We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh so yummy!”
Review of La Grotta

La Grotta
Ranked #238 of 1,398 Restaurants in Makati
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
mandaluyong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“oh so yummy!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I love eating in la grotta . Food is really great. My favorite is there panini which is served uniquely and there Vongole cooked with truffle oil! Price is affordable and serving is big! It is a small place with good ambiance also good for first dates.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank violettravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't Take an Italian Friend There”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

La Grotta is a very popular lunchtime venue for office workers in the Makati CBD. The servings are big and the prices are low. The service is good but the noise levels are too high (typical of Manila).
The pizza bread was old and chewy, served with a tiny knob of butter and a saucer of olive (?) oil smeared with balsamic vinegar. The house salad was big and mainly OK (the usual smattering of wilted leaves though) and contained unforgiveable processed mozzarella! I ordered the Chicken Vesuvius which turned out to be a slab of seared, bone-dry meat slathered with a vegeable and tomato sauce, Oh, and some more processed cheese. It was virtually inedible. Big, cheap....but inedible.
The brewed coffee was "stewed" coffee and most unpleasant.

So, this is not a retaurant to visit with an Italian friend. (Or any friend, for that matter.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaMMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good taste for us Japanese”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

It's not salty at all likewise most of the restaurant in Manila. Respective taste of its materials are well respected. Wish to revisit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ytrwkuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor service always.Food sometimes served with Bags and Glasses with Rip-mark.”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Actually I have visited sometimes here. And the latest 3 times, we found bags in the dishes and ants also.
Even though we reserved and ordered in advance by phone, it took more than 30 minutes to serve the dishes. Some of the dishes broken.
For the serve of drinks, it took 10 minutes more and "following up" was needed.
We have to cancel our some order.
And the manager ignored the complaint. Just push her staff to manage.
Food itself is not so bad,honestly speaking.
Totally that's "Philippine Quality".

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chacktiger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The place exudes a very relaxing and positive ambiance. The free appetizer is really really good. The food is awesome! Very nice experience i had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Breezefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grotta also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing