We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“showing its age - rooms need to be refurbed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmonde Hotel Ortigas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Pasig
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“showing its age - rooms need to be refurbed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

I stayed here on the advice of a customer since other hotels in the immediate vicinity were fully booked. Not having been to Manila before and having no comparative frame of reference for other hotels there, my impression is that the Richmonde used to be a very nice hotel but it has clearly slid downwards - while service is pleasant, public areas are OK, and everything is serviceable, the rooms seem run down, spotty and shabby in places. The first room I was assigned had cockroaches - I squished about 10 of varying sizes in the span of a half hour. After requesting a room change around 11pm, I was told by the front desk the hotel was completely full, but housekeeping would come up and take care of it. Shortly afterwards, housekeeping showed up with a can of Lysol and proceeded to spray it around the baseboards and room corners. I hung around just long enough for the cockroaches to reemerge and then packed my bags to go find another hotel. At that point, the front desk miraculously found a vacant room and put me there - and there was no further sign of bugs for the duration of my 3-day stay.

As other reviewers have said, the location near the Shangri-La and the Megamall is a big plus. Staff are very pleasant and well-meaning. The bed was clean and comfortable. Water pressure was good. Breakfast was adequate, but not on par with other hotel buffets I've had. It just did not feel properly kept up, and I wonder if the owners will put money back into it to bring it up to where it probably once was, or will be content to let it continue to slide downhill. That would be a shame, because it has good bones.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adioso, Public Relations Manager at Richmonde Hotel Ortigas, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the pests in your room. Do be assured that we have addressed this matter to ensure that it does not happen again.
We shall take all your comments into serious consideration and hopefully, your next stay with us, should you allow us to serve you again, would be more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    151
    104
    19
    9
See reviews for
65
57
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

The hotel is located a block behind the Edsa Shangri-la in the Ortigas district and thus is a good alternative if the Edsa Shangri-la is fully booked (lots of conventions/events held in this hotel) or if you have business nearby and find the Shangri-la expensive. The hotel is near the high end shangri-la mall and the more popular SM megamall as well as near the headquarters of the San Miguel Corporation and the University of Asia and the Pacific.

The hotel is located at the corner of two streets, and is a tall, L shaped building , so if you don't want to be staring at the walls of the building at the back, be sure to ask for a room facing the street. Rooms are a bit small and the bathroom may be considered tiny esp if you are above 5 1/2 feet tall. The lobby is nice for a hotel of its rating but could use more seats. The breakfast restaurant can be a bit crowdy at breakfast time and although the food is ok choices were quite limited, especially if you spend 3 or more days, you will get tired of the food, but they do try to change a dish or two to provide some variety. 7-11 and burger at the street towards the right of the hotel exit. Not much to do at the left side of the exit.

Concierge lost an item meant/delivered for us at check out, but after a call or two after check out, they finally found it and had it delivered to local address (just around 60km away) for free. Free valet parking

They have an indoor pool and spa which we used once and was satisfactory.

i was able to use the business facilities for a meeting a couple of years back. Ok for a meeting of 20 or so people.

If you are not that choosy and do not want to spend too much and have business to attend to in the area the Richmonde is OK. Just don't expect 5 star amenities and rooms from a place which clearly is not and doesn't claim to be one. Probably 3 star at best. No frills.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biff'ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Been to Richmonde Hotel many times in the course of work in 2008, esp when the EDSA Shangrila is unavailable.

Comparing to standards, it is not too bad a hotel. The lifts were small though and if you are unlucky enough to get stuck in the lift in the early morning with those going for breakfast without showering, good luck.

Rooms were comfy. The bed is nice and firm and the view depends on which side of the hotel you get.

Convenience is a plus. You get to SM Megamall and Shangrila Mall within a 10 minute walk, 7-11 is just behind and the indoor pool is a nice comforting place, although I never really swam in it.

Location is also a plus, you can get to good eating places within a stone's throw away. However I cant stand the noise from the traffic below esp the typical Manila style honking. And since the hotel is just beside the main road, its irritating so ask for a high floor.

Hotel staff is very friendly and very accomodating. Breakfast is good with a standard choice of local and western, but of course I have had better esp at EDSA Shangrila but it aint fair to compare.

Not fantastic but I would come back here without complaints.

Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahrilHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

I had stayed at the hotel a few years ago and so when I was coming to Manila, I plumped for it again. This time I was a little disappointed.

My memory of the first visit was that the hotel was in pretty good shape, newish and good value. This time round, I see that the hotel has wear and tear and could do with some renovation. The lobby is suitably impressive--polished marble, clean. One of the three elevators was blocked off for renovations.

I got a king bed and a quiet inward facing room. There was no real view but so what--I'm out most of the day and back late in the evening.

The room was a good size but it felt worn. The bathroom door--a foldable wooden door--could not close well. The fridge was entirely bare and mildewy. (Strange but they insisted on checking the minibar when I was paying the bills even after I told them that the fridge was bare.)

Breakfast the next morning was awkward. Every table inside was occupied and so I ended up sitting in an area outside the entrance to the restaurant. The following morning, I shared a table. I don't remember the restaurant being so packed. But you also get the idea that the breakfast selection is all right for up to two days but somewhat limited. I cannot imagine staying a week with that kind of breakfast.

There were a couple of shops in the hotel and I had a haircut there. It's pretty good and I would recommend it.

Overall, I probably would have given the hotel a higher rating had I not seen its better days. There's nothing really wrong with the hotel. Staff are friendly; things work. It's just that maintenance--as often seen all over the Philippines--the owner seems to have taken some shortcuts. And the result is showing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasig hotels
0.1 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#7 of 21 in Pasig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#5 of 21 in Pasig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Exchange Regency Residence Hotel
0.4 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
0.2 mi away
Astoria Plaza
Astoria Plaza
#10 of 21 in Pasig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmonde Hotel Ortigas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmonde Hotel Ortigas

Property: Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
Address: 21 San Miguel Avenue | Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmonde Hotel Ortigas 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Pasig City’s Ortigas Center stands Richmonde Hotel Ortigas. Its proximity to corporate destinations, shopping & entertainment centers, and the major thoroughfares, gives the hotel an edge in location. Its interiors bring the classic comforts of home amidst five-star luxuries & modern conveniences. And with the staff’s ever gracious service, The Richmonde is THE place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Richmonde Hotel Ortigas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmonde Hotel Pasig
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing