We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Me and my wife had our honeymoon last November 4...I've been to Davao in several occasions and all of the hotels that I stayed in are always in the middle of the city so this is really my first time to be in a quiet part of Davao. The Hotel is located inside a subdivision so you need to ask the front desk to call a taxi for you. Hotel staffs are very friendly and so are the owners. They are very accommodating and never fails to ask us if there are other things we need. Rooms are good. The closest mall is the Victoria Plaza (about 200 meters). Im a fan of different paintings and other art stuff so this is like a haven for me. Paintings from the son's owner is everywhere in this hotel. Breakfast is ok (starting from Php110.00). Since we went to Davao to explore the city, we really didn't really tried their food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jst110380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your opinion helps us improve our service to you, the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
24
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you always live in the Jungle
You will like that place
Gallery is nice....no doubt
room is clean...but not good enough
Shower water...smaller then my pee (But they said Davao Water problem)
Room can't get Wifi ....they had wired AP....you must have some IT skill setting on your own
Or you can't get the Wifi
Lobby served very cold water that is nice .....because they didn't open AirCondition there

Breakfast there is nice .....

Room Tip: Unless you are Artist...you always live in the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keikowolala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Your opinion counts. We read all reviews and take appropriate action where needed. Our wi-fi has just been upgraded and is working well. We have also renovated all of our bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We checked in on June 26. We are a family of four (4) and trust me this place is not family friendly. The room they gave us is so cramped and there is hardly space to walk around the bed. The room is dusty and dirty. Shower drains really slow.

It doesn't have a telephone extension in the room. When staff was asked, they confirmed that it has been like that ever since. So it can be hard to request for warm water for the baby and any other request such as a room service. This place is far from the main road and is in the middle of a residential area. You need to get a taxi or tricycle (if you are lucky) to get in and out of the place.

I believe this place is way over rated and doesn't deserve a recognition from Tripadvisor. To some people, this review is nothing but to discredit this hotel. I am no way affiliated with any establishment, just a family who loves to travel and enjoy a cozy and comfortable hotel stay. You can disregard this review and simply look at the pictures and judge for yourself.

Room Tip: We moved to
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TarsierReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for giving us your valued feedback. This gives us the opportunity to speak with our staff and address such issues to ensure that this does not happen again as we continue to improve our standards. Most of our rooms are designated as either double or twin share and good for 2 persons although, if require, as in your case, we can add extra beds. Some of these rooms are larger than others and where possible we do try to offer these larger rooms if extra beds are required but perhaps none were available during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Excellent service and nice staff. Clean rooms and special art exilbits and good food.
An oasis in a busy city.
When i go back to Davao, it is here i will stay. Maybe there is no pool yet but the atmosphare weighs up. The atmosphare is very special.

Ralph

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We read all reviews left by our guests because we care about your experience here at Ponce Suites.
Excellence is our goal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The artwork is worth a night to stay here. It's unbelievable. If not for the artwork, the hotel would not be rated as high.

Staff are friendly, George is great and the place has a nice vibe to it. The building is old and does need some work. Wi Fi does NOT work in all rooms and you need to go up or down stairs to get a signal. This surprises me as it’s an easy thing to fix. Not all rooms have hot water showers. You have to climb stairs to access the rooms, so be aware of this if you have ambulatory problems.

I was a bit worried about this building. If ever an emergency or fire, I can’t see how to get out quickly and it will for sure be a major hazard. Rooms are basic and do need some updating.

They do have some great discounted rooms and deals for longer stays. The roof top bar is nice, but as non drinkers we did not use it.

As others have stated, this is not far from several malls. Do NOT use the dentist that is located on the property, rates are way overpriced.

For a nice experience, even one night, stay here and get your artwork fix for the year
.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Since this review all our bathrooms (CR's) have been renovated and bedrooms are in the process of being re-painted (odourless paint). Our wi-fi has been upgraded and is now available in all rooms. We do have a fire escape. We value your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Ponce Suites is not at the downtown center but it is only five to seven minutes walk from Victoria Plaza Mall. The newer Abreeza Mall is a ten-minute jeepney ride away. Downtown Davao is only P8 jeepney-ride away. If you choose to go by taxi to downtown, fare should be not more than P80.00. The hotel is within a residential compound and most taxis are not familiar with the place, so you have to be familiar with its location from Victoria Plaza so you can direct the taxi driver to the place. Because it is inside a subdivision, we were spared from the noise of jeepneys and other vehicles.

What sets Ponce Suites apart from the other hotels in the city is the art of the owner’s son, Kublai Ponce Millan, which fills the entire hotel. The façade of the hotel, as well the street leading to the hotel is a grand display of Kublai’s sculptural works. Paintings and photography by Kublai adorn the walls from the ground floor up to the coffee shop at the fourth level. The walls by the stairs leading to the third floor are junk materials converted by Kublai into works of art.

Eda, the lady at the counter is warm and accommodating but the other one (I forgot her name) needs to learn to smile and make guests feel welcome. We were glad Eda manned the counter most of the time that we were there.

The rooms are huge, well-lit, and all are tastefully decorated with Kublai’s work. In the suite room which we occupied, three huge junkyard art are placed on the wall. There’s TV and, contrary to some review I read, we were not required to pay P200 as deposit for the TV remote control. There's air conditioning and our bath had a hot and cold shower. There were huge closets. There is also wifi signal in our room. No swimming pool though.

Great place to stay if you are into arts and stuffs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeyQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Your opinions drive us on our continued journey to not only make your stay at Ponce Suites an 'unforgettable experience', but an 'unforgettably pleasant experience'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindanao, Philippines
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed again in Ponce Suites for Davao’s ArawngDabaw event. Wonderful. Even more wonderful that Kublai, the artist whose paintings and sculptures make this hotel unique, is doing so well and has received commissions all over Mindanao and his hometown of Davao. In addition, to reflect the awards given to Ponce Suites by Lonely Planet, Trip Advisor and Cebu Pacific Airlines, many of the rooms have been renovated, a welcome initiative.

What else can I say about Ponce Suites that I and others have not already said? The hotel is unique, an on-going work of art created by Kublai for the benefit of us all. So if you are tired of hoi hum hotels that all blend together after awhile, the Ponce Suites is the hotel for you. If you love art, Ponce Suites is the hotel for you. If you are looking for and expecting 5 star conveniences, décor, and service, however, Ponce Suites is not the place for you, the Marco Polo is. As well, Ponce Suites is well located, a short taxi ride from all places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.1 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#10 of 52 in Davao City
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
350 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#21 of 52 in Davao City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel

Property: Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Address: Corner Roads 3 and 4, Dona Vicenta Village | Bajada, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel is a small family run hotel located in a quiet location but only a few minutes walk from the business center of Davao. With 32 rooms, this hotel offers the guest a unique experience as, as the name suggests, it is also an art gallery with artworks by the owner's son, Kublai. We also cater for seminars and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Zenrooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing