We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”
Review of Home Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Crest Hotel
Ranked #29 of 124 Davao City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The place is located outside of the city centre and in the midst of nowhere, if not for the mall right beside it. It is overpriced considering what you get. We stayed in this place for a few nights but was disappointed to be given a room that smelled of cigarette. There was no remorse from the staff when we pointed out this issue, considering the hotel's no smoking policy. They could have given alternative options or upgrade, which is commonly done in other hotels. The bed was lumpy and sound of the tv does not work well. The staff provided friendly although poor customer service, was slow and totally unempowered to serve the customers. Management could have done a better job in providing training or maybe the management itself can set a good example...as all even simple decisions have to be decided by management, who is often not available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nieuw_Yorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
12
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I recently stayed one night at Home Crest. I moved here from another hotel downtown, since I needed to be near the Ecoland bus station for my next-day travel to General Santos City. I booked the Junior Suite by phone, did not encounter any problems. I arrived at the hotel early. The place was fully booked that time, so they told me that I can only check in at 2 PM. They kept my luggage. Not really a bummer, since I can just literally cross the street to the SM City annex, which is just a minute's walk away. It's very convenient for those who need to get groceries or for last-minute shopping.

The Junior suite itself is a fairly large room, with a very comfortable king-size bed and lots of pillows - which I really appreciate. The room is clean, and is quiet, since it is away from the street.

I bathroom is smallish, but has a rainshower installed. My only gripe is that the shower cubicle is half-separated by glass, with no curtains, so the whole bathroom can get wet pretty quickly. They also did not provide any floor mats, which made it a soggy trip from bathroom to bedroom.
There's a large LCD TV with lots of channels, a well-stocked fridge and different glasses and mugs for cold and hot drinks. There's a water dispenser on the hall in every floor. Breakfast is included. It's the simple usual Pinoy breakfast fare. The waiters are friendly, but the coffee shop is quite small and can get filled up quickly.

Overall, the hotel staff are friendly, quick to attend to your questions and needs, and the property is clean. Being next to a mall is a big plus - although far from the airport. But if you need to travel around Mindanao by bus, this hotel is just 3 minutes away by cab.

Room Tip: Getting the suite is a worthy splurge. Get those away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It was a pleasant stay in this boutique hotel. All parts of the room are functional (Wi-Fi, Mini Ref, Phone, everything in the CR, Cable, comfy bed, air-con, etc). You get the same services as in a 3 star hotel. Location is very strategic. It's right in front of SM. Cost is very cheap. Worth coming back!

Room Tip: They have connecting rooms for families with 4 or more adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jheviray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

At first glance I was worried about the traffic outside and the locality to local businesses. After staying just one night and getting used to the massage parlor aroma below I came to the conclusion it was not such a bad place to stay. The SM mall extension entrance is just across the road which leads to a busy junction but is quiet enough out of hours and is very handy for nights out and shopping in one of the best malls in Davao. The included breakfast is very good with plenty of smiles and choice. I am staying less that a week but am pleased with my choice of budget city hotel.

Room Tip: If you want it quieter choose a room not facing the road (without balcony). Twin room are better val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights last month and enjoyed my stay. They were offering 50% room rates on their website so I got a great deal. Rooms are very nice and location is great just across the street from SM City. Staff was excellent in every way. I wanted to extend my stay but the 50% off deal was over so I moved next door to Ecoland Suites where the rooms are not as nice but 50% cheaper rates.

Its on a busy street and most of the suite rooms are in the front of the hotel so if you want a nice room get the junior suite located in the back...if you get a regular room ask for one in the back where it is quite.

Food at the restaurant is good Cheaper pinoy food is right next door on the bottom floor of ecoland suites or just head across the street to the mall

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautiful-looser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This review is a little bit late since we've been to Davao last November...We stayed at home crest for 3 days and its our first time in Davao..The Hotels location from Airport is a little bit far in my opinion but its much closer to Malls and Infact the Sm mall is just a stone throw away,just a few meters...and it's nice if you like to shop and eat out..the staffs are very welcoming,very helpful considering we bought a couple of boxes of Pomelo and its very heavy..hehe..the rooms are nice,clean and cozy since we stayed on a family suite and we have free breakfast for our room., we have free wifi access..The only thing we slightly didn't like about with the place is we can hear the noise from the hallway,the bathroom lock is broken and no floor rug in the bathroom of our room.
Home crest is a nice place to stay if your looking for pleasant stay and near a shopping center.. Well be back if we go to Davao in the future..

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty_paws29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Room was sizeable enough and clean. Drainage in the bathroom isn't that well installed so expect your bathwater to spill into the rest of the bathroom floor.

A bit expensive for the accommodation but the location was great (since my business meetings were all in SM). Hotel is right across SM Annex.

Room Tip: single rooms are only 1000.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stargazerManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.8 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
4.8 mi away
Big Apple Hotel
Big Apple Hotel
#35 of 52 in Davao City
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#31 of 52 in Davao City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
374 reviews
4.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Davao
1.9 mi away
Casa Leticia Boutique Hotel
Casa Leticia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 52 in Davao City
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Crest Hotel

Property: Home Crest Hotel
Address: Tulip Drive corner Walnut Avenue | Ecoland Phase 7, across SM City Davao, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Crest Hotel a best value hotel conveniently located right across SM City Davao. Though nestled in a friendly neighborhood amidst towering trees and gardens; great dining, entertainment and shopping destinations are just a short walk away. A van and bus terminal, ATMs, spa, 24-hour convenience store is in the vicinity. Public transportation is accessible, providing guests with easy commute to downtown and to any part in the city. At Home Crest Hotel, we are dedicated to offer quality amenities and personalized services in a global standard. We aim to delight our guest with the unique blend of comfort and convenience for an utmost satisfying experience. It is our goal to provide a remarkable hotel experience by creating a cozy and friendly atmosphere where guests can look forward to coming home every time they visit Davao City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Home Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Crest Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing