We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2013 Holiday Stay - horrible...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Hotel Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel Manila
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2013 Holiday Stay - horrible...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Upon check-in we were told there would be a 2000php deposit charge to our credit card – this was never mentioned when we booked the room and the room charge was already processed prior to checking in. The unacceptable thing of the additional deposit is it will not be refunded for 2 to 3 weeks, which I will dispute with my credit card immediately.

Hotel is not clean, smells like mold and mildew throughout. They do not run aircon in hallways, which is why it’s so moldy smelling.

Room pictures are not at all representative of actual rooms. Efficiency kitchen area provided with no utensils, plates, cups or any essentials – requested but was told additional charge for any items. There were 2 coffee cups, but no coffee maker of any kind available. Two flat, old and nasty pillows provided for our Junior Suite with Queen bed – requested additional or replacement pillows, but that would also be additional charge.

Staff are 75% unfriendly and try to charge additional for everything – example is the fitness center (the size of a 1 car garage, no aircon, smells like old sweat and piss) attendee tried to charge 350php when the front desk stated it is 150php. This is typical of the majority of the staff and personnel at this hotel.

Wifi is advertised as available for the rooms – yet another lie – no wifi in rooms and rarely functions in lobby.

Overall opinion is this hotel is vastly overrated even for a 3rd world region like Manila – I’d give it less than 1 star rating.

Never stay here again and recommend to all look elsewhere as Manila does have many friendly, helpful and honest people and much better hotel accommodations.

Room Tip: Look at any other hotel in Manila - we've never been scammed by such a majority of general staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketRickOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    76
    93
    52
    53
See reviews for
52
45
29
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had to check in for 3 days to finish a report
1. Internet: wifi can be accessed in common area only though LAN is available on rooms which can only be accessed by non mac since mac has a different port
2. Basic amenities are present (i.e. refrigerator, tv, a/c, small kitchen with utilities and toiletries)
3. Breakfast at Php 350.00 is reasonable (if you want to experience it)
4. Parking is difficult but valet is available
5. Price is quite reasonable for the location and amenities
6. Service is great from housekeeping, IT and concierge
7. The rates of the restaurant are reasonable
8. The location is difficult but accessible
9. During my first night, the room beside me was having some sort of celebration which caused so much noise until 10pm. I hope the management will ensure the privacy of others checked in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desdexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel has large rooms. I stayed in an executive deluxe room and it was decently large. Rates are very good and I got a decent deal through my office at much better rate than what appeared on Agoda

Breakfast is bad for vegetarians with limited options. Wifi is only available in lobby though there is wired internet available in rooms. The internet speed is really pathetic to say it politely. It took me almost 1 hour to reach the hotel from makati city green belt 4. The traffic is a nightmare on the way. The hotel lifts are a pain as they take ages to come to your floor and then there is a huge crowd pushing to get into the limited space the elevators have to offer!

Personally I would prefer staying in makati city

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yogi_tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Lancaster hotel.
Me and my friends stayed there in a Lancaster Suite 3bedroom Loft type.
Location: great location. Near at SM megamall, Shangrila, Podium and other malls nearby. Plenty of food store nearby. 5mins walk to Tramway, an affordable Eat-all you can buffet resto and Choco.nut de batirol famous with their hot choco and suman:)
Parking: it was a very disappointed one. Upon entering to the entrance of their parking lot, renovating here and there. There is only one way to and from the parking area. So you need to blow your horn and turn on your headlight when entering and going out of the parking area. The are was too small and it is not connected to the hotel itself. You need to transfer one elevator to another in order to go up to your designated room. Smelly parking area which i dont know where it came from afterall. For the tenant its free, but you need to validated it at the concierge. All guests are with a fee im not sure if its 20php/hour of stay.
Lobby: its too small. But the staff are friendly. Speacial mention to Ms. Pauline who is very accomodating. Upon entering the lobby, you will see their Cafe at your right and a waiting area to your left.
Elevators: 2 elevators are functioning. One on the left is going to their basement parking while one on the right is for the main hotel itself. The lift are too small and slow:(
Room: only one keycard is avail or given to you upon check in. Fast and hassle free check in. What i like is that their rates are non-taxable:) thats why its cheaper than any other 3star hotel. Upon entering the loft type 3bedroom, you will a bath/shower room to your left and the stairs to their room on your right. Further, you will see a small kitchen which are not complete. No microwave and a kettle for a hot water coffee. No kitchen ware to cook of. Only a fridge and a table top stove is avail and a rice cooker. Dining area and living area is just a foot away from the kitchen. Sala set are small and their tv is just a LED type 22in tv. Aircon is good. Going upstairs, you will see a 3bedroom. First, a 2 twin-bed room with a split type aircon and a wooden cabinet. 2nd room, the master's bedroom with a double bed, a led tv and a bath/tub/shower room inside. 3rd, 2 twin-bed which is much bigger than the first one. All rooms are with split type aircon which are all functioning. Extra room for the main bath/shower room. What i like here is that they have 3 bath/shower room, which is very convenient.
To end this. We had enjoyed our stay in this hotel, eventhough there are more cons than pros.
I will rate it to just an average hotel. But hey, their rates are cheaper than any other hotel with the same 3star rate:)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripBuffRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

While the rooms look ok (I've also stayed here a couple of times) and the price is right, and the location is good, friends both local and foreign have lost valuables inside their rooms in this hotel and found the staff unattentive (to quote a Thai friend: "the staff seems to be ignoring us. It's very strange."). We felt embarrassed because we were the ones who booked them here. I and they certainly did not feel like paying customers, unlike how other hotels both here and in other countries would try to make sure that your needs are attended to. The food was generally not remarkable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmaligaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandaluyong hotels

Pasig, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The only thing going for this hotel is its proximity to the train station and nearby malls. The food being served in their restaurant & buffet isn't befitting of a three-star service. The staff is friendly but it stops there. A new F&B & kitchen staff is wanting. We have occasionally used this hotel because of its convenient location. However, be extra cautious on securing your belongings. We had twice experience theft & lost of personal belongings in this hotel. What is unnerving is the manner they handled theft reports & complaints passing even the fault to the guests. There are new & better managed hotel options in the area. Parking is tight & dimly lit with construction materials strew along its path

Room Tip: Make sure to have an ocular of the hotel & its rooms before booking. Don't rely on its websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valueformoneyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Lancaster Hotel is conveniently located close to Ortigas and Makati business and shopping area, but in any case you need a taxi, the area around the hotel might be too adventures for some but perfectly safe. The elevator in the hotel is very slow, did not have time to visit the gym nor the pool - so no opinion about the cleanliness of those areas but the room was perfectly clean. Remember to put up the do not disturb sign, otherwise they will wake you up to ask about if you need something early in the morning. Breakfast below average. There is an Starbuck just down the road if you rather take that for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.9 mi away
The Legend Villas
The Legend Villas
#2 of 7 in Mandaluyong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Go Hotels Mandaluyong
Go Hotels Mandaluyong
#4 of 7 in Mandaluyong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#5 of 21 in Pasig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edsa Shangri-La
Edsa Shangri-La
#1 of 7 in Mandaluyong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Exchange Regency Residence Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#7 of 21 in Pasig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel Manila

Property: Lancaster Hotel Manila
Address: 622 Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1552, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Hotel Manila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Hotel Manila in Mandaluyong City, Philippines displays understated luxury through its modern décor and provides it by lending exceptional service.The 42-storey hotel with its updated medieval Europe boutique concept and contemporary features, offers accommodations that cater to both business and leisure travelers. Showcasing timeless form and contemporary function, guestrooms come with complete dining facilities, coffee-and-tea maker, cable TV, and individually controlled air-conditioning.The services, too, were chosen particularly to address your vital business needs while you are in Manila. These include a business center, which is open from 9 am to 9 pm, city and airport transfers, as well as function rooms for your special events.And with its location in the heart of a busy commercial district, our hotel offers you reliable access to different modes of transportation and key places of interest, including major shopping malls and numerous restaurants. For the hardworking executive, the business hubs of Ortigas and Makati are just minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lancaster Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Mandaluyong
Lancaster Hotel Manila Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing