We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Durban
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is located on Durban St. and Makati Ave. It's a 30-45 minute walk from a number of attractions in Makati including Ayala Triangle Gardens, Ayala Museum, the Greenbelt Malls and nice bars geared towards Manila's youth like SaGuijo and B-Side.

It's also very close to a few MRT stations and both taxis and jeepneys can be found in abundance. Quick side note, an app that I used during my stay to get a taxi anywhere in Manila is GrabTaxi. They're very quick and reliable.

A 5-minute walk will get you to a complex with a Shakey's, a 7-Eleven, a Pizza Hut, an Arabic restaurant and a few other fast food places.

The hotel itself is very nice and well-maintained for the price they ask for their rooms, making it a winner for value. Room service is provided and is quick, reasonably priced and the food tastes great with hefty portions!

Staff is very friendly and will do their best to accommodate you. I stayed five nights and by the end of my stay, I was on a first name basis with one of the friendly housekeeping ladies!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youcancallmesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    133
    48
    10
    12
See reviews for
32
114
115
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Hotel Durban is an amazing deal. Very clean rooms, fast and friendly staff, AC, wifi and flat screen, small coffee bar, in the heart if Makati. Great experience here! Our stay prompted our first review on tripadvisor. Happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCooks206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The taxi driver didn't know the hotel, so have a map and address with you. For 1700 pesos you get their deluxe room for a night, which is good value in expensive Makati. The room was very clean (had a few ants in the bathroom, but otherwise as clean as can be), wifi works pretty well and it's located in a good spot with many restaurants outside and a 7-Eleven one block away. Four stories and no elevator, but the staff was friendly and the bed super comfortable. Can't ask for much more than this in Makati.

Room Tip: No elevator in the hotel, so if you have a problem with stairs, choose a room on the bottom floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

i stayed for two nights and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. the bedroom is large as well and comfortable. plus there are lots of stores nearby. though you can hear outside noise due to the acoustic of the building perhaps but it's bearable. will definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you're in town visiting people as I was, without a large budget for hotels, Durban cannot be beaten. The rooms are nice, very clean; the breakfast was good; and the service is excellent. One downside: the walls are a little thin, so noise can be an issue for light sleepers. I've tried out a number of hotels in the area during my stays, and I think I will just use Durban from now on. As another added bonus that they really should advertise, there is an inexpensive laundry shop next door!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelfTitled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Taxi-drivers don't know it, so just tell them to go to City Hotel on Makati Avenue. It's hardly 30 metres into Durban Street, which is one-way traffic not allowing your taxi to enter from Makati Av. But no need to let it go all around the block for literally those few steps.
When you arrive in the evening, don't be deterred by the "girly-bars" in the neighbourhood. It adds to the "couleur locale", but is not at all disturbing. In fact, because of the one-way traffic, the street is surprisingly quiet for traffic noise.

The hotel is nicely refurbished, clean and modern. Very nice bathroom, well-tiled, shower corner with glass door. And I loved the bed and the pillows. Might be because I'd been traveling for 24 hours, but still!
The rooms are not big, but certainly big enough, certainly if you're just spending the nights there.

Staff of the hotel is really friendly, even to Philippine standards (which is usually friendly everywhere).

There's a little bar in the lobby, that does breakfast in the morning. (Php 250)

I was charged Php 1,700 for the room. Very good value, considering the prices of the much bigger hotels just literally around the corner (less then a minute by foot).

If you have business in Makati, and you're not traveling on the company's account, this is the best value you can find. I'll be back here in the future!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We'd like to thank HM1960 for the wonderful review and are glad that he enjoyed our hospitality and comforts.

While most taxi drivers are acquainted with only the larger chain hotel, we do offer several options to help make getting to us easier. First, on our website's "FAQ" page, we give directions to the hotel in both Tagalog - the local language - and English. The directions are specific and can be understood by any driver coming from any point in Manila. Secondly, our map in the "MAP" page on our website is downloadable and printable for easy reference; the hotel's location is clearly indicated with an arrow.

Finally, we also offer a luxury SUV for airport pick-up and drop-off for a modest fee, which includes transport for up to four people, drinks, and cold, refreshing towels. Contact our front desk directly to book a transfer.

We thank HM1960 again for the kind words and look forward to another visit. In the meantime, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Durban for a couple of nights in early September and it was great. The hotel itself is very tidy and the staff were very accommodating and there is plenty going on in the area. They do require cash payment on check in but this isn’t a problem as there are a lot of ATM’s nearby. And for those that are interested a yellow metered taxi from the airport cost 340 pesos

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzlpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
1.6 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#20 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
0.0 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Property: Hotel Durban
Address: 4875 Durban Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#6 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1975 on the principle that comfort and elegance need not be expensive, Hotel Durban is a small oasis tucked into the heart of Makati. With a refined but relaxed ambiance found in elegant and modern Filipino homes, many of our rooms overlook a quiet, garden courtyard. The hotel is furnished with antiques from the owner's collection, as well as pieces of her own design. Our rooms adhere to exacting standards of cleanliness and have many of the amenities expected of a modern hotel, including air-conditioning; flat- screen, cable TV, and complimentary, wireless broadband. Our café serves a choice selection of hot and cold beverages, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing