We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want to come back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escudero Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Pablo City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

we enjoyed our family trip in villa escudero.we had a lot of fun and the money you spent there is worth it!the carabao riding was so awesome and good experienced for my husband.the filipino food is delicious and you will feel relax coz of the nice view there.so many activities around it like swimming,rafting,fishing,biking etc.. good for balikbayan's & foreigner but make sure you bring your own drinking water for your own safety.pool is nice too but it makes our skin itch after swimming.and they are not so strict about swimwear and the shower room&changing area needs more renovation..staff are so polite&kind.the cultural show was so amazing&interesting!we want to come back again there even it was abit far.:)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shedtakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We enjoyed our trip yesterday....love the museum ...my son just love hanging around the waterfall...food is good. The sun was hot yesterday so we manage to find a table under the shade...but we find out later that you can eat inside the restaurant upstairs and can go down to the waterfall after just to take pictures....enjoy the rafting and my son love the kids swimming pool....we had fun......staff are friendly...during our ride they.....my hubby didn't really enjoy our trip as he doesn't like the hot sun and outdoor activity...but Me and our son love it.......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spread over acres of coconut plantations- staying here is an absolute delight ! The moment we checked-in the room, we had filipino singers welcoming us with traditional songs ! The restraunt for dinner is just besides the lake-side and the spread for dinner is average. Morning we started with the breakfast ( it was more elaborate than the dinner spread) ; followed by a trip to the museum, then the Carabao Cart ride , then the bamboo boat ride, and then the authentic filipino lunch at the iconic restraunt just by the waterfall !!! The lunch was followed by the cultural show and before we realsied, it was almost time to check-out !!! Not to forget, their are two large-sized pools , but the water didn't appear to be very clean !!! Overall - one of the must-do's while at Philippines !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ankitnangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Villa Escudero is not too far from Manila, and its a good place to relax without spending a whole day of travelling on the road.

I called their Manila phone number to book a week ahead. I was given payment instructions via text and I made a deposit thru BDO.

Travel from Alabang to Villa Escudero is just a little over an hour. We chose the 5pm check-in but we were allowed to be at the resort premises as early as 1pm.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the receptionist and was handed with the food coupons. We immediately headed to the pavilion to wait for the cultural show. There were a lot of guests already seated and we had to share a table since the dining tables can accommodate a huge group.

The cultural show was entertaining from start to end. During the show, we ordered iced blended coffee and fruit shake which were both satisfying. We headed to the swimming pool after the show and we enjoyed the clean water and the view of the lake. We then got hungry and ordered clubhouse sandwich and fries which also tasted good and the servings were adequate.

We then proceeded to our room at exactly 5pm, it was a River Unit which can accommodate a max of 12 guests and we were just a couple. The cottage has a master's bedroom with toilet and bath (with hot shower), plus additional 2 loft bedrooms, a separate toilet and shower near the kitchen, there's also a dining and living area which overlooks the river. Its a cozy place ideal for a relaxing time with family and friends. Just don't forget to bring your own toiletries as they only provide small packs of soap. You may also bring snacks like chips or cookies in case you get hungry in the middle of the night, but they don't have coffee or tea making facilities inside the room, so just bring ready to drink coffee in cans or juice drinks. You may get drinking water from the dining pavilion in case you get thirsty, though its a bit of long walk from the cottages.

The unit doesn't have air-conditioning, but its not necessary since it can get cold during the night.

Dinner is served around 6:30pm. The pavilion looks elegant at night, with the huge chandeliers and candle-lit table settings. They also leave enough spaces between the tables to provide a bit of privacy especially for couples ;-) A live band plays romantic songs during dinner, completing the relaxing ambience of the pavilion. Waiters were scattered around the dining area to ensure that they can quickly attend to any requests of the guests. The food was great, they served pasta, soup, pork, beef, chicken, fish, vegetables, salads and desserts. The carving station offered roasted leg of pork with rosemary. We were stuffed for dinner and went back to the cottage afterwards.

Since there's no TV or radio in the cottage, all we heard were crickets and the gentle sway of trees from the wind. Upon waking up early in the morning, we were greeted by the chirping of numerous birds, better than the sound of TV or fm radio :-)

Breakfast is served at 7am, though we hope it is served as early as 6am since lunch is served at 11am. They have a good spread of breakfast options. From breads, cereals, bibingka, goto, champorado, omelette, dried fish, etc. They also have coffee, hot chocolate, iced tea and fruit juice. As usual, I was very happy with the breakfast. :-)

After breakfast, we went to the museum which opened at 8am, im glad we were the first visitors and we were able to appreciate the silence while concentrating on the details of the different artifacts and personal collections they have.

We rented mountain bikes at 100 pesos per hour and we got the chance to explore the other parts of the resort.

Lunch was ready at 11am and the waterfalls area was quickly filled with daytour guests. The food selection was also good. I ate a lot of the pancit, grilled pork, vegetables in coconut milk, and sweet pineapples.

We also had the chance to do bamboo rafting, its a good exercise, while enjoying the view of the river, its also a romantic activity to do with your loved one.

We checked out at 4pm, though we wished we stayed longer.

Villa Escudero is a great place to spend a relaxing weekend with your family and friends, or simply if you want to have a romantic getaway with your special someone.

I will definitely come back ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rodrigito_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on march 9-10. There were 11 adults and one child in our group. We picked one of the riverside lodges because it can accommodate up to 12 persons.

When we arrived, we were greeted by the very courteous staff of the resort. We were also given welcome drinks(gulaman). After making the payments in the reception area, you will need to ride a carabao/water buffalo cart. There's a singer and guitarist that will serenade you with classic Filipino songs during the whole trip. The driver is quite friendly. He even gave use some information regarding the different areas that we were passing.

The lodge is not as spacious as I was expecting. There's a master room in the first floor where 2-3 persons can sleep. The "2nd room" is located on the 2nd floor. The 2nd floor room had 8 single mattresses. There were no beds. They basically just put the mattresses on the floor. If you're someone who wants privacy, you won't get it because the 8 mattresses are placed besides each other. There is no air-conditioning and the electric fans provided are small and limited so it can get quite hot during the day. The temperature got cold during the night so there was really no need for us to turn on the fans. The great thing about the unit is the patio. It is a roofed patio that has a relaxing view of the lake. You can even fish because the patio is open. There is also a Filipino style hammock where you can lie down and relax. Make sure to bring your own shampoo, toothpaste, and toothbrush because they don't provide these things.

There are a lot of activities that you can do in Villa Escudero. There is a museum that showcases a lot of Filipino, religious, and even some foreign. I highly recommend the tour for history buffs and for people who want to know learn about Filipino history. You can also rent binoculars for birdwatching. I'm not really into it so I did not do the activity. The is a free bamboo raft/balsa rental for people who want to see more of the lake. If you're lodged in the lakeside unit, you can go in front of your unit's patio using the bamboo raft. There's a Filipino cultural show which I unfortunately was not able to see so I can't really comment regarding the performance. There are 3 pools where you and your kids can swim. The main slide was not working when we were staying. There is also a bike rental for people who want to tour the place.

The buffet Lunch in the man made falls is supposedly one of the main attractions but I didn't really enjoy it much. The eating area is crowded and moving around is quite a hassle because of the running water. The food is ok. It's composed of Filipino food. I wasn't really able to enjoy if much because of the crowd.

Dinner is a much better experience. It was done in the restaurant area. There were less people because only the people who are staying overnight ate. The food selection is more diverse. We had spaghetti, thai chicken, a tuna dish, and a pork dish(I don't remember the name). There's a performer singing Filipino songs while we were eating.

The breakfast buffet is the best in my opinion. It was also done in the restaurant and it also was not crowded. There was a chicken sausage, corned beef, omelette with cheese, dangit(dried fish), and dilis(a small dried fish). I loved the dangit and the omelette. There's also free hot cocoa, coffee, and orange juice.

At 2,650 pesos per person, some people may think that the place is expensive but considering the fact that the breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffet are free, in my opinion the price is quite reasonable. I only gave 3 stars because of my criticisms on our lodge.

Room Tip: The place is more about the attractions than the rooms. Just don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My family and friends went there recently and we had a lot of fun.

The museum has a lot of nice things to see and the surroundings are well-kept. There are a lot of things to see for young and old.

The food area is an awesome place with delicious food. And the big advantage is that you get a Kneipp cure for free while eating.

I really liked the show afterwards which shows the culture and differences of the Philippines.

The pool area is clean and the kids can and will have a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joerg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Villa Escudero is located a couple of hours from Metro Manila (depending on the traffic) and it's a very pleasant day tour. This coconut plantation that opened to the general public as a resort has the first hydroelectric plant on the Philippines and, by strolling around, you can see very interesting aspects about the Filipino culture. The high point of the trip is the restaurant located in the waterfalls, created by the hydroelectric. No, you didn't misunderstand: it's a restaurant where the tables are located in the river, right in front of the waterfalls. Even if the food is not that amazing, the experience alone, eating with the cold water on your feet, listening to the relaxing sound of the waterfall, is simply amazing. Completely worth the visit! <3

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tksato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo City
4.6 mi away
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
#2 of 2 in San Pablo City
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
24.9 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Palmera Hotel
#2 of 4 in San Pablo City
1 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
10.2 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escudero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escudero Resort

Address: Pan-Philippine Highway, San Pablo City, Luzon 4000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > San Pablo City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Pablo City
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Villa Escudero Hotel San Pablo City
Villa Escudero Resort Philippines/San Pablo City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing