We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: nice view & exterior of the resort, additional 2 bottles of water & 4 kisses chocolate in the evening.

Cons: no duvets in the room, unlike what is shown on their website, proper swimwear not enforced in the swimming pool which gave the resort a poor image, poor quality of towels in the room, no hand towels or wash cloth, broken tv remote, broken outlet near the bed, rain shower in bathroom is leaking on the sides, lack of organization in buffet breakfast & guests have to search for tables where they can just put some extra tables & chairs to accommodate all guests, slow service during breakfast, poor quality of breakfast.

I expected more but I was disappointed. I will not recommend it to others unless they will improve their service & food.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Xyzwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    138
    102
    40
    33
See reviews for
186
74
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited this place for a quick lunch and tour of the area.

It's a long 5-6 hour drive from Manila given the numerous ongoing road construction works. When we finally got there, we found the view breathtaking and worth the trip.

Unfortunately, I didn't like the overall design and implementation. I feel that the developer could have made this more luxurious taking advantage of its great location.

We ate lunch at Olive's Restaurant. Ordered pizza and pasta. The pizza is average. The pasta lacks salt and pepper. The food was underwhelming and overpriced. They should improve on this further. However, service in the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tin_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights in February with my wife, the Thunderbird Resort is fantastic hotel. The staff are very helpfull and courteous, the food was excellent and the room was excellent with a very comfortable bed.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alecbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna, La Union, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is where I greatly recommend everyone looking for a truly gateway paradise. The infinite view of sea and the stunning sunset view atop a cliff adds to the perfect astounding view of the horizon and beyond.
A very romantic and breathtaking place to honeymooners. The restaurant offers superb foods worth the price.
All I can say positively reflected my enjoyable stay.
All thumbs up.

Room Tip: Choose a room on ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeopoldoFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabuyao, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This place is definitely worth the 6-7 hours travel by road from Manila. Truly a great getaway as the view would make you feel like you were transported to another country entirely. Situated on the tip of La Union, it offers an uninterrupted view of the horizon that is a perfect backdrop to the Santorini-inspired buildings. The dining area is an open terrace taking advantage of the view. The food is delicious and the breakfast selection is extensive. The swimming pool is picture perfect and very relaxing to swim in while enjoying the view.

Construction is ongoing during the time we visited and it partially blocked our view of the pool from our room but once it's finished then only downside of the place would be that swimming on the beach is discouraged. Guests can opt to travel to the surfing capital of San Juan, La Union which is less than an hour away from Thunderbird and the hotel staff will bring and fetch you there on the hotel vans for a minimal fee of P500.

We opted to drive to the summer capital Baguio City which is only an hour away via Naguilian road for lunch and we were easily back before 5PM.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool and facing the ocean are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGenDemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here due to a delayed business trip. I had already heard of Thunderbird because it is in the free-zone port where I do business. I had to have some strings pulled to get a room because I was traveling with others and were first told there was only 1 room available. Once strings were pulled suddenly another room was available.

I was very happy from the time I arrived till the time I left. Very good service at the Olives restaurant, front desk, and room service.

There is still construction going on, and it dulled the view of the sunset a bit, but overlooking the construction, one can see the sun set into the ocean. Very breathtaking.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room was clean, but could see some sloppy paint work on the wall trim that showed a lack detail. However, since the room was clean, and the shower was large, I didn't worry about it.

There is a spa, and tried to make a last-minute appointment but was all booked up.

There are only 30+ rooms here, but the hotel was busy with people from the surrounding area enjoying the restaurants.

Olives restaurant was very good. The portions are large. I ordered the veal and was very happy with it, as it was cooked to exactly how I wanted it. The service was quick, and pleasant.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven_nagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urdaneta City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I would like to send you some feedback from the 14 Feb 2014 – Valentines Dinner at the Thunderbird Resort La Union. I did send a email to the Sales Manager A.P. - but never got a response.
For us the Dinner was the highlight of our Celebration of Love weekend and we attended with 4 people (2 couples), having driven up from Urdaneta. The scenery was perfect – ambiance nice and tasteful – the music great – so the first impression was awesome.

so we sit down and from here on few things been not so nice.

First it started with a Waiter trying to sell us a Bottle of wine – we had nothing else on the table – no drink water .. only 1 menu for 4 people ... so we declined and waited for our “included wine”. to our surprise we had to choose between Wine – Coffee or Tea – that’s never happen in my life (working more than 26 years in the industry) as coffee and tea always get served last to finish off the evening ...

When the Waitress came for the Drink Water – I ask if I can change the seafood soup to something else – so she offers me Mushroom soup and I been fine at that time.
when the first food came – we been surprised again as we got served the soup first – so we send it back and ask for the salad to be served first. Honestly – the salad was a disgrace – salad leaves swimming in mayonnaise – with 2 half lost shrimps and few carrot julienne –.. wau – what a downturn that was

after the first course the soup arrive – and a waiter approached me and said – we don’t have Mushroom soup – but they could give me Pumpkin. so I agreed and had to wait for the soup when my table mates already eating the seafood soup. When finally the Pumpkin Soup been served – its was below 1* quality and I did not eat at all.

the Main course was much better – maybe presentation could be a little bit more fancy and all had been good until I try the sauce – a sauce made from powder stock .. for your quality property a downturn again. The meat was cooked nice and been tender – vegetable either to hard or to soft

Last arrived the dessert – the cheesecake – and apart from presentation been good.

After the last course been served and we had eaten – we left and on the way out my partner been asked from the Matre’D if everything was ok – and she explained what we experienced ..
She also told us, the hotel has a Foreigner as Executive Chef – which surprised me complete
Fact: For your Property and the Price P/P 1200 Peso for the dinner – I have expected a quality dinner – what we got is disappointment.
We been in your Hotel before as friends invited us – but next time we thinking hard before we agree do dine again at your restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brocolie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
1.1 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
46 reviews
5.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
170 reviews
34.2 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Punta Riviera Resort
Punta Riviera Resort
#3 of 4 in Bolinao
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
10 reviews
35.9 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Property: Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Fernando La Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing