We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good. One of the few top hotels in Davao”
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Marco Polo (MP) has been a top hotel here for a couple decades. I stayed here two days and at the Seda two days, so I will compare the two. Both are 4 stars, meaning in general they are excellent with a few issues that keeps them from being amazing. The Seda is newer, but the Marco Polo is still very nice, well kept and more grand, just not as new. The rooms are generally equal: excellent. Beds are comfortable, AC is good and quiet. The Seda has amazing water pressure in showers (best) but thin walls where we heard neighbors, hammers, etc (worse). The Seda is right in front of a great, huge, new shopping center (best). The MP is in front of the key downtown souvenirs market (good!). The Seda has a pretty decent gym. The MP's gym is 4-5x bigger (best). Both had nice pools with the MP bigger with a much more spacious and luxurious pool area. The Seda's breakfast buffet was fantastic. So was MP's. The service and friendliness at both hotels is impeccable. The internet is just ok at the Seda. It's reeeaallllly slow at MP and if you pay $10 it gets a little faster. I heard drinks are expensive at MP. Overall, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Accelerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most affordable Marco Polo brands. The room was spacious and amenities are good. The pool and gym were sufficient. It's also strategically located at the center of te city so moving around is not a problem. The breakfast buffet was not extraordinary but is already a good bargain.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VincentRapisura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

You get what you pay for. Stayed in the Club Suite for a Business Trip, the room was big and spacious. They even have a desktop computer you can use if ever you forgot to bring your laptop. Although wifi is not free and you have to rent to get access. If you are staying in a Suite, you get access to the 23rd floor lounge. Had breakfast here and it's really private because there were very few people having breakfast. The selection was also good. I just don't know how this compares to the regular breakfast buffet that they have.

Only problem we had with them was that days before our stay we already informed the hotel that we will be checking in early and to make our rooms available. They confirmed that they can do that but when we arrived, rooms were not ready yet and they needed a minimum of 2 hours to fix it.

Also, the hot shower wasn't working well. It shifts from really hot to really cold and their water supply really needs to be fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent a couple of days meeting up with freinds in Davao, and very happy with the choice of the MP, even though there is some renervation under way the staff are very good and nothing is too much troible, the food of a good quality and the pool seals the deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeEss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed there with family for three nights. Enjoyed the rooms, comfy beds but the hot shower wasn't working well. Their pool is okay. Breakfast buffet has a good selection but no dimsum :-) We experienced brownouts during our stay and there was a time that there was no elevator service so my husband had to go down ten flights of stairs to get out of the hotel but had a difficult time finding his way because the staff he encountered couldn't guide him to the exit! The staff were a bit busy during check in because the hotel was fully booked as we were attending a convention in town. They should have been more prepared. Some of the guests were waiting for hours to have their rooms ready. I was lucky to have our room ready when we arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Simply marvelous! This is place is definitely worth your money! The pool is jaw-dropping especially at night, the food is superb, the staff is very attentive and friendly and warm, the rooms are luxurious, comfortable, very clean and well-kept. The rooms as well as the lobby, restaurant, and other parts of the hotel are richly and tastefully furnished and the guests that visit are note-worthy. I have ZERO complaints about this place, and, if you've read my other reviews, you will know that I'm one tough crowd to please. To have me at a loss for words and complaints means that this hotel is simply divine. Simply marvelous! Book now!

Room Tip: Any room will do- it's that good! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vallauris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been here for the 3rd time and I always have the best experience in terms of service and comfort. The rate is high, of course. But you get the value for your money. I just hope that the wifi will be included among the free amenities or services of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
974 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 53 in Davao City
592 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 53 in Davao City
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
#11 of 53 in Davao City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing