We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spatious and comfortable respite!”
Review of Astoria Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Plaza
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Pasig
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Let me start with what Astoria Plaza Suites is not; it is not a 5-star hotel. If you expected to lounge in a lobby bar, indulge in resort-like swimming pool, or eat in a fine dining restaurant attached to the hotel, then you will be greatly disappointed.

However, if you wanted a comfortable suite, attentive service, and free shuttle to two of Manila's largest shopping malls, then Astoria Plaza Suites is "just right"! Our family booked our one bedroom suite through RCI and thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay.

The check-in and check-out processes were efficient and smooth. Note that they will ask you to wait in the customer service lounge at check-out while they await for word from housekeeping about the condition of your room. The front desk reviewed our bill with us and explained in detail the expenses we incurred.

When we entered our suite, we were surprised and delighted by the most spacious one bedroom suite we have booked with RCI. The entire living/dining room area is huge! And the kitchen was the best equipped aside from our home timeshare. They provided us with a complimentary large jug of water for the water cooler, which was most welcome. And best of all, daily housekeeping that was efficient, unintrusive, and considerate.

Do not miss the breakfast buffet. The food spread was ample and delicious, the baked goods fresh, plus a made-to-order omelet station (our favorite). The service by the restaurant crew was alert, attentive, and gracious. With the buy one, get one free promotion for RCI guests, breakfast was an excellent deal!

If I may quibble on two issues, first, our room did not have an information binder on hotel policies, amenities, and hours of operation. When I called to ask for one, customer service informed me that they are "revising it". Secondly, communication between the customer service desk and the front desk needs to be managed better. I had to shuttle between these two desks just to get accurate information on the "activity of the day" that we were interested.

Finally, speaking of "shuttle", we visited Manila during the rainy season and if you know Manila, rain will cause traffic chaos due to street flooding. Despite this, the free shuttle service followed a disciplined drop-off/pick-up times, thanks to their drivers who are both professional and courteous.

Thus, when we returned to our suite after a day or an evening running around in Manila, our girls would exclaim, "Ahhh, nice to be home!" This is the best compliment we can give to Astoria Plaza Suites, a spacious and comfortable respite away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CinciMyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Astoria Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very nice, modern apartments in Pasig City. Excellent staff, spacious and well furnished rooms. Traffic in Manila is awful so it takes a long time to get anywhere. The Hotel provides a free shuttle service to several large shopping malls. It takes about 45 minutes to get to the airport, probably about the same to get to Intramuros, depending on the time of day. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouestmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Astoria plaza is an ok hotel. Check in was swift (took about 10 mins). Close to major shopping centers and within the Ortigas CBD.

Room was nice although the room we were in ha a certain smell that we could not distinguish. Had no breakfast included so we had to buy food either outside or from the restaurant.

If you were to ask if we would stay at the hotel? The answer would be: YES.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank night_shift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Astoria Plaza hotel is an ok place to stay. The hotel needs a little TLC as it is showing its age but the staff are awesome. They are the reason why I rated this hotel 4 star instead of just 3 stars. Louie and his team took care of us from the time we landed in Manila to the time we left Astoria to transfer to another hotel. The bibingka stand that they have in the lobby serves the best bibingka ever! Their breakfast Buffett is ok but nothing spectacular.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Romeo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a relaxing and comfortable stay at this hotel. The one-bedroom suite is very spacious! It has a cozy ambience with its modern and homey interiors, a contrast of vivid and neutral colors - quite a refreshing break from the typical hotel room design of brown, earth colors and classic furnitures. I liked the pleasant smell of the room where they put a sweet fragrance oil which is very soothing, and the lights were just yellow/white that gave a calming effect. I really loved my room, it was absolutely perfect for a getaway! And the staff were quite helpful and accommodating. I will definitely come back to this hotel whenever i need to take a break and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyChancellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Worst thing I have witnessed during my stay was the unhelpful staff of this hotel. I was waiting for a taxi nearby and this person in a motorcycle, coming out of the parking area went out of balance. This person on the motorcycle fell on the floor. Instead of helping this man, all of the hotel staff stood there and laugh at him. No one helped out. The man stood up and not even one asked or checked if he was okay. Witnessing that, I will never book in this hotel again.

Anyways, the service of the hotel is so-so. Rooms are okay but the non smoking room smells like its a smoking room. The hotel staff just sprayed this overly perfumed deodorizer.
Food in this hotel is above Average. The elevator takes soooo long! The pool area needs a bit of cleaning and some landscaping to make it more attractive. The parking area of this hotel is the hottest place on earth. It doesnt have enough ventilation.

Oh, the pictures on the website look nicer compared to the real thing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dantes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here as a gift of my brother after my wedding, for which I'm very grateful, and therefore paid nothing. If you pay nothing, or around 1000 p/night, then this is a good place to stay.

However, they bill themselves as a 5-Star Hotel. A 5-Star Hotel where we had to call to get the wifi working not once, not twice- but some six separate times. With the introduction of a repeater twice. A 5-star hotel with ant and bug problems. A 5-star hotel which offers 500 p breakfasts without telling you that certain items aren't available on that day, but are on others, if you'd care to buy breakfast again- and at least the American breakfasts were incredibly lacking, worth approximately 50 peso. A 5-Star Hotel with neighboring construction workers oggling the female guests in the pool. When this was reported, the female staff were appropriately horrified, and we were told that this would be taken care of immediately, and a manager would contact us later that day. Two days later, the staff had to be reminded of this promise, and the manager indicated he had no knowledge of the incident. A 5-Star hotel with a non-working DVD player and two separate requests having to be made before the DVD player could be replaced. A 5-star hotel with repairmen for the TV who don't actually know how to fix the TV. A 5-Star hotel where tourists are told the price of phone calls but are conveniently not told that cellphone calls are substantially higher when made from the room- something every pinoy knows about. Perhaps Astoria would be better served in catering only to those who intimately know the workings of Filipino culture.

And when these complaints were timely and politely made, not once did staff offer to remove or reduce charges. We were told "sincerely sorry", and that was it.

But hey, the beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked, there were great views, and often there was wifi and TV.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AbdMuhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasig hotels
0.4 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#7 of 22 in Pasig
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#10 of 22 in Pasig
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
0.3 mi away
Ace Hotel & Suites
Ace Hotel & Suites
#5 of 22 in Pasig
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Plaza

Address: 15 J. Escriva Drive | Ortigas Business District, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pasig
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the progressive business and commercial district of Ortigas Center in Pasig City, Astoria Plaza offers new standards in urban living with all the space and comfort of home combined with the modern convenience of staying in a deluxe city hotel. Astoria Plaza's spacious accommodation options give you the freedom to choose between its one and two bedroom suites that boast of German technology door lock system, audio-video entry phone, cable TV and electronic safe. With complimentary internet connection provided, conducting business in your very own suite or keeping in touch with loved ones at home is a breeze and a welcome treat for Astoria guests. It is also within walking distance to leading shopping centres, malls, hospitals, universities and the metro railway transport system. Facilities include a gym, swimming pool, Regenere Spa and Massage Center, Santi's Delicatessen, Travelnet, Genesis Valet Shop and Laundry Services. Complimentary roundtrip shuttle service to and from Ortigas Business District is available with prior reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Plaza Pasig
Astoria Plaza Hotel Pasig
Astoria Plaza Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing