We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sampaguita Tourist Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Davao City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jotel Inn(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apo View Hotel(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Inn Davao(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagobo House Hotel(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Hotel(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
1
3
9
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
9
8
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

this hotel ; the old sampaguita tourist inn is cheap 500 p with air con .. but the room is very small 7 x 11 feet .. no lift = 4th floor walk up . cold water shower . it is ok but not that clean .they do not change the bedding.no walking on a rainy day because there is food in the cafe .. prices for food are ok ..ham and egg sandwich is good for b-fast ..plus they have 3 n 1 coffee . Near(10 min walk) mac do , fast foods , chicken and jolly bee,etc: if weather is ok for walking . there seems to be no security as mack carrol jackson was shot in his room and no one know anything. WOW ! his room was only 20 meters from the front desk and guards station

Room Tip: try the new sampaguita ???
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miamimike95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I arrived in the Davao City for a review class together with my 2 friends and has no place to stay yet so we opted to check in in Sampaguita Inn. The room has a very poor maintenance. I wonder if they have changed the bedding from the last checked-out customers at all. The staff aren't accommodating nor approachable. There were full garbage cans and scattered trash along the hallway. Yes it is cheap and the location is really good. It is very accessible to the malls, transportation, hospital and park. If there's a need to increase the room rate to improve the service, I suggest they better do it. The inn could have been better, a lot better!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank poinsettia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This inn is budget-friendly, but there are other place to stay with the same range of price with much better service. The hotel staff is not that friendly and accommodating. The rooms are not so huge but its clean and silent though. But the hotel location is really nice very near to major locations and easy to ride a taxi or jeepney.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank h_Aziz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The inn's perfect location and cheap price is the best come-on of Sampaguita. I'm a budget traveller and these two are main reasons why I chose to stay here.

PROS:
-cheap
-located in the downtown area; close to everything
-easy commute to anywhere because of location

BUT, as the title says, if you can afford to pay an additional P200 or more for a more decent and secure lodging, do so and avoid this place.

Sampaguita Inn has no security parameters and the receptionists' attitude are very lousy. They are all wearing make-up maybe as a requirement by the management for them to look presentable but they badly needed to be trained in customer relations. Maybe it's because this inn caters to poorer [?] travellers that's why they don't look enthusiastic in dealing with clients. It always seem as if they have better things to do [such as talking to one another] than answer queries. Without exaggerating, The receptionists were really masungit. But the cleaners are very nice and accommodating. A simple smile would sometimes suffice.

As I've already mentioned, Sampaguita has no security measures. They only have the security guard at the entrance BUT for you to be able to get your key, all you need to do is to go to the counter, dictate your room number and voila, the room key is handed to you. No questions asked.

So if someone is out to steal some things, they can just very well do that.

This is a very serious issue because after a few days, I tried checking in here again. I already filled out the form and was given a room key [the room number is 219]. As I opened the door, here's what I saw/felt: A black trolley suitcase that was opened, a cold room because the A/C was turned on, a laptop with the power on lying on the bed. SO, IF YOU VALUE YOUR THINGS, DON'T CHECK IN HERE.

I went back down and told the lady that the room was already occupied. She checked her records then told me that there are no more rooms available indeed. I walked a few meters and there's the old Sampaguita Inn. Fortunately, they weren't fully booked and I was able to get a room from the nice clerk [the first receptionist I saw smile] and was able to rest peacefully. Not. Because there were a lot of cockroaches. :) I saw 3. At least the air-conditioner was working. :)

To the management: what happened to me was a very serious security lapse. If I were a bad person I would've taken 219's gadget.

Oh. The thing I liked best about this place is that they serve free water. Cold water.

Room Tip: They don't accept advance reservations [without payment, presumably] and as already mentioned, the place easily fills up.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank redhotchili09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

this hotel is recommended if you're travelling on a tight budget and just needed a place to sleep at night and put all your things before wondering around davao. there are different kinds of room depending on your needs, from single to family rooms or fan to aircon rooms.

the hotel's dining is open 24 hrs a day and they offers free wifi. what i don't like is the receptionists, they are all snobby and not easy to talk to. they also don't even smile or greet their guest. i don't even remember they greeted us. the guards are a lot better and easier to approach and you can ask them directions to places you're not familiar with. they are even more friendly than the receptionists!

also, they requires P500.00 deposit for the remote control which i think i a large amount but refundable upon check out just make sure you don't lose your deposit slip which is just a little piece of paper so, good luck in keeping that!

the place is walking distance to peoples park, one of gaisano mall and davao's doctors. there are also food stalls near the gaisano mall. it is also located along the highway so jeepneys and other transport is easy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tindichoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews