We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean & simple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“clean & simple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a nice little hotel 15 mins away from the Airport, 5 mins away from SMX. It is very simple with no amenities at all though a swimming pool in under construction. I heard that this is 3 years old. Nestled in this area with lush greens, is a wonderful respite after a day long conference at the SMX. They provide free water that you can fetch at your convenience from the water dispenser in their hallway. Staff are polite and helpful, rooms are big enough for a simple stay. Wifi doesn't work well if you intend to use it, be patient and it may not work at all. I tried several times to no avail. Bathroom amenities of towels, soap, toothbrush kit and shampoo are provided. That's all. The really downside of this hotel is the noise. The rooms are not sound proof and you can hear your neighbours shutting their doors and turning on showers, pulling an tagging of furnitures early in the morning when the cleaners are probably cleaning the rooms. The is the most annoying part of my stay.

I tried their breakfast, serving is generous but taste is so so.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear youricat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your candid comments on our property and your stay.

Truly, we had been encountering difficulties with our internet connection as the recent spate of power outages to hit Davao City has created server problems for internet service provider. We expect this to stabilize soon.

Thank you also for calling our attention to the noise that has disturbed your otherwise restful stay. We shall immediately review our facilites and take steps to minimize these unwanted sounds from outside or next door.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience, and our gratitude for the feedback that will allow us to improve on our facilities and services so you may find a better Hotel Tropika on your return to Davao City.

Best regards,
Alexis A. Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    115
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
57
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had the chance to conduct our sales convention in Davao city and we chose Hotel Tropika Davao. From the airport we were picked up by the hotel staff and upon check-in, they were very courteous and accommodating. Let me run down some highlights of our stay:
1. Rooms and Venue - if not for the pool under construction, the place would have been perfect. The rooms were very clean and nice-smelling with lots of free bathroom kits. Towels were fresh and replaced every day. The gardens were nice and the function rooms superb for our event.
2. Food - there were a lot of options and we have great lunch sets. Unfortunately during the night of the event the soup had a burnt taste of something, the veggies were dry and the fried chicken serving was so small. But they made it up on the following day by serving excellent lunch with local noodles and viands.

Overall I would choose to stay again at Hotel Tropika if I do visit Davao again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

this was the placed where we held our wedding reception last march, the place is very homey,very private, staff are very accommodating and very friendly especially the catering services crew, the rooms are very clean and comfy the foods are excellent.. keep up the excellent job and thank you so much for making our event very special with personal touch!GOD bless!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Giddeon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Ms. Jane patiently answered all my pre-booking e-mail questions. They granted our request for free airport pick-up and drop off at the marina. The low weekend rate included free wifi, plated breakfast, and unlimited filtered water from their dispensers. Aseya cafe served good food. Room was very clean and spacious. Bathroom had guest kits, hot and cold shower with strong water pressure. I would stay here again. Request a room on the ground floor if you have a problem climbing stairs; there's no elevator.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Regi_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Only stayed here for 1 night en route to Samal island however my stay was really comfortable.
Staff were excellent with their service and we're very very helpful. Rooms and hotel were super clean and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TsarinaJacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

It is your basic hotel for those who want a place to crash for the night without too much dent on the wallet. Rooms are spacious enough. A large king-sized bed occupies most of the space. There is a small TV on the counter top but with limited channels. They are currently building a swimming pool.

You get free breakfast but one could say that this won't be the highlight of one's stay. For other meals, you'd want to try out the restaurants just a few minutes away by cab at the Damosa area or SM Lanang.

It is about a Php120 cab ride from the airport and about Php 60 to and from the nearest mall. They have shuttles that could bring you to the Pearl Farm Marina for free.

The staff/people are courteous and accommodating.

For those who smoke (which would be a problem in Davao), they have a smoking area dedicated for you outside the hotel beside the driveway.

Room Tip: If you have trouble going up and down stairs -- especially our senior citizens and persons with disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ifixbrokenbonestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSP
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great place to stay. Welcoming and courteous staff. 10 mins from airport (taxi was 110 P). Check in was easy. Food at restaurant was very tasty. Rooms are large and clean. Taxi to mall is 65P. They can arrange all types of trips for you. They are installing a new pool!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN_TravellerMsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Property: Hotel Tropika Davao
Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing