We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eastern makati-Good hotel but need for total overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Eastern Hotel
Ranked #80 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great eastern makati-Good hotel but need for total overhaul”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

IThis is good hotel with good location for me and my wife.I stayed there for 9 nights from December 5 2013 until December 14 2013 and they gave me 5% discount for more than a week stay and the price is really affordable.This was my second time staying there.The staff really nice and friendly.It is a safe hotel with the good security staff.

"BUT" the hotel really need to do some renovation.Major overhaul of the hotel need to be done.The room is old and season.The paint, carpet , towels ,curtain and the bed sheet need to be replace with a new one.This hotel has already standing with his own good structure but really need to be renew and modernize as most of his item are too old.

The owner should do something to improve this hotel as this hotel has a potential to be one of the most choosen hotel in Makati with his affordable rate and its strategic place in Makati.

By the way the swimming pool also seems not well maintain.

To all the staff there, thank you for your friendly services when I was there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azri_Abd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    30
    30
    39
See reviews for
23
29
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
epsom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I knew after paying 1500 peso (£25) a night for a room in Makati, especially along Makati Ave I wasn't going to be over whelmed with what was a head of me. Check in went smoothly enough after booking through "Aisarooms" although the young chap who arrived to take me and my luggage to the room was casually dressed in jeans and t shirt, no ID & no name badge he could have been anyone. The room was very much like the hotel foyer which is located on the 4th floor, dark & dank although brightened up by a well decorated Christmas tree, the carpet in the room looked as if it could have done with a shampoo and showed signs of server wear & tear around the bed area, air con was ok, TV ok, bed comfortable, but laying on bed ones eyes wondered around the room where I could see signs of damp & dry rot. There were no light bulbs in the two bedside lights and the main light wasn't that bright, I as unable to draw back the curtains in order to gain more light as these were fixed and when I did manager to look outside the glass was that dirty that any view was obscured. The bathroom was clean and pleasant and all was fine with the facilities , shower had good pressure and a good mix of hot & cold water, the shower curtain had mould around the bottom which was a put off.
Buffett breakfast is severed on the ground floor or what appeared to be the basement, very limited choice and cold, but for 203 peso it was expectable, filtered coffee is served but if a coffee is ordered from the Café through room service one is given 3 in 1.
The staff are pleasant enough as one has come to used to when in the Philippines and being located along Makati ave makes this a hotel within easy reach of all local amenities, you get what you pay for here!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank markis1md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

You could probably get a better hotel for the same price as this place. Though the service is at an ok level, the hotel building itself needs some work done. I've gone to this hotel a few times with some years in between, but this place never changes. And I mean this in a not so good way. Though it was a pretty nice place the first time I stayed there, over the years it just started to lose its touch. It's lagging behind. An ok place for 1 to 2 nights, but if you're staying for more, I advise you to find a different hotel. Even investing in a little more money to get a better hotel would be better than spending a week at this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Makati hotels

Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I may stay there again. I would for sure if rooms had fresh air. Maybe they could get a ventilation system or windows that open. Nothing fancy, but a good deal for Makati. I met a guy in the elevator I am doing business with. Pretty cool!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_W424959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel's exterior and interior are old and musty. The pool is not so nice as it has a strong smell of chlorine. Though the staff are really nice and friendly. I booked a superior room. The regular stuff you usually know that is included like the toiletries, are for sale. The location is great and the price is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadjzSumague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I came back because the first time it was fairly new Hotel and I liked it then. This time I find it was run down. Looks like they fix nothing and when they do, it no longer looks good. the carpets were wore out. You could see the Jude back showing in spots. We had 2 nails sticking up in the floor between the beds. We only stayed 2 nights and I did not have the family. I would not take them there. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_45ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Philippines
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Very cheap hotel in Makati area but you get what you paid for. Clean rooms and good comfort rooms but the blankets, towels, pillows look very used and dirty. Usual hotel stuff like tooth brush and tooth paste are for sale. I will never go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonewolfshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Citadel Inn Makati
Citadel Inn Makati
#71 of 82 in Makati
508 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#33 of 82 in Makati
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
ZEN Rooms La Paz
ZEN Rooms La Paz
#54 of 82 in Makati
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 82 in Makati
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#23 of 82 in Makati
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#46 of 82 in Makati
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Eastern Hotel

Property: Great Eastern Hotel
Address: 7842 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Great Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Eastern Makati
Great Eastern Hotel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing