We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could use some renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Inn

Regency Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency Inn
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could use some renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have a mixed opinion about this hotel so I'll present the positive and negative points.

Let's start with the positives...

1. The hotel is located in the downtown area close to a shopping mall (Gaisano) but the street itself is not busy so noise is minimal.

2. For the price of 1,500 pesos (around 38 USD; promo rate by the way), you get a mid-sized room for 2 persons. Breakfast not included

3. The hotel is quite old but I like that they add some furnishings to update the room such as the rain tree shower and flat screen TV

4. Booking a room is easy, no need to give your credit card details or pay a reservation fee. Check-out process is quick too

Negatives

1. One of the pillows smell not to mention the shower curtain

2. Bathroom is quite small

3. Hallways and rooms do not have enough lighting

4. I couldn't find a single available electrical outlet to charge my mobile phone. I had to unplug the TV to free an outlet

5. The TV should come with instructions on how to operate it. It took me several minutes before I figured how to turn it on, and when I did, the reception was not clear. So much for entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask if the room you are booking has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WomanWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

This hotel is located approximately 1 block from the Giasano Mall on J.P.Laurel Ave.

I arrived at 5pm and had to wait 45 minutes for a room. The front desk staff were surly and uncommunicative. Then the electronic room key they have me did not work. When that issue was fixes, the (different) electronic key to turn on the electricity in the room did not work. In total, it took over two hours before I had my room.

The room itself was clean and everything worked. The walls were painted in a horrible shade of blue. Unfortunately there were very few electrical outlets. The bathroom was also clean and in good working order. Plenty of hot water available in the separate shower stall.

Internet service in my room was extra and was unreliable. Worked only about 40% of the time I stayed in the hotel. For some reason, the restaurant was closed during my stay.

My recommendation - look elsewhere for a hotel in Davao.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window - not an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Davao City hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Davao City. The location of the hotel is very accessible to every Davao City has to offer. You could take a Jeep to explore the City. Taxi services are very reliable. I could also say that taxi drivers in Davao is the best in the business as compared with the taxi drivers in NCR.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlpcruz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks last week for a business trip. The rooms were OK, staff was very accommodating, food is a bit expensive but definitely worth it.

Its location isn't hard to find and there are decent shops near it (laundry, resto, bars, malls)

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kyuzwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have been a guest of The Regency Inn for more than 10years already. This hotel is a very good place to stay because of its strategic location. It is located near one of Davao's business districts and business centers. Although I can not consider it my home but it is at least as homey as it can be for me for at least a week before i go back home.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QuietSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#24 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#36 of 52 in Davao City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crown Regency Residences Davao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#25 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#16 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: Villa Abrille St, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing