a sleepover. The room is big and has everything really.

-2 bedrooms with a big family room
-dining room
-free breakfast
-TV with cable channels
-full kitchen
-2 toilet and bath

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My family and I stayed there for a few months after being repatriated from Jakarta. We found it spacious and comfy for our family of 3. Safe parking in an area where it is quite difficult to find parking. We found the staff to be friendly and courteous. The Somerset is walking distance to various malls and supermarkets. Services are consistent with an upscale serviced apartment. Being near to the office was definitely a big plus. It would have been nice if there was a day care center. Working and living here helped us re adjust to Manila.My wife and daughter were also able to walk to the Ayala Museum, which they enjoyed a lot. As luck would have it, we celebrated Halloween in the Somerset with my daughter being dressed as " The Black Lady of Somerset " - good memories all of them !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marikhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.6 mi away
Somerset Millennium Makati
0.2 mi away
Fraser Place Manila
Fraser Place Manila
#32 of 86 in Makati
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Salcedo Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Picasso Boutique Serviced Residences
0.5 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#18 of 86 in Makati
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Olympia Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Olympia Makati

Address: No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: £60 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Olympia Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Makati City's central business district, Somerset Olympia Makati is ideal for executives and their families looking for work-life balance and an enriching lifestyle. The newly refurbished serviced residence is infused with warm hospitality and allows convenient proximity to major corporate offices, parks, lifestyle venues and cultural centres. It is right across the lush Ayala Triangle Park and situated within walking distance to Greenbelt Mall, Glorietta Mall and Ayala Museum. There's always a warm welcome awaiting you and your family - including your furry, four-legged companions at Somerset Olympia Makati. Our friendly staff are always on hand to extend assistance with local knowledge to help you settle in quickly. Somerset Olympia Makati is one of a premier collection of The Ascott Limited's serviced residences in over 80 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you 30 years' experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. Because life is about living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Somerset Olympia Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Olympia Makati Hotel Makati
Somerset Olympia Makati Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing