We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

First time I have stayed at this hotel, generally we stay in Makati and generally in a less expensive hotel. Due to customer location we stayed at EDSA ShangriLa Hotel. Great newly renovated rooms. Excellent customer service. Great breakfast buffet. It will be hard to go back and stay in the usual places in Makati :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Clinto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    474
    145
    73
    41
See reviews for
465
203
73
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
244 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I first stayed in the Edsa Shangri-la ten years ago while attending a conference, and I thought it was the perfect hotel for business. This time my wife and I stayed there while vactioning in the Philippines. I was surprised that it was even better than before. From being transported from the airport at 2 in the morning, to a stress-eliminating massage in the relaxing atmosphere of the Chi Spa, the Edsa Shang has added new comforts that helped us recover from a gruelingly long flight. A concerned staff, luxurious rooms and first class restaurants are what I expect from Shangri-la properties, but the Edsa Shang has ramped it up to a new level. My wife and were
actually sorry to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenzuela, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Shang is like our 2nd home to our family. We usually stay here 5x a year. The hotel is between to great malls SHANG AND MEGA MALL. Hotel room is excellent and also I love the newly renovated pool area!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
707 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times. This is my first time to stay in the refurbished Tower Wing. I emailed them to make sure that I stayed out of the construction noise, and they followed thru. My check in was a breeze thanks to Vianny who gave me a wonderful room on the 17th floor. The new refurbished room was excellent with more space, better lighting and climate control. The bathroom now has two types one that has bathtub and the other with rain shower. Toilet is also much better. The bed are the still the same. Fantastic. In conclusion, the shangrila room are not the same as some of the best hotel rooms in the world that I have stayed in, where my first comment was WOW, but it is luxurious, comfortable, and fantastic staff for good deal.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Free wifi but really slow during big conferences.
Staff was very helpful especially when they saw me carrying large bags. Great breakfast! Yummy! Love the newly renovated room with the Assorted welcoming chocolates. Didn't like the shampoo, though. Otherwise, the bathroom and entire guestroom had more than enough amenities.
If it weren't for the noise from the ongoing renovation, the shang would have gotten a perfect score from me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This review has been very difficult to write. I've stayed at Shangri-La hotels before and there has never been a problem. If anything, they have delighted me each and every time until this time.

I stayed twice and must say that the new and refurbished facility is fabulous. I also stayed at the garden wing and that is not. It is not horrible or bug ridden. No, it is still a luxury hotel but when you are a luxury hotel, the bar is higher and the garden wing of the Edsa facility is not up to that bar. I know that they are planning to refurbish but the fact is that at my stay, it wasn't refurbished yet.

In addition, I've noticed a slight reduction in staff. I've stayed at both Edsa and Makati for the last 20 years and this time, the drop off in service personnel was noticeable. They usually have people at the elevators - not this time. They usually have 2 people opening the entrance and exit doors - not this time. They usually have 3 to 4 people working at the bar area but it was down to 2 and they could barely keep up with the demand.

The general facility is still gorgeous and the people are, as always, extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: try to stay out of the garden wing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Definitely worth the stay. Luxury around every turn. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Manila. My wife and I were impressed by all the facilities and the professionalism displayed by all staff. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
3.2 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Joy - Nostalg Center Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri-La Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing