We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MNL Boutique Hostel
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We'd stayed in other more expensive hotels before finding this hostel and we wished we'd found it earlier! Great rooms and bathrooms and very helpful staff! Fast internet too and communal fridge! Very good value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireS772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

MNL had nice beds, functioning showers, and staff that took the time to treat us well. They stored our bags no problem because we checked in early, and they explained the local attractions clearly. There is plenty to do nearby, especially the nightly food market.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBOtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I had my family stay in this hotel and they loved it. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. The place is clean, even their shared shower and toilet. And for the price we got it already includes breakfast!

This place is highly recommended for budget travelers who happen to drop by Makati. :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jobel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hostel is very well located in Makati with a very friendly staff that will give you very good advises and help you with your planning. The room was very comfortable but could be very cold sometimes depending on which bed you are sleeping at. It have a nice character and sometimes the staff will pass by giving beer for us to socialise so it's a great place to meet fellow travellers. The breakfast was also very good as long as you eat early. If you eat after 9am you have less choices. It's a great place to stay in Manila and probably the best choice for Backpackers or for those traveling alone that want to make new friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a bed where the air con is not directly pointed at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hostel in the makati district. The staff is very helpful and sometimes they make a jam session in front of the street.
It's also in walking distance to the bar/pub street.
Some rooms are a little bit noisy because they are close to the common area. But thats backpacker life!
Security is very high. Everybody gets a batch for getting in and the rooms are locked also.
Everytime again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jahmann-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location great, staff great, safe, very social, spotlessly clean and comfortable. I was stung for a whole night when I arrived early in the morning, maybe a reduced rate would be better, otherwise really top notch hostel, with great breakfast. I was also stung again when I had to cancel a booking when I wanted to stay again, which I cancelled way in advance and I had to pay half the room. I think this is inflexible when I am sure they'll sell the room!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manleyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is actually my first time to try staying in a dorm type hostel in Manila. The location is awesome. It is very easy to find. MNL Boutique Hostel is in the heart of Makati Avenue, just behind A Venue Mall, so restaurants, bars, spas, grocery stores, drug stores, convenient stores, fast food chains, etc are just a few minutes walk.

The staff are very friendly. They are always willing to help and assist the guests. The place looks very stylish. Although, I would suggest that they install more windows inside the dorm rooms for more natural lighting.

The beds are OK. The lockers are quite small so a huge backpack won't fit inside their lockers. I like the fact that each bed has its own electrical plug so the guests can recharge their gadgets while resting.

The showers are above average. There is plenty of space inside the shower rooms and toilet. Hot water is also available so it is a plus.

Breakfast is bread and assorted jams. They provide free drinking water (hot and cold), coffee and tea. The free wifi internet is fast and reliable.

I would recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Take the 8 bed dorm room instead of the 6 bed dorm room. It is cheaper and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisnoxfrommanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hop Inn Hotel Makati Avenue Manila
0.2 mi away
Junction Hostel Makati
Junction Hostel Makati
#2 of 66 in Makati
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
#9 of 66 in Makati
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Z Hostel
Z Hostel
#1 of 66 in Makati
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Our Awesome Hostel
Our Awesome Hostel
#5 of 66 in Makati
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MNL Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MNL Boutique Hostel

Address: Valdez cor. Santiago St., Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Price Range: £12 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MNL Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MNL Boutique Hostel is a project of backpackers and well traveled friends that aims to showcase Filipino culture and hospitality in a clean, wholesome and welcoming environment.At MNL, we make sure that when you visit, it's like coming home to an old friend or reconnecting with a family member. We like sharing our stories and we'd also love to hear yours too -- perhaps over a cold bottle of San Miguel Beer.We believe that there is more to Manila than just a jump off point to the islands, that's why we make it a point to give our guests a memorable experience at the hostel.We added a "boutique" to our name because we believe that traveling on a budget does not mean that you have to let go of your comforts. At the same time, art pieces at the hostel depict a story that is truly Filipino -- from pop icons and national heroes to pieces of furniture to hand woven blankets by indigenous tribes.Lastly, we believe that there is nothing more comforting for a traveler in a foreign land than to meet a fellow traveler or to link with a local with the same interests. More than just a place to sleep, this camaraderie is what we build at MNL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MNL Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MNL Boutique Hostel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing