We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Davao”
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I constantly visit Davao at least once a year since 2000, always on business trip and I have stayed in different hotels in Davao but the last 5 years I have constantly booked at Marco Polo, they have great rooms, a large pool and quality SPA, the food choice is wide with two different Restaurants, a buffet one which serves breakfast in the morning and a Chinese one with "a la carte" menu, food is not great as anywhere in the Philippines but of good quality anyway especially fish, rates are very affordable ones though the hotel can't be truly considered a 5* but rather a 4*

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marco Polo Davao supposedly for mu husband's business trip but made it a family holiday. Arrived at the airport at 6:30 in Davao where there was a help desk of Marco Polo hotel to arrange for shuttle service our driver was very friendly and helpful informing us of tourist spots to visit as this was our first trip to Davao. Upon arrival at the hotel front desk check-in was quick and painless. Our room was at 5k plus per night well worth it as it accommodated 2adults and 4 kids. the extra bed was put in our room we didn't have to wait that long. Room service was prompt. Room was very comfy room temp was able to cope with the heat from outside.
Marco Polo is also conveniently located to malls and gift shops.
Breakfast would fill you up to lunchtime there is a wide selection.
If i had to visit Davao again i definately know where to stay the Marco Polo highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Cezarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

worth the price!!! we loved everything, the room, comfort of the bed, size of bathroom, and also the pool. not to mention that beside it were rows of souvenir shops and 24hr convenience store and Major Bank. oh, are room faces Ateneo de Davao University....we look forward staying here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docichu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for an overnight in one of their pool facing room. The view was fantastic specially at night. Room was clean, nice, cozy and the bed/pillows were comfy. I took several shots of their lighted pool as it was such an eye candy! Breakfast buffet is the best (their bacon is a must taste) and I hate myself for being so full after the first round/plate :(. I'm happy that we've stayed one whole day here just to experience Marco Polo Davao! :D

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChE_26031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Last March, on a business trip to Davao city, I stayed at Marxo Polo Davao. I was not disappointed. The lobby is not as huge as the one in Cebu, but is nevertheless inviting. I stayed on the Continental Floor. The rooms are stylish and comfortable. Smells good too. The bathroom is very functional with it's usual toiletries complete. The special lounge served great food and drinks with ample quiet and privacy. Did I say this facility is high up in the hotel adds interest with a view of the city. Overall, I like staying in Marco Polo. It always delivers what it promises.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanieGeronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are multiple hotel in Davao at a lower cost that have better service, amenities, and food. I was disappointed with the treadmill heavy gym as well as my repeated requests for a newspaper without receipt of one. While the rooms are spacious and the beds above average, the air conditioner could not keep up during the daytime hours, leaving the room humid with a smell of mildew. The breakfast probably disappointed the most. On one hand, whoever runs their buffet does a pretty good job for the dinner, but lacks the ability manage a breakfast with quality food. The breakfast tricked me at first with all of the décor and multiple dishes, but once you get into the food you realize the problems. The hard boiled eggs were burnt and I was unable to peel them in under 5 minutes, the scrambled eggs had a large pool of oil in the center, and everyone constantly waited around for the meat dishes to get filled - a pretty unhappy and unsociable environment for a 20 US dollar breakfast. Not a good way to treat your guest first thing in the morning.

Security is the only top notch aspect of this hotel, but meanwhile the hotel suffers from its location. Perhaps once there were more stores and activities around the hotel; however, now other hotels have been built alongside new shopping malls and local hotspots. I will definitely steer clear of this hotel in the future in favor of other hotels in and around Davao.

Room Tip: Ensure you check and make sure the room doesn't smell like mold first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asiatravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We were given the best upgrade of all - the presidential suite. The bi-level room is located at the very top floor of the hotel, which means the highest room of all of Davao City hotels. I can't find any fault in the suite. The place is studded with opulence - from the Bose audio system, Nespresso machine, the linens, chandeliers, EVERYTHING! I was actually blown away with the toiletries as they also supply the same stuff to HRH Prince of Wales, HRM Queen of England and the like.
The view from the room is just stunning. It made our stay truly exceptional.
The breakfast buffet is still the best we had in Davao. It showcases both local and international cuisine.
My only comment is the dinner buffet at Marco Polo. The entrees are good but they somewhat need a little upgrading especially with increasing competitions around the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.2 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 53 in Davao City
634 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
1,005 reviews
2 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#12 of 53 in Davao City
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing