We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Tower Wing Rooms”
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of the advantages of staying in this hotel is its location. It's very near shopping malls, restaurants, the MRT, and everything else, so you wouldn't need to travel far to find whatever you need during your stay.

Service was also superior in this property, as expected from a Shangri-La hotel. Check-in was fast and easy during our stay, and the hotel personnel were very attentive and responsive to our needs. We specified our requests for our room, and all of these were complied with by the reception.

Of note, our stay in one of their newly-renovated tower wing rooms was very relaxing. The room assigned to us was really posh and modern, complete with a very comfortable bed, down pillows, and modern fixtures. It's also well-lit with plenty of natural light coming from the windows and warm accent lights in the room. Apart from this, we had a pretty nice view of the garden from outside our window, which was a huge plus.

I was also delighted with the toilet and bathroom as the water closet inside was equipped with a bidet, which its sister,Makati Shangri-La Hotel, did not have. Water supply was also not a problem during our stay, and the water heating system was fairly efficient.

There was, however, some noise during the afternoon because the renovation of other areas of the wing is still ongoing, but this was nothing the TV could not cancel out. At night, it was quiet and peaceful.

The property also has a couple of really good restaurants, Summer Palace being our favorite, and many facilities that the guests can use during their stay. Without much to complain about, I would highly recommend this hotel to any type of traveler if budget is not an issue.

Room Tip: Tower Wing Rooms are all non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xero9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear xero9,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. Please note that we are very appreciative of your feedback and have shared this with our team. Regarding the noise that you heard, kindly feel free to reach me through (63 2) 633 8888 or email patrick.schaub@shangri-la.com should you wish to discuss the matter in detail so we may also investigate. We hope that this challenge didn't affect your perception of our hotel and we look forward in welcoming you in Manila again.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Heart warming welcome by extremely friendly and attentive staff. Excellent service. Strategic location and plenty of restaurants and shops at Shangri-La Plaza which located next to the hotel. Nice ambiance and very clean hotel.

Room Tip: Clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Hk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Hk T,

Thank you for sharing about your stay with us here at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. Our team is more than happy to welcome you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Ever since the moment you arrive to this hotel you are received with excellent service, The Heat restaurant if one of its main highlights offering a wide variety of dishes from all over the world. The personnel ensures to take good care of you at all times and for anything you may need. Definitely a place I recommend if you are staying in this area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mopineda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear mopineda

It is truly heart warming to receive feedback from our guests. Rest assured that we have shared this with our team specifically our HEAT staff which you have mentioned. We look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I usually stay at the Edsa Shangrila on business trips to Manila, always guaranteed good service, pick up and drop, clean rooms. the airport pick up and drop service is very efficient, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuraliRK8419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear MuraliRK8419,

Thank you for always choosing to stay at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila when in the country for business trips. We hope that on your next visit, you will be able to see the nearby sights and sounds and also spend a leisurely afternoon by our poolside or newly-renovated Lobby Lounge.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Edsa Shangri-la is just up there for customer service.
- Went to the gym at 4am. The staff quickly made the gym accessible for me. Gave me water and towel.
- needed an extra bed for our babysitter. The hotel manager decided to give the extra bed at no charge.
- my boy played tennis and I we hired a private coach. Staff gave us towels, fruit and juice during the lesson.

- greeted by a smiling and sincere staff during our entire 7 day stay. All of them are not expecting tips. They don't change their attitude if I did not have any tip to give.

- my son accidentally slipped on the pool because he was running. Staff quickly sent for a doctor and nurse to check him out. He was ok. Manager told us that she will extend our checkout time for 3 hours.... What a service!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Alfred D,

We are delighted to have provided the brand of Shangri-La hospitality that you have come to expect. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with our team. Kindly send our regards to your son and hope that he has fully recovered. We look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Shangri La is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and I've always been a fan of Makati Shang, but the experience in EDSA Shang was just exemplary I believe I have a new favorite. We've stayed here for three times already, first is during good friday then mother's day and the recent one is for my sister's graduation.

I've always loved how cozy the rooms were, the view is just impeccable, whether you have the pool view or those stunning city night lights along EDSA, they are just lovely. The staff were all just so accommodating too, from the valet to the concierge and those who are in the front office specially Lui, she's the one who had been assisting us for all our stay, she's very pleasant and easy to talk to, if you'd be checking in, and you have the chance, I highly suggest that you check in with her.

Aside from the friendly staff, this hotel also has the perfect location, it is in between two malls, on one side there's Shangri La Plaza and on the other side there's SM Mega Mall which are both just walking distance away. Then there's also a church nearby if you'd be staying there on a Sunday, St. Francis Church is also just a few steps away. Aside from that, it may be accessed in two ways as well through EDSA and through C5.

With all these considerations, it would always be my home away from home :)

Room Tip: rooms on the right side has the EDSA view and those that are on the left has the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristineaov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear kristineaov,

It was such a delight to know that your family frequents Edsa Shangri-La, Manila to celebrate special occasions. We look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I spoke to Anne of Customer Sales and requested for the Industry Rate which I always use whenever I stay in any Shangri-La property. Anne was very helpful on giving me a very good rate, in fact she proactively offered a package which is lower than what we normally book. Btw, this is a last minute booking and she was still able to provide us good rooms. Airi of Front Desk was very efficient on assisting us upon check in, such a pleasant lady. Overall experience, remarkable and impressive as usual. Looking forward to our next quick staycation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Nico Jerico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Nico Jerico C,

We are delighted to read about your recent stay with us at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. Your feedback is well appreciated and please be assured that we have shared it with our team specifically Anne and Airi. We look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,191 reviews
3.1 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range: £101 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edsa Shangri-La, Manila is the premier urban oasis in Manila that offers world-class resort facilities and easy access to business and entertainment establishments, so that guests can experience both enjoyable tropical escapes and fine urban pleasures in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri-La Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing