We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel in a Bad Area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel in a Bad Area.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Tune hotel is not in a great location although Makati seems to be growing out toward it. The staff are great, it has a Sports Bar on the ground floor that also do meals, the rooms are clean and they have a great airport service. Tune hotels are budget and no frills with small rooms as standard, so you get what you expect. Make sure if you stay here you arrange transfers with them to and from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodNChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    369
    195
    53
    31
See reviews for
53
229
249
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We chose this place because of its competitive rates and close proximity to our business venue in Dela Costa street. The front desk staff were competent and friendly and meals could be taken at the lively sports bar next door with English style meals predominating. The rooms were tiny but clean, with no room for a full size travel case but a large flatscreen tv on the wall. On the second morning Manila was hit by a strong typhoon. There was a brownout at the hotel and the back up generator failed too together with the water system. The aircon was not operating and the toilets wouldn't flush. Because the hotel used electronic cards instead of conventional keys we had to get staff to accompany us to our rooms. This went on for several hours whilst the storm raged outside. Eventually we decided to leave and struggled down from the 10th floor with our bags as the lifts were obviously u/s. Scores of guests were bailing out at reception but by the time our request was dealt with there were no vacancies at nearby hotels as locals had abandoned their houses to seek safety in the hotels!! The unscrupulous taxi drivers were exploiting the situation and treating all journeys as 'specials" instead of using the meter. Eventually as it was beginning to get dark power was restored to the accompaniment of ironic cheers from those guests still stranded in the lobby area. Truly a grim experience that one might expect in a third world country not in the financial district of a capital city.

Room Tip: avoid the typhoon season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevroyan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Nevroyan2004,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is indeed pleasing that you found our facilities adequate, the bed comfortable and the staff welcoming. All good positive points for us thanks.

Unfortunately a severe typhoon did hit Manila while you were here and indeed most of Makati and part of greater Manila were without power for close to 48 hours. We did our best to help and assist everyone to the best of our ability during what was a very difficult situation and a sometimes frightening situation for many people involved.

Our generator did stop a number of times during this period due to the level of usage and now things are back to normal, we have conducted a full overhaul of the equipment.

It was a difficult time for all of us and many people in Makati and greater Manila so I do hope you can forgive us for not being up to our usual standards during this stressful time and I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.


Regards,


Frederick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati,Manila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you're going to stay for a few nights and spending lots of your time outdoors during the day, this'll work especially for the budget conscious. Check-in was swift. I was a little worried they might ask me for a printer copy of my reservation (which some hotels still do in this great age of technology) but all they ask if the confirmation number/email which I have on my phone. The room is small and I wouldn't suggest it for claustrophobic folks out there but it was clean. If you have big luggage, it could get crowded. They do offer luggage storage for a fee.. Also, when I booked my room online, I had to choose a package - which includes towels and toiletries - yep, they're not included in your room package and comes with a fee. If you request for cable tv, it comes with additional charge as well.. weird and irritating but at least the air condition works just fine. Don't get taxi from the hotel. I find it expensive, you can get a metered taxi easily a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaz0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel,and it was literally a nightmare!Manila was hit by a Typhoon at the first night we arrived there. Because of the broken air-con facilities of our room,the floor was covered by rainwater at the midnight,almost ruined my passport! The room was so tiny that you couldn't even open the luggage case. I could only give good comments to the restaurant at the ground floor of this building.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room around the corner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ms. Hao S,

Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati and thanks for taking the time to post your 3rd hotel review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate that you have given us a very good rating on cleanliness and on our service. We also thank you for the good comments that you have given to our restaurant.

With regard to the rainwater that went inside your room through the AC, we sincerely apologize for this. The AC is not broken but we have made improvement in the positioning of our AC units to prevent rainwater access into the room.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,


Frederick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Okay people, if you're on a tight budget this hotel will do. Located near Makati Avenue where there are lots of restaurants to choose from. So if you're looking for a cheap stay and decently comfortable room choose Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicagirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokosuka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is one of the cheapest in the area. Quality is descent. If you do not mind small space and just need a place to recharge and relax, look no further. I stayed at one of the higher floors and was extremely surprised at the (high) water pressure in the shower.

Bottom line: Best if travelling alone with light/small luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savusavu, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Located right in downtown Makati this hotel is part of a very good, no frills, chain. I only spent one night as I arrived in Manila late in the day and had business nearby early the next morning. The rooms are tiny. I stayed with another traveller and we barely had room to store our luggage. Despite that I was very happy with all other aspects of the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel or another in the Tune chain of hotels in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodchuck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 83 in Makati
317 reviews
8.8 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#22 of 83 in Makati
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#32 of 83 in Makati
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing