We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise with a but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“paradise with a but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

the resort was great! the architecture was so greece-like... the room was clean... we even had newspapers in the morning... it was great for picture taking... it could have been the better if the pool was deeper or the beach was clean... we went there to celebrate my parent's silver anniversary and was disappointed that we couldn't enjoy the beach... but the view did compensate for this...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ap0lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Dhen88,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your parent’s silver anniversary with us. We are happy to know that you liked the view and found the resort great.

With regards to your suggestion on a deeper pool, rest assured that this will be considered in our future renovation. We sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention therefore giving us an opportunity to improve.

We have taken serious note of your comment regarding the cleanliness of the beach. The General Manager and concerned Department Head have been informed to address this matter. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly and I would be glad to assist you with your reservations with us.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    127
    84
    33
    26
See reviews for
157
69
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

to have TBR Poro Point in my list last year was another dream-come-true. Thunderbird Rizal is just my neighbor,I can walk to its gate for 10 minutes from my village Saint Monique Valais so its understandable that I am always in the vicinity of TBR Rizal, this one is a bit more elusive. Aside from I have to travel longer to get to La Union, the published rate for Poro Point is also more expensive. When you get to see the resort in person though, you would understand why. It's a standout in this part of Northern Luzon. As a matter of fact it's the only Santorini inspired Resort in the area.

When I said Thunderbird Poro Point is a Santorini inspired Resort, I mean it in every way. All that is about the resort could make you think you are somewhere in the Meditteranean. It's not just about the dome and the architecture of the main lobby and the hotel itself,the corridors, the paintings on the wall, the furnitures, the curtains in the room, the tiles on the pool, the pots are all Santorini themed. Even the towels in your room or the pool are in white and blue stripes.

The rooms, flawless. The beds and pillows, soft as ever. The best beds I have experienced so far.Be warned, the room could be so comfortable you might not want to leave. But there's a lot to explore outside so be sure to fight the temptation.:D

I had very good memories of Thunderbird Poro Point.

Room Tip: the resort is new so don"t worry so much about the rooms. they have the best bed and pillows ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pusangkalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear pusangkalye,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and particularly liked our beds and pillows.

We look forward in welcoming you and your friends back in the near future. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly and I would be glad to assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

we stayed for 3days and 2nights last 0ct2011.The place is really relaxing and the view is awesome.the room is perfect, staff are very nice....excellent super!Hope to get another from dealdozen......

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juris04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Juris04,

It was a pleasure being of service to you and your family. We are glad to know that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly so I can assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Poro point looks exactly as advertised. Their rooms are really comfy and the place itself is quite special. We booked using asiatravel and we didn't have any problems with our check in.
We were asked to give 2,000 pesos deposit though. There aren't a lot of things to do, so if you're looking for something "exciting" this is not the place.


For commuters:

You can take Partas bus going to San Fernando from the Cubao terminal.
It costs around 400 pesos for first class. The from San Fernando you can call
them to pick you up which will cost you around 300 pesos.

TIP:
Breakfast buffet is a must!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goddessofdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Goddessofdawn,

We are pleased to know that you had an overall relaxing experience with us. It is always encouraging to know that our guests are satisfied with the service we provide.

We value your feedback regarding the activities in the property and rest assured that we will address this matter. We look forward in welcoming you back and have a better experience in our property. Please contact me directly and I would be glad to assist you with your booking with us.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this resort and we had fun! First of, I was amazed to see a mediterranean building resort in the Philippines, the decors were simple but depicts the theme. Our room had 2 queen bed which were nicely made. It was very clean. Washrooms were clean and the shampoo & amenities were made in the Philippines by a well known cosmetic company. I did bring some home. It was made of natural ingredients and were paraben-free.
Aircondition was fine but I noticed some "moldy" smell maybe because the rooms were kept closed most of the time and upon close examination of the ceiling, I did find tiny bits of molds where the airconditioner (cold air) hits the ceiling part. I called the attention of room service and they cleaned it. Breakfast was buffet but with a lot of choices as they change the menu everyday. Food was good and we also tried the restaurant of their bearby casino and it was great as well. Pool was clean and delightful. Towels were abundant.
Accommodations were not really expensive considering you get free breakfast everyday. We will definitely come back when we visit the Philippines again.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for ongoing promotions to get the most for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Marlo,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. Your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the team.

We have taken serious note of your comment and rest assured that the General Manager and concerned Departments have been informed to look into the matter.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back at Thunderbird Resorts. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly and I would be glad to assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Recently, I visited this place with my officemates for a brief team building session. The drive from Manila is 6 hours non-stop but becomes 8 hours if stopovers are included. The place is nice, Mediterranean inspired ( reminds me of Santorini, Greece ) but is located in the middle of nowhere. The resort has a swimming pool, a restaurant, a bar and a small gift shop. The room we got has a balcony and has an ocean view. The toilet inside the room is very spacious. The shampoo and conditioner they provide is the hypoallergenics brand, very invigorating to use. The bed is firm and made me sleep like a log. The hotel even has a free shuttle that goes to the casino. The bar had a happy hour which extends till 10pm. Overall, our stay was brief but created lasting impressions.

Room Tip: Arrive early so that you can make the most our of your stay in this Mediterranean inspired resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear FinickyBob,

Thank you for sharing your good experience with us, we truly appreciate it. On your next visit, please contact me directly so I can assist you with your reservations with us.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

From start to finish, our experiences have been easy and hassle free!
We arrived and checked in without any trouble. Reception staffs were friendly and helpful. (A plus especially when you have just been driving 7 hours from Manila to La Union, then before that was a 12 hour flight from Sydney!)

We were shown to our room, first impression was "wow"! It had 2 queen size beds, a tv, a mini kitchen and a large bathroom with a spa! Heaven.

First thing we did was get change and jump into the pool to wash off the 'travel and exhaustion' away. The pool was nice and inviting; although it was funny that it was all the same depth all around.

Then we headed to their beautiful restaurant for some dinner. There were so many yummy foods to choose from, it was too hard to pick just one to try. Luckily we had 2 night & days to try all of them (well, nearly all). The restaurant staffs were great, always had smiles on their faces and eager to please and very friendly.

Only minus were (1) there was no cappuccino? But I could live without it for a few days :) (2) no kids club/activities (3) lacking in some sort of tourist infomation; what to see & do around La Union and surrounds

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhodora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear RhodoraD,

We were pleased to know that you and your family had a wonderful experience with us. Your kind words have been shared to the whole team particularly to our reception and restaurant staff. This will motivate them to keep up the good work.

We have taken note of your comments/suggestions and rest assured that we will look into the matter.

In the meantime, kindly contact me directly for your future bookings with us.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
4.1 mi away
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Circle Hostel La Union
35.9 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Costa Villa Beach Resort
Costa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Property: Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Fernando La Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing