We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly simple”
Review of Hotel Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Durban
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Dont let the seedy surroundings fool you, the Hotel Durban is clean and a great value.

The four story hotel doesnt have a hotel, so I was at first picturing accommodations from a recent trip to Vietnam where the hotel was run more like a large house. However, I was pleased to find that the service and furnishings were beyond expectation. Large plasma TVs in the room; clean furniture and attractive furnishings; free Wifi.

The location is interesting. Sitting on the outside porch in the evening I watched a stream of prostitutes trickle by. One street away, a neon low advertises establishment with names like "Pussycats" and signs that include (Im not kidding) "Wrestling match: Woman Midgets." But a 5-minute walk takes you to Manila's CBD, with a Starbucks on every corner, the gamut of local and international restaurants, and more shopping than can be found online (not really, of course).

Price? I was travelling with work colleague, so we opted for the most expensive room (the only one with twin beds): 1,700 Pesos. Not cheap, but not too bad, either.

I'll be back in Manila in a few days, and plan to stay here again.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Durban
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2011

Clean, convenient, but often fully booked, the recently renamed "Hotel Durban" is a great value, especially if you're on a budget.

They use a heavy dosing of bleach cleaners, so there's a bit of that smell, but you're left with an almost antiseptically clean environment. This is a 'no-frills' kind of place, but there is a TV, refrigerator and dependable hot and cold running water.

The staff are efficent and reasonably friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GenuinelyCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

It was great, I stayed there for 3 nights. Right in the heart of the red light so there is plenty to see and do. Down the street is the ring side bar. I have written about both in my blog. Check them out to get a little heads up on the area.
http://savagetraveler.com/?p=49
http://savagetraveler.com/?p=41

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purdyspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I saw this place advertised in a Web forum and decided to give it a shot. The place is called Hotel Durban and has four floors. I must say I was impressed at the value and cleanliness of the hotel and it's in a great location for nightlife.

The cons are that it can get noisy and some of the rooms were not the best, especially those on the first floor. Do not get room #103 because the toilet is in an awkward position. Other than that, this place is a gem and cannot be beat for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

i stayed at this hotel in Feb. 2010, rooms were comfortable.
. clean, safe, staff was friendly and helpful...
price was very affordable !!!!! i plan to return in September and will
return to this hotel. this hotel is in the center of Makati !!.. DAVID JAMES . CANADA .

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVID_JAMES531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

It was my first time in Manila and I didn't have any clue where to stay. A lot of people have said that it is expensive to stay in Manila especially in Makati City. Thankfully, a friend of mine recommended this place.

I can truthfully say that I did not regret staying in Durban Inn. I find the place well managed. The staffs are friendly and the rooms are clean. I am quite satisfied with the room where I was staying especially that I only paid P1,200 for it or more or less $26. The fact that Durban Inn is located in the heart of Makati City makes it plus for me.

The only downside I can say to the place is that its so hard to locate as Durban Street is not well known by a lot of people. It was frustrating trying to locate a place that doesn't have a specific directions pointing you the way. All they have is a small signboard that says DURBAN STREET INN and it is placed inconspicuously. Their website doesn't give much help either.

All in all I would definitely recommend the place and I'm definite that if ever I am in Makati anytime soon, thats where I would stay for the duration of my trip. Hope this review has been a great help to you all!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank candiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I stayed there for about 5 nights in a room with private bath for P1200 a night. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the plumbing all worked although the only hot water was the shower and not the sink. It had a small refrigerator and a phone where you could use a regular phone card. The bed and pillows were not the most comfortable and there was a little noise from a tv in a neighboring room but overall the place served its purpose very well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jollieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#28 of 86 in Makati
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#32 of 86 in Makati
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
aurumOne Makati Suites (formerly aurumOne Makati)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm Rock
Palm Rock
#44 of 86 in Makati
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
0.0 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#29 of 86 in Makati
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Address: 4875 Durban Street | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#6 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range: £18 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Durban is located in the up-and-coming Poblacion neighborhood of Makati. Surrounded by hip restaurants and casual bars, the hotel is a small oasis in the heart of the city. Our spare and modern aesthetic underscores the superior comfort, exacting cleanliness, and undeniable value for which we have been known since our founding in 1975. Our guest rooms showcase art by local and international artists while offering all the conveniences expected in a modern hotel. Complimentary high-speed wifi is standard throughout. Farfalla, the hotel’s restaurant, specializes in handcrafted and authentic Italian cuisine overseen by an Italian chef. Pasta and pizza are made fresh daily in addition to an international breakfast selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing