We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Best”
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque, Philippines
2 reviews
“Better than Best”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Edsa Shangrila has great rooms, soft beds, clean shower, rear washer in the toilet, free internet, close to supermarket, movie, shopping, the hotel itself has great restaurants. Breakfast is great. fast house keeping service. Courteous staff.

Room Tip: great hotel...no doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank mcmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    504
    154
    82
    50
See reviews for
511
209
80
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

First class amenities and great service. However, sometimes waiters are slow to serve coffee at breakfast, and mistakes have happened (like being woken up in the middle of the night for room service someone else ordered).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Buddymoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I luckily did not pay full price for this hotel as I would be more upset about it. It's not a bad hotel by any means but it is not worth the cost for what is considered a 5 star hotel. They are in the middle of refurbishing so the first room I was in, while beautiful, had a really really strong paint smell. I had to ask them to move me as it was giving me headaches and the hotel accommodated. The new rooms really are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable. I love the rain shower head and the pressure is really good. Unfortunately, every time I showered, there would be a puddle of water outside the shower as the door was not properly sealed. I did not tell management as my stay was short (3 days) or else I'm sure they would have fixed.

Customer service was good and everyone is very attentive. Perhaps too much? The breakfast buffet was included in my stay and for a hotel of this caliber, it was disappointing. It was ok. Same goes for the dinner buffet. While the range was large, I found better selections and better tasting food for both meals at the Crown Plaza at Ortigas Center and at the Radisson Blu in Cebu. The eggs & omelets were runny. Please cook these longer.

The pool was nice. The location next to the Shangri-La mall was nice. Location to everywhere else it moot as you're going need a car or driver anyway. Overpriced otherwise a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Edsa Shangrila is always a good choice for business and leisure trips because the place is comfortable and its just a walking distance to the malls, hotel staff are warm, attentive and pleasant people and the food is a feast in taste and choices.
Its a conducive venue for business meetings and seminars and an enjoyable experience for family celebrations and gatherings. Nice place to have reunion with friends too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My partner and I stayed two nights at the Edsa Shangri La in January 2014. After all the hype surrounding this hotel, we were expecting it to be a true 5-star experience. However, we found this hotel to be all flash with little bang for your buck.

The Edsa Shangri La was the final stop on our 7-day tour. We rolled in from the Manila airport on a big bus and hotel staff politely ushered our group through to the lower level for a reception and check in. At first blush, things seemed great - they even had complimentary tea and tiny sandwiches as well as free 5-minute shoulder massages. These niceties were greatly appreciated by our exhausted, road-weary group members. But we quickly learned that hotel staff had done no preparation for our check-in and were calling us forward one-by-one to input our information into the hotel computer. It took 2 hours for everyone in our group to check in! It was a complete gong show and several members of our group complained rather loudly to the hotel staff.

The Edsa Shangri La is currently undergoing construction. We were unluckily assigned to the 9th floor, which was besieged by loud jackhammering between the hours of 9 and 5. Forget about that much needed afternoon nap.

Besides the noise, the room was quite comfortable and befitting of a 5-star hotel. The linens were of a high quality and the mattress was excellent. There was even a pillow menu of 7 options. Despite these luxuries, there were several little things that didn't make the grade. The telephone in our room didn't work. It was fixed when we mentioned it to the front desk, but a few hours later it was dysfunctional again. The toilet paper was single-ply (perhaps this is a petty thing to complain about, but I expect a hotel of this calibre to spring for the premium stuff). Our complimentary drinking water and hand towels were not replenished the second day. The free wifi suffered from extended brownouts. Call me crazy, but I expected much more from the Edsa Shangri La.

It felt like we were being squeezed everywhere we turned, and on several occasions we were even misled to believe something was free when it actually wasn't. For example, we were lounging by the pool one afternoon and my partner went up to the hotel bar to get a drink. He asked for a bottle of water and was given one. He asked if there was a charge, and the waiter waived him off. My partner understood that it was therefore complimentary. Two minutes after he returned to his lounger, another waiter came to him to inform him that his small bottle of water cost 194 pesos! That's about 5 Canadian dollars for a small bottle of water! Absolutely ridiculous! When you spend $200+ per night on a room where you can't drink the tap water, the least your 5-star hotel can do is throw in a few free bottles of water, or at least charge a reasonable price for it.

Let's talk about the breakfast. It was included with our room charge. Here again, it was about flash rather than substance. First, there was a 10 minute line up to even get a table! When you first walk around, the breakfast on offer seems great - there is a plethora of choices - you can have cereal, sushi, Indian food, 5 different kinds of fresh fruit juices, veggie shooters, crepes, waffles, pancakes, eggs made to order, plus all the other things a breakfast buffet should have. There are so many staff running around they are tripping over each other and the customers. With so many hands on deck, it baffles me how the ketchup bowl isn't always full, there are no pancakes or waffles for an hour and why the line up for eggs is a 10 minute wait?

The pool and gym area are definitely 5 star. Spa services are way overpriced as can be expected.

My final advice is this: save your money and book elsewhere. This 5-star hotel doesn't deliver the 5-star experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is one of the best hotels of Manila, and one of the best hotel I have been in. It is elegant,comfortable, large, with wonderful staff, safe, with good restaurants and a large pool, and whatever you can look for. We stayed three nights, and no doubts, we would choose it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piantin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Immaculate rooms and facilities, outstanding food at Heat Restaurant. Wonderful staff overall; they made me feel at home with their warm welcome and hospitality. EDSA Shangrila is my home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Legend Villas
The Legend Villas
#2 of 7 in Mandaluyong
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri-La Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing