We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel at home”
Review of Hotel Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Durban
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We're at home in durban,it's clean, simple, our things are safe whenever we leave it. and when we come back our room is very clean already. staff are nice. and also the price is just right. but i would also like to ask durban if they still have the 1,300peso rate????? i might book again this august 28,2011, so i hope durban can read this. Me and my fiance would love to stay there again.acknowledgement will be appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funkyglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

I have stayed there many times, and I guess it´s the best value for money in Makati, travelling on a budget. You are close to everything, making this hotel a favorite among travellers. Bear in mind that it is only basic, small, but convenient, clean, and with a hospitable staff.
If you don´t like the red light district, jump on a jeepney and in five minutes you are in the heart of the shopping district instead, with access to some of the most popular bars, clubs, shops and restaurants in Manila.

Room Tip: Book in advance. They will reply your mail......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crawlingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

i was there in sept 2010 iand i had the time of my life there it a great hotel very clean and friedly people in the lobby and they always there for you.

klaas

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klaas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

To make a long story short... I had a dangerous encounter with an exposed wire protruding from the power cord of the lamp in my room. After calling the manager-on-duty to come to my room (which he didn't really want to do at first), and showing him the problem - then asking for a discount on my room, he just said, "If you don't like the room, you can go somewhere else. I'll give you a refund." Never once did he say, "Oh, I'm sorry you almost got electrocuted." or anything remotely resembling an apology.

I did take the refund and did find another place (at 7pm), then went back the next morning to talk to the administrator. After listening (with obvious disinterest) to my story about the manager she has on staff who cares nothing (or perhaps knows nothing) about customer service/satisfaction, she finally said, "I think I would have told you the same thing."

So, if that's their idea of how to turn an unhappy customer into a (somewhat) satisfied one, then they are not interested in having repeat business, or word-of-mouth advertising. In my opinion, all travelers should avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank ChillinTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldurban, Owner at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

We would like to apologize to the reviewer, ChillinTexan, for his unfortunate experience at our hotel. We work very hard to provide our guests a pleasant stay, and we are disappointed in ourselves when we miss the mark. We would also like to take a moment to address the reviewer’s two concerns: an exposed wire and how we dealt with his complaint.

Firstly, there is no excuse for an exposed wire. The risk to the health and safety of guests is too great. We are thankful the reviewer wasn’t injured and that he promptly reported the situation to hotel staff. We have always maintained what we thought was a detailed inspection regimen for the rooms. Clearly there was a lapse. We have since undertaken a careful, room-by-room electrical investigation to make sure there are no other exposed wires, or any other electrical risks and revised the room-inspection procedure, which now includes, checklists that are cross-checked by a supervisor. The situation will not occur again. We have always sought to maintain our hotel at the highest possible levels and will continue to do so.

Secondly, the author was displeased with our response to his complaint. The staff member attending to the reviewer’s concerns at that time should have offered an apology right off; that he did not is a clear misstep. Our staff has since undergone full customer service training in English, which will be repeated every six months. (However, we would ask our guests to keep in mind that while our staff’s English is always functional, it may not always be fully fluent. We ask, then, for a little patience.)

On the rare occasion when a guest has a problem with one of our rooms, our procedure is to attempt to fix the problem immediately by offering a room change if one is available. In the event the guest is still dissatisfied, we gladly offer a full refund of the room rate and help the guest find alternate lodging. This has long been and will continue to be our policy.

Our room rates range from US$ 29.00-42.00 per night, the best value for service and location in the area – bar none. Our rates are not merely low for the neighborhood, they are low given our staff levels, our location, and the services and value we offer. Because of this value, we cannot afford to offer discounts, even where a guest is rightfully displeased. We would rather address any concerns immediately, or if the guest prefers, offer a full refund and help with resettlement at an alternate hotel.

Our hotel has been in operation since 1975, and we have been lucky enough to cultivate a strong and extremely loyal following because of the value we offer and our exacting standards of cleanliness. (We do not advertise, so our business is word-of-mouth and walk-in.) We regularly undertake small and large projects to upgrade the facilities, with major capital improvements every couple of years. We have recently fully remodeled the first floor, our lobby, and all the bathrooms. All guestrooms are being refreshed with new paint, lighting, and décor. Our phone system begins its planned upgrade this month to a full digital service. A café is in the works.

Given the quality of our rooms and our excellent location, we are the most affordable hotel in all Makati. As of this writing, TripAdvisor ranked us as No. 16 of all the 51 rated hotels in Makati – with the 15 ahead of us mostly large, luxury establishments. We are the highest rated budget boutique hotel in the city, and we are known for maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness and value. While we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences the reviewer experienced, we are proud of our small hotel and confident that this situation will not repeat itself. We work hard to give our guests a pleasant and safe experience and offer Makati’s most affordable and comfortable hotel in its category. We invite you to come see our property and stay with us on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Me and family were in manila last December 2010 and stayed at this hotel for 3 days. Surprisingly the place is so cool, warm place, warm people and affordable price. We were thinking of coming back again for our next holiday and hopefully we can get same rate.... glad my sister book us here

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bernie611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

White tiled floor, white sheets a striking impression of cleanliness, and it is just that. The reception personnel are very friendly and helpful. I stayed on and off for three weeks, stored cases and returned at short notice: no problem. I shall stay again. There's a laundry next door open 7 days called "Lets talk dirty" laundry! Plenty of eating houses nearby and BDO Bank with ATM. Recommended.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
5  Thank SirKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The place is a keeper. Friendly staff, clean rooms, affordable rates and accessible to malls, restaurants, pharmacy and a 24/7 convenience store.

restrooms a bit smaller than the hotel ones. no tubs. but if you've stayed in hostels in Hongkong Durban Hotel is bigger than that, way bigger.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank the_traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#35 of 86 in Makati
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Rock
Palm Rock
#44 of 86 in Makati
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
aurumOne Makati Suites (formerly aurumOne Makati)
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
0.2 mi away
Hop Inn Hotel Makati Avenue Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Address: 4875 Durban Street | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#6 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range: £22 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Durban is located in the up-and-coming Poblacion neighborhood of Makati. Surrounded by hip restaurants and casual bars, the hotel is a small oasis in the heart of the city. Our spare and modern aesthetic underscores the superior comfort, exacting cleanliness, and undeniable value for which we have been known since our founding in 1975. Our guest rooms showcase art by local and international artists while offering all the conveniences expected in a modern hotel. Complimentary high-speed wifi is standard throughout. Farfalla, the hotel’s restaurant, specializes in handcrafted and authentic Italian cuisine overseen by an Italian chef. Pasta and pizza are made fresh daily in addition to an international breakfast selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing