We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Planet Makati, Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Prague
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Located in the tourist part of Makati, literally 50 meters away from P Burgos - lots of hangout places, restaurants, etc.
The rooms are very small though with no chair & table (just a fold-out "table" on the wall).
The WiFi internet is very fast and excellent signal in all rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    313
    179
    46
    30
See reviews for
46
188
211
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was a little surprise how small our room really was. We both had our own luggages and it was a problem where to find enough space to open them.
However, room was clean and comfortable.
Location was good enough. I wasn't comfortable to walk in this district by evenings but daytime it was okay. There were lot of restaurants and coffee shops near by the hotel.
This is good place to stay, only negatives are the size of rooms and owerflowing water in shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimmu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was in the Tune Hotel in Makati for 4 nights. I stayed in the rather good Quezon City Tune Hotel, and thought the experience can be replicated in Makati. However this was not the case.

First day:

Check in process rather swift, enter room 919. Three minutes later, dirty stain found on bedsheet.
Back down to reception. No apology, just another room given: 905.
Back up to 9th floor, move all luggage to new room. It's ok, except still a stain on the bedsheet in new room. Not as big as the other room, but cannot be bothered to go back down again.

Mid-stay:
Room service not done in the hotel room upon arriving in the evening.
I'm told the room service status was set at 'Do not disturb'. This was not set by myself. No apology from the reception staff.
Dissappointed, had to move to another room. Again. No apology from the reception staff.

Upon arriving in the other room, the room stunk. It was the type of smell that goes right up your nose. Back down to the reception, and no surprise: no apology from the reception staff. Someone came up and put an air freshener machine in the room, which made a buzz noise all night as it was powered by electricity. Nice.

Towards the end of the stay:

This particularly bothered me. Showers - try having a shower longer than 5 minutes. Because whoever disastrously designed the shower rooms with only a slight step to the main bathroom floor and no door resulted in water overflowing and spilling all over the bathroom floor. That's right. Another Tune hotel guest warned about this, and its true. When you have a shower, you just watch that water hover out the shower cubicle and towards the basin/CR.


Other -

Wifi: issued incorrect wifi code. Had to come down from 9th floor to reception again to get the correct code. I wouldn't mind if the reception cared to apologise but nope.

Lack of room service - Well despite being informed I personally set my room to 'Do not disturb' on the electronic device even when i did not… and despite several staff members saying it was my fault thus resulting in lack of room service for 2 days… one finally admitted that there was a bug in the device which was being looked into by the suppliers. Even when the status is not on "do not disturb" it shows up on the reception as that. Thus no room service. A real insult to be patronised that it was my fault when it was the actual device.

Customer service - this hotel reception doesn't apologise for mistakes, and reception staff don't have a genuine regard to concerns. They did not apologise, which is the most basic level of customer service when an establishment does not uphold a standard. As the 'Tune' hotel is a big brand for budget minded travellers, and due to its location it will always have many walking in through the door with little effort. This affectively means, that staff do not need to care as if one guest is not happy there will always be many other customers based on the hotel chain name + price.



Overall:

If you are a single traveller, this might be okay for a stay. Don't expect much from this branch.

For a couple, it's embarrassing. Really embarrassing. Save yourself the aggro. For 10-15% increase to your hotel budget you will find much better hotel rooms, also much larger.

Hope this review has helped.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queozn City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night with my best friend. At first we only want to visit their cafe-bar located in the ground floor side by side the lobby and reception. Because someone told us that it's nice to hang out there, quiet and away from those typical cafe-bar along the street. Aside from their good food you get to enjoy playing billiard also.

We get to check in to be able to see if the hotel is nice.

The room where we stayed is just right for two occupants, though too small still they have a comfy bed and clean toilet. Air conditioning is okay it's just that it's a little bit noisy. That they have to fix.

And also they do not have a telephone connecting the reception area. Just in case you need something like a room service you will have to text or call them as the number is written in the Menu right in front of the bed atop the TV set. So for me that's an additional expense.

For an overnight stay we pay P2,500 and bought a set of toothbrush and shampoos as well.

Okay to stay for jus a short time but not excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilpinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Basically you get what you pay for here. Clean, small & cosy enough for those who are just using it for a quick stop-over for a night or two, which I did, & in a good location & good value for a small fee. Extras were pricey here & beware of getting taxi's outside the hotel as they are much more expensive than just going around the corner to hail a normal taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location is safe but far from greenbelt. Clean and very affordable, for great budget hotel and suited for commoners. You get what you pay for. The pillows are not comfortable and are flat. The restaurants aren't easy if you are craving for a non- japanese/korean food. Beware of the taxis parked by the front of the hotel that will rip you off and ask you to pay Php300 and are not metered. walk a few more to the main street to get a metered taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almaphoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location in Makati, close to restaurants and bars, and about a 15-20 min walk to Greenbelt. The rooms are always clean, great bed, good wifi, nothing to complain. A new 7/11 is opening just outside, so will be even more convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#23 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#33 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#18 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.0 mi away
AurumOne Makati
AurumOne Makati
#26 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing