We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Zen Basic Spaces
Ranked #6 of 126 Davao City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2014

It's a new place and clean. It's three stories hotel with NO ELEVATORS!

Staff are NOT accommodating. They don't greet their guest nor smile. Of course, except from the guard who is polite and courteous. Their receptionist looks like she is not happy when guests are checking in. I hope the management will read the comments here so that they can do something.

I wouldn't care if the place doesn't have a lift as long as the staff are nice.

The cafeteria served lukewarm coffee so I have to ask the waiter to put it in the microwave.

Room Tip: room 212 is far from the street that makes it nice to sleep in
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for North Zen Basic Spaces
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

For the price, you can and should only expect basic services. We rented a standard room with a king sized bed (with breakfast) online. When we got there, we were given complimentary two bottles of water and a key to our room. Our room was on the second floor, there is no lift so we took the stairs to our room. The room is very small, inside we found 2 empty cabinets (no hangers, had to call front desk to ask for some), a king sized bed placed on top of two adjacent single-sized bed frames, a television set and a lamp. In the bathroom, we found 2 fresh towels, a roll of tissue paper and a small bar of soap. If you want a hairdryer, you can rent one for 50 pesos (a little over $1) from front desk. The bed is clean but not quite comfortable. In the morning, we went to their restaurant for the breakfast, we passed by the front desk to get our breakfast coupons and were told that the "free" breakfast is only good for 100.00 per head, but most of the items in the menu cost more than that so the customer has to shell out for the extra. In addition, if you have the bill charged to your room, you are charged an additional 20%. It is quite easy to commute from the hotel to other nearby places though because there are tricycles plying the area and there are some lined up at the corner of the street of the hotel, ready to take you anywhere for 15 pesos per head. However, there aren't much restaurants/stores nearby so it might be better to stay in a hotel located on the main streets of Davao. Wifi is free and available but often gets disconnected. Also, walls are quite thin, I can actually hear the front desk phone ringing while I'm in the bathroom!

I did not expect much from this hotel considering the price so I'm not that disappointed, but if given the chance to visit Davao again, I would rather stay elsewhere. I heard that there are other hotels that offer better rooms for the same price and better location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

What you see is what you get. Less than 5 minutes taxi ride from Gaisano Mall. This hotel is indeed very basic.

The front-desk staff are really not that friendly. Kudos to Kuya Guard though as he was very helpful. However, for the other staff of the hotel, I guess they need additional training when it comes to 'customer service'.

If you're on a tight budget but you want to have a comfy feel, then you may try North Zen. However, if you're a backpacker and a cowboy, might as well look for alternative accommodation.

The room is good but crowded. The bathroom is too small but the supply of water is great. It's quiet and far from the noise of the city.

Overall, it's a good stay, but I might look for another hotel if ever I'll get a chance to go back to Davao.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salingkatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

North Zen Basic Spaces, located in Davao City, is relatively near to many commercial establishments, schools, parks, and other offices in Davao City.

You won't have any problem moving around Davao, when your staying in North Zen.

Though it's amenities is limited, I really loved the cozy lobby space where you can hang around and browse your laptop or read your book.

The staff are quite friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: North Zen Basic Spaces does not have a swimming pool or fitness center. But you can inquire about th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonjonEstipona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We've stayed at North Zen a few times because of the great price for the room - $15 US for a single room on Agoda. It is located about 10 min walk from Gaisano Mall, and is also near Santa Ana Wharf. The rooms are basic - it is called Basic Spaces after all! - and are just large enough for a bed, wardrobe, TV, and bathroom. The standard rooms do not have enough space for kids. The wifi is lightning fast though, and unlimited. The staff are nice, but the front desk person never acknowledges guests as they enter the lobby, even though you must walk directly by her to reach the rooms. It would be great to be greeted. Maybe that is just a personal pet peeve though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had a good experience at North Zen. I was a bit skeptical because of the low price in the beginning but as it turned out, the staff were extremely friendly, the room was safe and clean and it suited my 5 days stay perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bidnessboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are on a budget it's a nice place to stay.Bed is comfy but then blanket is so thin.Room is small but then it's very clean same with the comfort room with hot and cold shower.Low signal of wifi.Great location very near to gaisano mall and walking distance from church, hospital and 24hrs mcdo.Reservation is very easy,friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.8 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 52 in Davao City
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#10 of 52 in Davao City
263 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#18 of 52 in Davao City
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#33 of 52 in Davao City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Zen Basic Spaces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Zen Basic Spaces

Address: Sobrecary Street, Corner Lapu-Lapu Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range: £13 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Zen Basic Spaces 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your North Zen Basic Spaces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Zen Basic Spaces Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing