We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, but worth every dime.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Our Awesome Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Our Awesome Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Cheap, but worth every dime.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The stay in the hostel was very comfortable. The people were very accommodating and free internet was accessible in the roof deck as well as the mini lounge. It was also very convenient because it was near the city spots and the airport was not that far either. Although we had a little bit of trouble with the cab because the driver did not know how to speak in English, the people from the hostel were able to give directions to the driver, and that for me is a plus. While it is not comparable to a five star hotel, but for its price which was not even a fraction of what we would have had to shell out, it was worth it. Next time we come over, I will definitely suggest in staying at that place again.

Room Tip: My friends and I stayed at the common rooms, but I heard that there were private ones. You might wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
2
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

The location is excellent as it is near the airport and at the same time steps away from The Fort, the new bustling district of Manila/Makati. The place is also well maintained with clean toilets, nice smelling rooms. The rooms are pretty spacious as well and the property has security guards. There were not many guests when i arrived probably due to the season but the rooftop serves as a good venue to see the skyline of Manila and Makati and meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I decided to have an overnight stay here, as my flight arrived quite late.

First of all, do not expect the taxi driver knows the place. You should prepare yourself with a map or a really good description. The area is close to Makati and Fort Bonifacio, which is nice if you plan to go there anyway. I paid some 190PHP from the airport (catch a regular cab at the arrival area!)
The area itself, however is located close to a highway and somehow under another highway bridge. However, I would not consider it as unsafe.

The hostel itself is quite new, with nice bathrooms and appeared really clean to me. Plus, staying in a dorm is as cheap as 500PHP.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjoschx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The place is bein managed by warm hearted people. This is i guess the main asset of this hostel. The place is pretty neat and clean, as i believe they have just recently opened. The location is also centraly located, near the new istrict called Bonifacio Global City and few minutes away from Makati. Just some point for improvement, i just wish that they further renovate the rooftop. It is a great place to fhillout overlooking Manila, but hope they buy more furnitute to maximixe the potential (probably setup a real bar or as such)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeJihu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

For travelers on a budget, Our Awesome Hostel is for you. If you're just looking for a simple place to stay at in Manila for one or a few nights, the hostel would be able to provide you that - plus more! This place boasts of clean bedrooms and baths, great service and hospitality, tight security, and a really cozy sky lounge where you could meet with fellow travelers! The hostel is also just walking distance from a number of good establishments in Manila's rising business district, Bonifacio Global City, while just a short cab ride away from Makati. For as low as USD12 per night if you book through Agoda, you can never go wrong with Our Awesome Hostel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Staying at Our Awesome Hostel is truly an awesome experience. A true taste of Filipino hospitality is cultivated by the owners who are truly hands-on and well-travelled. The view is beautiful a mix of the Makati skyline and Bonifacio High. The hostel is nestled between EDSA, the main road and Bonifacio High, the entertainment hub. Its truly accessible. The bed is clean and the rates are reasonable. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monica899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We feel very welcome upon arriving. Nice scenery from the roof top (extended view on Rockwell Business District). The cleanliness of the room is very good especially for a hostel. I plan to go back at Awesome Hostel definitely. The location is convenient since its walking distance to Bonifacio Global City and close to Rockwell and Makati Business District.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
2.0 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#24 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#14 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#20 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
#12 of 57 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilik Boutique Hostel
Hilik Boutique Hostel
#13 of 57 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Awesome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Awesome Hostel

Property: Our Awesome Hostel
Address: 5756 Kalayaan Avenue | ABBA Building, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Our Awesome Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Our Awesome Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Awesome Hostel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing