We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deal with the manager exclusively”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drifters Apartel and British Bar
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deal with the manager exclusively”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Nice hotel but if you are English-speaking, it is best to deal with the manager directly and exclusively. The hired help does not seem to understand English very well, and they project a general sense of apathy.

The other problem with this place is the location. It is inside a gated sub-division and it's a veritable maze getting there.

Lastly, I ordered the banana pancakes off the menu on my first morning, but was told that they don't have any fruit and generally don't stock fruit. I skipped breakfast and went hungry. BUT, I did request that they have bananas for breakfast the next morning. When I went to the cafe to order, they told me that they didn't have any pancakes. When I asked the manager about this, she said that she did not know about my request, but would send someone out to buy bananas. I then had to wait over an hour for my breakfast to be prepared.

I suppose it is my own fault for expecting to be able to order fruit in the Philippines.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeganEphipany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drifters Davao D, Owner at Drifters Apartel and British Bar, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
This is Bert, Im the owner of Drifters Davao.
I heard about your breakfast problems and Ive just read your reveiw.
Regards the breakfast I totaly agree with you, It should never had happend.
Its too late for you, but ive now taken serious steps to make sure this never happens again, and the staff have certainly understood my english.
Regards Drifters location if you ask the taxi driver for Drifters, Pili St, Nova Terra subdivison he will bring you directly to the gate.
Should you require a taxi to go out just ask the girls to get you a taxi 15 to 20 min berfore you wish to go out.
Im sorry that you feel our staff show a feeling of apathy towards you, but our girls do try to do their best and they do try to understand and speak english.
Down stairs in our Bar there is a famouse sign that was started by a now past away freind of mine which relates to anyone visiting the Philippines.
The sign says, R.W.Y.A. Translated its, Rember where you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    30
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
45
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have just stayed at Drifters and could not have been more happy with the service from the staff, the location and the overall stay at this property. The owners are very friendly and more than approachable, making sure you have everything you need to make your stay great. All staff will go out of their way to help you. I will be definitely recommending this to all of my friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amelia4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotabato City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed there for a 8 days and we can't complain the staff are good and the owner is friendly,as we said to her whenever we get back to Davao we will be staying in their place,and oh we prefer their place because it's near the ferry terminal for Samal island,and they also have bikes for rent which are very affordable thank you and now they are near the newly opened SM mall

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs but we got no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariafujairah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Very nice staff here, with excellent service. If you are new to Davao, other expats you meet here will have plenty of useful information.

Never a problem with the room. They have a standby generator.

Fairly close to the new shopping mall North of town. Its also possible to walk to the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamboME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I was in Iloilo flew to Davoa just to spend a few days in Drifters before our return to England. So what more can I say. I stayed here three years ago and still its like home from home, every one is friendly, the place just has a relaxed atmosphere, the staff cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Ended up staying two weeks back in November 2012. The Apartelle is quiet situated in Tierra nova. There are 7 rooms available, with varying utilities, we stayed in one with a kitchinette. The staff were very helpful and the room had cable TV. Its easy traveling to downtown Davao, they'll call a Taxi if you need. There's a pool and we daily had an excellent breeze around the pool area, which meant we eat food outside the room or away from the pub which is in the baasement. The food is excellent and has both English and Philipino cuisine. Its one of my favourite places to stay for future trips to Davao.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were new lodger of them as a couple of husband and wife. We had been staying twenty-five nights at "Drifters" since from September to October 2012. It was unforgettable experience for us that wide clean room, comfortable kitchen and dining table, quiet safety location, reasonable room rate and mostly there were kindly staffs in house who were concerning well very much for our requests every time while we were there. I believe that it is peaceful accommodation for travelers in Davao, really feeling at home. We were able to enjoy our activities without any interference. We were satisfied their offering of sufficient level of quality services. Exactly, we would like to stay at "Drifters" repeatedly when we have to stay in Davao. Thank you for giving wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mochie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#22 of 52 in Davao City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Be-ing Suites
Be-ing Suites
#14 of 52 in Davao City
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#31 of 52 in Davao City
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Apartel and British Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Apartel and British Bar

Property: Drifters Apartel and British Bar
Address: 39 Pili Street | Nova Tierra Sub Division Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Drifters Apartel and British Bar 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters is a family owned hotel consisting of 7 fully fitted and serviced apartments, We can accommodate family's up to 10 persons. We are located inside Nova Tierra Village Lanang Davao City. Drifters provides free access to and from the airport and is approx 5km from Davao central. We are only 10 min away from Samel Island Ferry's. On site is the Pirates British underground Pub, serving freshly cooked traditional English / Asian foods. And of course a world wide selection of beers and wines. We can help you with travel plans both local or to any part of the Philippine Islands. We have free WIFI all over. Swimming Pool, Beer Garden. Please remember this is a family hotel. We are Pet friendly if you are Drifters friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Drifters Apartel and British Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Apartel And British Bar Hotel Davao
Drifters Apartel And British Bar Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing