We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit @ Lanang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
“My first visit @ Lanang”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It was a great experience visiting Lanang..I thought I was in Manila, but the main thing I like here is staying at Hotel Tropika...neat, clean, and the rates...nice!

I hope HT improves more on the health & wellness services (in house SPA & GYM improvement). See you next time!

TWO THUMBS UP!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    121
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
61
20
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I only stayed a couple of nights in this hotel in Davao. The excellent service provided from hotel pick-up until the ride back to the airport was superb. I am completely surprised that they have first class service in this cozy hotel.

The rooms are perfectly clean. Huge bed! Mine had a view of the lawn where the sun streams in in the morning. You can just draw the curtains if you want to sleep more :)

The food is good and cheap. Even the restaurant staff of Asena (their in-house restaurant) are courteous and they never miss a smile. I prefer taking my breakfast al fresco (while the rest of the hotel guests dine inside the air-conditioned restaurant) because I like the warm weather.

Their concern for the environment was also a plus for me: from water conservation, to laundering the sheets and towels, to having your drinking water refill by the lobby.

If I were to go back to Davao, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They have no elevators which I didn't mind at all since I am staying on the second floor. They h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mice_aliling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I love this hotel and unreservedly recommend it. By Davao standards it is EXCELLENT.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Large beds, large wardrobe. The cleaning staff are thorough.
The staff i general are friendly and helpful. Not your usual indifference you get from Filipinos. They all speak English which make things easy. The Front Deck girls are my favourites. Jean, Bel, Yvonne and Sheena. One of them is always available 24 hours for assistance.
Breakfast is fine...small portions but I suppose it is the Philippines.
Only a couple of issues.

There is no pool. They are building one but construction has not started.
Also the wifi is unrealiable. Cuts in and out in your room. It is good in the lobby however.
If every room had a modem it would be better.
And finally ...TV...needs to be large. You can't advertise 'flat screen tv' and then only provide a small 20inch thing. Would be nice to get more Channels too. But I am nit picking.

With a pool and really fast internet I give this place a 9 out of 10.For now I give an 8. Still pretty good. Especially for Davao.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for 12 nights with my family in this hotel and would definitely go back. Nice and quiet away from all the traffic noise with good sized room and comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff and breakfast included in the price. It is also quite near the shopping malls.The only thing the hotel lacks is a swimming pool and i was informed that there are plans to remedy this. Would recommend the Tropika to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 775James43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surigao City
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

i was intrigued by the praises this hotel received both online and in person. so when i visited davao 2 months ago i definitely booked in this hotel. i booked only 1 night since im planning to transfer the next day to the hotel im used checking-in when im in davao.

i was wrong! instead of 1 night, i lasted 3 nights in this hotel :-).

the hotel is not that easy to find since you have to drive few meters from the road (a plus points for me, it made the hotel location "within the city but not in the city"). once you are inside the hotel premises as if you are not in davao. when i checked-in the staff are very accommodating and pleasant, making sure everything is done before i go to my room. the room service is good thinking my room is located far from the lobby. my room is very spacious, everything is in their and i got a good view outside. my bed is very comfy giving me a good night sleep. i cant hear the buzz of the city outside! the breakfast served at the Cafe Asia is good. Cafe Asia is very recommendable.

the hotel is just a minutes away to SM Lanang and Abreeza/Ayala Mall. my stay in this hotel is definitely not the last time whenever i go to davao...indeed this is my hotel in davao.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed overnight with my family. The place is quiet and relaxing. Staff are polite and accommodating. Room is spacious, comfortable beds, with basic toiletries, bathroom is clean and has free drinking water. Walking distance to SM Lanang. Breakfast is included with limited choices. Great value for your money. All went well except for our breakfast, we have an early flight and arranged to serve our breakfast early, we waited for 30 minutes more before it was served.

Will recommend this place for those who wants to have a homey atmosphere, quiet place and attentive/polite staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laikz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Best band for the buck hotel in Davao, it includes a free pick up from the airport and is just minutes away by car to Abreeza Mall and SM Lanang.

Breakfast is also if very good also, the breakfast is plated during weekdays and there is a small buffet during weekends. Servings are generous for the plated breakfast during weekdays

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charliepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
892 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#11 of 52 in Davao City
262 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Property: Hotel Tropika Davao
Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing