We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Davao” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tropika Davao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great find in Davao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel Tropika is a clean, comfortable and affordable hotel in Davao. Very friendly and accommodating staff., For the price we paid, breakfast was okay. Massage service was also affordable at P400/hour whole body. They do airport transfers for a minimal fee.

We were here for a meeting and meeting room was okay. Food served was good, too. It's really value for money.

What a find!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmin1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    113
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
55
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

The room is spacious and clean. Hotel staffs are mostly helpful and quick to respond on guests' requests. The wifi signal at our room was so weak. Apparently, there are rooms that have strong signals and I was pleased that such room was given to us the following day. This hotel is quiet and peaceful.

Their friend durian ice cream is good. Yes, if in Davao, don't leave without having durian and the hotel's durian dessert is a surprisingly good way of enjoying the "king" of the fruits. Take note that if you're not into so much sweetness, you don't need to mix all the syrup that goes with it.

Again, this is a good place to stay while in Davao.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacific06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Hotel tropika can compete to other luxurious hotels here in davao. the location is just right, very convinient... room is clean and the place is so quite which makes you relax feeling like you were just in your own home. breakfast becomes even more perfect with their waiter and waitresses who wear their smiles and greet you so lovely when you enter their cafeteria.. they make adjustmensts with your personal request and grant you their full service from changing garlic rice to plain rice, ironing your clothes, getting taxi down to guiding you at the parking. i know this are just simple things a hotel expected to offer but i really wish to share it though because indeed my experience with this hotel is remarkably a thing should be shared of in order for other travellers be guided and might also consider staying on the same hotel. i felt contented with my experience with hotel tropika. i have been here for twice... and i highly recommend this hotel to all of you.. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I love & enjoy my stay in tropika! The staffs from the rEception, restaurant, the maintenance crew were all doing their job very well... They were very friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for cleanliness, peace of mind & serene stay- I highly suggest this place. You'll feel valued here!

Room Tip: All rooms available were deluxe but affordable! All rooms were treated equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I am not sure about the reveiws that this hotel gets, but from what we experienced its average at best. There is nothing exciting about the hotel. The staff are friendly as others have stated. The openness of the hotel lends a feeling of dustiness not cleanliness. Rooms are basic, but have free free wi-fi. Rooms are P2700 weekdays and P2200 weekends. This is a business hotel that is busy during the week.

For this price you can stay at many other hotels including the new Park Inn at Radissons that charges only P240 more on the weekdays and has a pool.

Overall it is not a bad place to stay, but bland wth better options in Davao.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My family stayed here in February 2013 for 12 consecutive nights. I really cannot fault this hotel in terms of service, quality of room, the bed, location, value for money, cleanliness and this hotel is highly recommended if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. I should say all the staff were very accommodating, they were always doing their best to help. I will definitely recommend this hotel and definitely we will be back to stay with you again. To all the staff of Hotel Tropika thank you very much for making our stay enjoyable. And to Yvonne, Jane and the rest of the front desk personnel I appreciate the way you treated Euan like your own family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuanTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Although your going to be a couple minutes away from malls and tourist spots.
I love the place and the vibe on this hotel.
Quite, away from the roads vehicle noise.
You can definitely see that they keep and maintain their rooms.
Accommodating and friendly staff.
Overall I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleocyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#16 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#24 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Property: Hotel Tropika Davao
Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing