We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good deal for backpackers.”

GV Hotel Davao City
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GV Hotel Davao City
Ranked #86 of 124 Davao City B&B and Inns
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good deal for backpackers.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

For 590php/night (promo rate/non-peak season) it's really a budget-friendly deal for two backpackers on a tight budget. :) Average a/c room, two single beds, cold shower, and a cable tv, not bad as we just wanted somewhere we can rest and sleep. The staff are willing to assist you anytime and the security guard would call a taxi if you need one. The location is good too, if not, ideal. it's roughly 5 mins walk to Bangkerohan Market, Davao City Hall, Museo Dabawenyo and San Pedro Cathedral. If you are planning to go to Samal Island and Talicud through Sasa Wharf or Sta. Ana Wharf, you can ride a multi-cab passing in front of the hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGV_1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iligan, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I regretted that I have booked here. I know I can find a better place to stay with such price. The room has no extra outlets, so if you want to charge your cell phone, you either unplug the TV or the aircon! Not even 1 extra outlet! The location is good though, because there a lot of restaurant and a Gaisano Mall in a walking distance only.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can find a place with the same value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I did a walk-in at GV Hotel and booked the Economy Twin. I wasn't looking for the height of luxury; just somewhere to rest my head and use as a base for a business trip.

The room was clean and tidy, with two single beds. Electricity is activated by the door card, so you can't accidentally leave lights on or the air-con running when you go out.

The only power points were for the TV and the Air-con, however Front Office lent me an extension lead for the duration of my stay, and were incredibly helpful throughout; with information about transport routes, times etc and local shops for purchases.

Breakfast is at additional cost but is very filling and freshly cooked.

All in all, if you are looking for a base whilst you are in Davao, and not wanting to spend big bucks GV is worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cagayan de oro city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hotel was just a few minutes away from Ecoland bus terminal and very accessible to taxis and jeepneys.

Room rate was at Php1,100/night with 3 single beds which is very cheap for an airconditioned room and very affordable for those with tight pockets. Amenities include cable tv, hot and cold shower, towels, bath soap, and tissue paper.

Wifi available.

Only thing that bothered me is they only have limited outlets. No extra outlet inside the room for you to use to charge your cellphones. One outlet was for the tv, the other for the aircondition. So we had to turn off the tv for us to use the outlet or go to the dining hall to use the single outlet available as well. Such a hassle. And they didn't have extension wires that we could use.

Overall, when you're looking for a budget hotel, GV hotel is not a bad option. Especially when you only plan to sleep there and explore Davao the whole day. But yeah...bring an extension wire with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pritsininni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Their Customer Service was great! They are very hospitable and friendly. They have the initiative to help guests in their needs. The bed is nice you can sleep soundly. However they need to make sure that the room is clean. They lack maintenance of clean surroundings. The curtains and the walls,. They need to dust their air condition and Windows to be shut properly. Air conditioning of the room is good.Their rates i guess are just right.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bacolod city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Place is good enough if you just want a room to sleep and just to leave your things... they should improve their rooms and the the place. Location is okay since it's in a busy street, near the plaza, and the market . Accessibility is okay. Lots of taxis and jeepneys are plying the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetty t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

GV Hotels really met my demands when it comes to affordability and comfort. During my barkada's vacation in Davao, we barely stayed in the hotel, what we needed was a comfy place to sleep in and to keep our things. For about 700Php we were able to relax in an air-conditioned room with nice shower and friendly staff. I spent my money where it should be. For traveling and nothing fancy. I really liked the simplicity of GV Hotels. Making traveling possible for tight-budgeted students like me. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilymaleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#37 of 52 in Davao City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jade Dragon's Suites
Jade Dragon's Suites
#40 of 124 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Pacific Inn Davao
First Pacific Inn Davao
#36 of 124 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Daylight Inn
#60 of 124 in Davao City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Zen Basic Spaces
North Zen Basic Spaces
#4 of 124 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GV Hotel Davao City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GV Hotel Davao City

Property: GV Hotel Davao City
Address: Corner Legaspi and Magallanes Streets | Brgy 2A, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — GV Hotel Davao City 1*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GV Hotel Davao City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GV Hotel Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing