We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room. Convenient location. Just ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small room. Convenient location. Just ok.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this hotel just for a night for connecting flight out of Manila. We previously stayed in Artina Suite Hotel and should have just stay there for a night again, but I thought Tune Hotel is closer to Airport, but it isn't that much closer..

Good:
1. It is in a better location than Artina. Closer to Makati Ave and further away from JP Rizal, which is a nightmare.
2. Staff is pretty nice. We stayed only one night but staff seems nice from our limited interactions with them.
3. Room was clean, but it is half of what we had in Artina. Really small. The bedding is comfortable, though. Everything we needed is there.
4. Wifi is user-based access. One access per room. Maybe they would do per-guest but we didn't bother asking. It is fast and reliable even in the room, though. But it took few times telling front-desk that the login doesn't work.
5. Cannot call front-desk from room. There is a "shared" phone by the elevator you use to call front-desk, but not from your room. Weird.
6. No free breakfast. :(
7. Arranged airport shuttle for us ($650peso).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gt6707a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    342
    186
    47
    31
See reviews for
49
205
235
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Tune is basically in the middle of everything in Makati, so you can't ask for a better location. Wifi works well, bed was comfortable, A/C was efficient.

The cons: the shower water pressure was touch and go (down to a trickle twice during each of our showers), and the room is pretty small (no room to put luggage).

Nevertheless, given the price, I'd say this is a pretty good deal all around - if you're staying for just a few days, this place will do the trick in a pinch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are looking for cost-effective and clean tidy hotel in the heart of town this hotel is for you.I went around looking for where to stay in Manila but it was either very expensive or terrible. This hotel was the ideal option, the price is really the best what we found, and modern, the environment tidy. comfortable beds, clean rooms, air conditioning, here you will find everything you need. Rooms are small, but after all, most travelers spend most of the time in the city, so this is not a problem i think. Near the hotel is full of good restaurants, such as Korean, Chinese and fast food . You will also find the shopping center not far from it. The truth is that if you book a
room in advance the price would be even cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As I'm writing this review, I'm still checked in at this hotel. The check-out time is 11:00 am but iT is only 9:00 am and they have already turned off the TV. I called the front desk and they said I have to validate my key card since it is already my last day of stay. Now let's talk about the room itself... There's no phone inside the room. You have to go outside by the elevator to call the front desk. There are no drawers/cabinets in the room! Connecting to a Wi-fi is a hassle. They provide you a 48-hour access and then you must enter another access ID and PW. Transportation, if you ask for a taxi cab from the concierge, it will cost you triple the cost of the normal fare. Housekeeping, although we were only provided with 2 bath towels, no face nor hand towels, the housekeepers are very nice. If you would like a comfortable and relaxing vacation, Tune Hotel is NOT a place to be!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billysbabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Located in the tourist part of Makati, literally 50 meters away from P Burgos - lots of hangout places, restaurants, etc.
The rooms are very small though with no chair & table (just a fold-out "table" on the wall).
The WiFi internet is very fast and excellent signal in all rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was a little surprise how small our room really was. We both had our own luggages and it was a problem where to find enough space to open them.
However, room was clean and comfortable.
Location was good enough. I wasn't comfortable to walk in this district by evenings but daytime it was okay. There were lot of restaurants and coffee shops near by the hotel.
This is good place to stay, only negatives are the size of rooms and owerflowing water in shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimmu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was in the Tune Hotel in Makati for 4 nights. I stayed in the rather good Quezon City Tune Hotel, and thought the experience can be replicated in Makati. However this was not the case.

First day:

Check in process rather swift, enter room 919. Three minutes later, dirty stain found on bedsheet.
Back down to reception. No apology, just another room given: 905.
Back up to 9th floor, move all luggage to new room. It's ok, except still a stain on the bedsheet in new room. Not as big as the other room, but cannot be bothered to go back down again.

Mid-stay:
Room service not done in the hotel room upon arriving in the evening.
I'm told the room service status was set at 'Do not disturb'. This was not set by myself. No apology from the reception staff.
Dissappointed, had to move to another room. Again. No apology from the reception staff.

Upon arriving in the other room, the room stunk. It was the type of smell that goes right up your nose. Back down to the reception, and no surprise: no apology from the reception staff. Someone came up and put an air freshener machine in the room, which made a buzz noise all night as it was powered by electricity. Nice.

Towards the end of the stay:

This particularly bothered me. Showers - try having a shower longer than 5 minutes. Because whoever disastrously designed the shower rooms with only a slight step to the main bathroom floor and no door resulted in water overflowing and spilling all over the bathroom floor. That's right. Another Tune hotel guest warned about this, and its true. When you have a shower, you just watch that water hover out the shower cubicle and towards the basin/CR.


Other -

Wifi: issued incorrect wifi code. Had to come down from 9th floor to reception again to get the correct code. I wouldn't mind if the reception cared to apologise but nope.

Lack of room service - Well despite being informed I personally set my room to 'Do not disturb' on the electronic device even when i did not… and despite several staff members saying it was my fault thus resulting in lack of room service for 2 days… one finally admitted that there was a bug in the device which was being looked into by the suppliers. Even when the status is not on "do not disturb" it shows up on the reception as that. Thus no room service. A real insult to be patronised that it was my fault when it was the actual device.

Customer service - this hotel reception doesn't apologise for mistakes, and reception staff don't have a genuine regard to concerns. They did not apologise, which is the most basic level of customer service when an establishment does not uphold a standard. As the 'Tune' hotel is a big brand for budget minded travellers, and due to its location it will always have many walking in through the door with little effort. This affectively means, that staff do not need to care as if one guest is not happy there will always be many other customers based on the hotel chain name + price.



Overall:

If you are a single traveller, this might be okay for a stay. Don't expect much from this branch.

For a couple, it's embarrassing. Really embarrassing. Save yourself the aggro. For 10-15% increase to your hotel budget you will find much better hotel rooms, also much larger.

Hope this review has helped.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#18 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#22 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing