We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
North Hills, California
1 review
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Service and quality is very good. Staff are exceptionally friendly and very accommodating to guest needs. Very clean rooms with modern amenities. The Heat has great buffet with great variety of food. The Horizon Club has the best staff in general.




Room Tip: A hotel I would definitely recommend and will be staying at again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Teddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    475
    145
    73
    41
See reviews for
465
203
73
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I am just finishing up a 4-night stay here, and my experience has oscillated repeatedly between 1 and 5 stars. The check-in was smoothly done in-room, but the corridors smelled of fresh paint and the next morning loud construction noise began at 9 AM. They told me the drilling would last till 6 PM every day. The view from my filthy window was a construction zone. One star.

They switched me to a quiet room on the 17th floor. After a meeting in the late evening, I stumbled into Paparazzi, their Italian restaurant, looking for perhaps a pizza and a glass of wine. No pizza on the menu, but what I had was superb - lobster bisque and beef short rib, with attentive service, good wines by the glass, and a relaxing atmosphere. Five stars.

The next evening I tried Senju, their Japanese restaurant. They were out of most of what I selected from their menu, simple things like edamame, toro, and green tea ice cream. The service was sporadic to non-existent. The sashimi was out-of-date and the fish that tasted the freshest, the salmon, was flown in weekly from Norway, according to the guy preparing the sushi. But he was interesting to talk with, so perhaps 2 stars here instead of one.

Disillusioned, I stopped at the lounge in the lobby for a drink. A young woman was singing old jazz standards, accompanied by a pianist. They were good. I had a glass of wine, relaxed, and award them 5 stars.

I had a massage at Chi, their spa, and have to give it 5 stars too.

Breakfast is vast and comprehensive, with Japanese, Filipino, European, American, and Indian cuisines all represented. The hot foods under heat lamps tend to be lukewarm at best. Overall, somewhere between one and 5 stars, depending on what you chose.

In summary, for the price this is a good choice, but it is not consistently a Shangri-la.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have been in this hotel a few times in the last couple of years.
The Hotel is ok, the price ok, but thats about it. There are a lot of details that have room for improvement.
the food is allright but nothing to write home about. The Heat (restaurant and breakfast, is quite noisy, elevator music and freezing AC.
The Check in was quite a hassle (also due to the rescheduling from my side i admit, but there was no flexibility or understanding from the staff.
The Main point however are the ONGOING RENOVATIONS, which are indeed noisy from 9am-about 6pm.
I was in a renovated executive room, and it did SMELL renovated. a very very strong smell of new plastic or glue that left one a with a headache after a while. Really big disadvantage.
then there are details, such as one hour wait for dinner in room service and not at all clean room. handles and things in the bathroom, white stains on the headrest of the bed (no need to know the origins of those!) very big but completely DIRTY windows, the shower overruns when showering and therefore floods the whole bathroom through the space under the glassdoor, the shelves are extremely dusty...
so why three stars. well overall one can stay in the hotel and there is not so much around in walking distance to ADB. but thats really about the only reason.

Room Tip: post renovation smell strongly... at least for now... jan 2014. rather take a non renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaziliaTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed with my husband 's family and my family, from Jan.12-14, 2014. Tower Wing have all newly renovated rooms and a beautiful lobby. Pool was nice as well, and the kids loved playing with at the poolside water shower. We booked a total of 4 rooms,and between us, 2 of those rooms at the tower Wing encountered bathroom problems, the least of which were flooded floors and foul toilet odors. And the rooms they got transferred to had them as well. Our premier room was excellent, though. So ask for that if you want a smooth stay. Service is of course, Shangri-la brand and will always commend them on their hospitality. Heat breakfast is varied, but for those who have had the makati Circles and Sofitel spiral experience, you will find it limited in comparison.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank riona529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really amazing. Service, rooms, facilities, all match the price we pay. They have travel adapters installed in rooms, and 24 hour In room dining option. However, the only catch is the food they serve. I tried the traditional Filipino food as well as Continental meals. Italian- sea food is just OK. Fish and Chips had so much of oil and the chips were more soft than crispy. Breakfast option had a wide variety, but the coffee they served was not impressive. The worst part was the instant 3 in 1 coffee mix they stored in the room. One could expect a coffee machine for that price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anjana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

5 star dining, 5 star service, 5 star amenities! We'll definitely come back next time. No complaints! Edsa Shangri-la delivers. It's a great place for mini vacations or events. Total value for money!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at the Edsa Shangrila for a conference in November 2013 and was impressed by their excellent hospitality and services.
The guest room was very elegantly furnished and gives one a relaxed atmosphere and a restful night's rest. We were especially touched by the excellent and professional services of Lindsey, one of the chambermaids, who we chance upon in the mornings. In addition to her polite and warm disposition, she takes great care to ensure an impeccably neat and organised room every day. Would like to take this opportunity to pay a special tribute to her.
In addition to its excellent services and decor, the hotel is right next to a huge shopping mall and not too far away from Green Hills Shopping Centre, one of the most vibrant shopping centres in Metro Manila.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce SB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
3.2 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Joy - Nostalg Center Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri-La Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing