We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
8
12
4
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
12
4
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the heart of the city compound bondi shampoo wifi amenities sheets
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Legaspi Suites is a nice boutique hotel but with improvements needed.

Positive - nice location as it is located in the heart of the city. From that point, everything is accessible. Also, the compund where it is located has the convenience of having restaurants (pizza parlor, restuarant that serves the hotel breakfast, and coffee shop). It also has a bar, a travel agency, dental clinic during the day and spa located inside the compound. At night, you can just seat and relax at their compound and enjoy a couple of bottles of beer with friends. Security is also not an issue as there's a 24 hour guard stationed in front of the gate and at the hotel lobby/reception. Service was ok. They allowed us to check-in early once the rooms were available. They gave us hot water for drinking when requested. The rooms were nice and adequate enough for what you pay for. It is spacious enough even if there are 3 people sleeping in there. Our shower in the room had truble but they were able to fix it as soon as possible.

Negative - The biggest thing that I did not like about the stay was the breakfast. The serving was nice but the issue is on the time. They only start serving breakfast at 7am, which is a hassle on those who have business meetings and tours. During our 3 days stay there, our call time for tours was 7AM, so we needed to take out our breakfast and eat it on the road. They won't accept our request of serving it earlier like 6:30AM even though we were a group of 12 and the only guest on the hotel. WIFI is also charged amounting to 200 pesos, but not worth it as the connection is slow. The TV in the room is also too small (around 12 inches screen). Lastly, the place can also be quite noisy since it is in the middle of the city where the night clubs are just a few steps away.

Overall, we had a nice stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

By far my worst hotel experience... Indifferent personnel, noisy... don't come into the mode of Filipino hospitality at all. Awful amenities, small towels... Kusina Selera where you breakfast doesn't understand that you stay there because of business concerns, serving only at 7AM, so you're late for your meeting!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maloudeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had just come from a horrible experience at Paradise Island Park and Beach Resort, Samal Island in Davao where we were supposed to stay for two nights, but opted out after the incompetent and rude service that we had met upon arrival (will review that separately). We went back to mainland Davao in search of a hotel to stay in for the three days and two nights that we were still going to be in the city.

There were 7 of us in the group and we had stayed at The Marco Polo hotel the previous night for a business function, so we initially decided to check back into the same hotel. Some of the people in our group were on a budget, so they were somewhat hesitant to go back to Marco Polo as it's on the pricier range; so it was a blessing that on our way there, we were tipped about Legaspi Suites, which was only 2 blocks away from the Marco Polo hotel and was still in a good location.

When we arrived, we inquired about their rooms, rates, rules and regulations, and all of our queries were sufficiently addressed and answered. The pleasant lady at the reception even offered to show us the last three available rooms to help us decide which ones we wanted to check into. All the rooms were spacious, plainly but classily designed, well-kept and clean. We picked two rooms: one double occupancy suite, and the other a double occupancy deluxe. They had very affordable rates for extra occupants including beddings, and they even had rates for occupants that don't need extra beddings/amenities! It was perfect, because some of my friends were planning to camp out in that other resort, so they had brought sleeping bags and tents with them -- we only had to pay for their bunking in which was around P400 (~$10) a night!

Our suite was extremely spacious, with a corner for a mini-ref and water heater, a long hallway with a chaise longue, a television set and 2 queen-sized beds. Just for fun, we set up the tent that our friend had brought along and put it in the room! It was so odd and funny.

What we loved the most was their service and how they accommodated us completely, even if we were walk-ins and had no reservations. Their staff had "interns" and perhaps this is why they were eager to serve and please. The front desk helped us contact the Pearl Farm Beach Resort and gave us details on how to make reservations for our day trip the next day (as our extended trip was really to spend some time on the beach).

We left for Pearl Farm early the next day, so we had left our rooms in disarray. When we got back, the room was tidied but didn't seem meddled with. Clothes and items were fixed but were set aside where they were left. They had left us more towels on the chaise, and best of all -- we found extra blankets and pillows INSIDE the tent we had set up, at no extra charge, and without us asking for them! Those were the little things that made our stay feel special at the Legaspi Suites.

The A/C was a relatively new unit and was set to a perfect temp. The beds, sheets and pillows were not luxurious but cozy and clean. They had a small table with chairs and a chaise by the window, so there was plenty of sitting room. There was also a small, wooden dresser with a big mirror. We loved their very soothing, homemade mint and oats (?) soap. The bathroom was clean: there were no cracks in the tiles, no molds and mildew, an easy-to-operate warm bath, and they provided more than enough towels and rugs to keep the floor dry. Our rooms came with complimentary breakfast at Kusina Selera, the charming restaurant at the ground floor of the compound.

Things that could be improved on are their television set (even if we didn't spend much time watching it) -- the channels switch so slowly, like an old computer! They DID have a WiFi network on, but it wasn't accessible (we were able to use the WiFi at the cafe on the ground floor, though.) There were some tiles on the upper parts of the bathroom that seemed to have dried shampoo on them, but nothing disgusting.

As a whole, our stay was enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed. The facade of the complex give it an old Filipino vibe, with very vintage details like wooden windows with capiz (shells) and iron gates; while the interiors are modern, minimalist but chic. We felt safe within the gated compound, with a security guard at the entrance. The whole ground floor is occupied by trendy, small businesses -- there were about two bars (one had a good selection of liquors, beers and spirits), a pizza parlor (with a 36" pizza!), a Filipino and continental restaurant (Kusina Selera), and a quaint cafe (Tata Benito's Whole Latte Love) that served good coffee and had WiFi. It is within 5 minutes of the big shopping mall (Gaisano) and the famous souvenir shopping strip (Aldevinco); and within walking distance of many good eats (like Penong's Grill). Parking was also free, which we appreciated when a friend from the city came to visit us.

We will definitely go back to Legaspi Suites on our next trip to Davao, and I suggest you guys look into it, too!

Room Tip: Get a Suite if you're with a big group.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

very roomy...staff is very friendly&location is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaramelMacchiatoIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

When we checked-in we were fooled by how nice the courtyard and the lobby looked but soon as we got to our rooms, we were very disappointed: cockroaches (3 of them) on the bathroom floor! and the room had a stench we could not figure what it was but it was enough for us to decide to cancel our booking and check-out asap. The manager would not refund our booking, good thing we only booked 3 nights! We didn't want to argue and just decided to stay for one night since we were tired. We all agreed we'd just look for a better place to stay the next day. That night we were curious to try out the restaurant below the hotel called, Kusina Selera. We were told that they served good Filipino dishes. We were amazed at how unprofessional the staff were. The waiter made us wait for 20 minutes before getting us a seat, and another 20 to bring us the menu and take our orders, and then, another 45 minutes for the food to be served! I thought, if the food is good, maybe I'll forgive them. We ordered their Balbacua, which tasted like soil!!! And if that isn't bad enough, their Sinigang na Baboy had granulated Tamarind Soup mix on the pork (obviously they do not even know how to make one of the most basic Filipino foods). Everything about this place was BAAAADDD. The restaurant was full of mosquitoes and flies. The kitchen had a foul smell. The bathroom seat was filthy and the floor wet and uncleaned. Yikes! Filthy place. We asked the manager for a refund. She said NO. By this time, we were fed-up with this place Legaspi Suites and Kusina Selera and decided to just leave and vow to NEVER COME BACK HERE! TERRIBLE SERVICE. We are hoteliers and restauranteurs that travel the world for Discovery Travel & Adventures. Goes without saying, both LEGASPI SUITES & KUSINA SELERA get a thumbs down plus a big BOO! from us. Get your act together folks, or just close down.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiesLikeUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews