We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Alu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alu Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Booked for a twin deluxe room for a 3 days 2 nights stay. Well at first, i was kind of hesitant because of the inexpensive rate. I was actually quite surprised when i entered the room. I didnt know it would be that comfortable. The beds are the premium types. The room has a split type air condition that really serves its purpose and the best thing about it is that it's quiet. The room has a flat-screen tv with good reception of the channels (although they only have a few channels to choose from). Shower is good. The pressure of the water is strong and it turns hot easily. The room has an adequate size wardrobe and a portable luggage space where you can keep your belongings. It has a desk with a chair, mirror, telephone and the basic toiletries - towels, shampoo, soap, tissue paper. Most importantly, they serve complimentary breakfasts.
One drawback though was that when we left our food one night, it was already full of ants. Well, that's just a minor issue.
Overall, we were able to sleep comfortably. Traveling within the area is not a problem as it's nearby to a lot of spots specifically malls and the famous pasalubong center. i was allowed to check in earlier than the standard time. they have an elevator so bringing in heavy luggage is really not a problem. Front desk staff could be more friendlier, in my opinion.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank backpackingcouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluhoteldavao, General Manager at Alu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Backpackingcouples

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for sharing how you enjoyed your stay during your recent trip to Davao City, Philippines. From our comfortable room and beds, to our complimentary breakfast each morning, we strive to provide everything our guests need to have an exceptional stay.

On the other side, our apologies of the ants that make your stay disgusting, we have already put some notice inside the guestrooms that food should be consumed at the guest lounge area at the 6th floor, again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when travels return you to Davao City, Philippines

Sincerely

Randy Ibot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is centrally located in Downtown Davao. Just right if you are looking for a place to stay to: comfortable bed, hot water, clean towels and linens, and silent aircon. The staff are very accommodating and attentive to your requests. They allowed late check out. :)

I booked 2 Family Rooms for 2 Nights via TravelBook.ph and it was hassle free.

Room Tip: Make sure to order your breakfast a day in advance since the food is outsourced from the cafe. Fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluhoteldavao, General Manager at Alu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Ms. Mau G.

Thank you for the wonderful compliments and for choosing to spend your holidays with us. We’re very excited to hear that you found the staff to be “exemplary and they are enjoying hearing your kind words. It was truly our pleasure to host you and your family, we hope to see you and family again soon- thank you again.

Note: Breakfast is now prepared at the Hotel’s Kitchen and serve at the 6th floor hotel lounge.


Thank you again!

Randy Ibot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Since we were mostly outside exploring Davao this hotel was a good deal for us since we just needed a place to sleep. Inexpensive and located near good, cheap restaurants. (Lyndon's, Zab's and Glamour Crabs Buffet) It also near Aldevinco Shopping center. Restaurants and shopping center mentioned are within 5-8 minutes walking distance.

Rooms are spacious, have WiFi and cable TV. Their A/C was quiet and cool. Pillows and sheets don't smell and seem really clean. The only downside to our room was that noise from cars passing and people walking or talking along the hallway can be heard. Soundproofing was severely lacking. Also, breakfast took forever to be served in our room. This caused us to be behind a few minutes with our daily schedule. Our friends' breakfast came on time because they ordered the night before and followed up often.

Staff are very courteous and respond quickly to requests.

Room Tip: Rooms at the 5th floor get their breakfast on time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluhoteldavao, General Manager at Alu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Greetings from peaceful City of Davao

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your stay with us was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meet your expectations. Thanks again for your praise to our hotel staff courtesy.

Undeniably, it is our greatest desire to keep the sheets smells good and clean for our hotel guests, hence the wonderful feedback you have shared with us will be of great interest for our esteemed guests.

We are very sorry noise that was cause by cars passing through the highways and other source of noise that you overheard from your room, rest assured that we do our best to address the problems and also we apologies for delay in serving your breakfast, I have already correct the problems and hopefully on your next stay to ALU Hotel Davao, everything will be okay.

I certainly hope that ALU Hotel Davao have provided you to some good memories that you can hold dearly to and I thank you for your support of ALU Hotel Davao.

Warm regards

Randy Ibot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked their P950.00 room thru Booking.com. It comes with free breakfast and it was delivered to my room. Room is big and clean but it somewhat looks old because of the paint color (wooden theme). I requested Booking.com for a double bed instead of twin beds but the hotel still assigned me in a room with twin beds. 1 bed is even bigger for me. I think the room can accommodate 4 persons. Bed is really nice. Pillows are soft. They provided me an extra 2 pillows, free of charge. Bathroom is clean but the space between the wall and the shower curtain is just about 4 feet. You have to fit yourself in between when taking a shower or better not use the curtain and let the entire bathroom to get wet for you to have a bigger space.

Check-out is 12 noon. I checked out and left my luggage with them. When I came back at 2pm, since my time going to airport was still at 5pm, they allowed me to still use my room. I stayed there up to 5pm, still free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prex5098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluhoteldavao, General Manager at Alu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Prex5098

Madayaw!

Thank you for the wonderful comments!!

I cannot start to thank you enough for the glowing review you have just written.

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at ALU Hotel Davao and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.

All your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to ALU Hotel Davao in the near future.

Sincerely

Randy Ibot
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Davao City is one of the most peaceful cities in the Philippines. This is partly due to Mayor Duterte's iron-fist and no-nonsense policy against criminality to promote peace & order.

So despite the recent "blast" in Cagayan de Oro and US advisory against travel to Mindanao, we attended a meeting conference in this city.

We were able to book a Standard twin bed accommodation at ALU Hotel Davao with the assistance of reviews in TripAdvisor located at Faura Street corner Roxas Ave. in the Central district. This is a newly constructed building in 2008 with the the hotel occupying the fourth and fifth floors.

Metered taxi from the airport cost approximately P170 or US$4. We were assigned a room with street view, relatively large 4x6m with cable TV, Wi-Fi, hot and cold running water and quite air-con. We found the staff helpful and very accommodating. Our room came with breakfast. However they have outsourced this service so you will have to go to an adjacent site. You work out this concern by asking for room service delivery.

For church goers, there is a church two blocks away, the Our Lady of Fatima Parish Church with daily services at 5:15 PM and almost hourly services on Sunday's. The hotel is located at the corner of two streets so getting a public transportation or taxi is not a problem. We were also able to arrange a late check-out (3:00 PM) despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked.

In general ALU Hotel Davao lives up to its vision as giving its clients "value for their money." I would certainly recommend this hotel for travelers who want affordable, centrally located, hotel with good services.

Room Tip: For those who are "light sleepers" we suggest that you take a room in the inner area of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RolandoB219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluhoteldavao, Manager at Alu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Mr. RolandB219

Madayaw!

Thank you for taking the time and initiative to provide us with an account of your stay at ALU Hotel Davao. And we are delighted we had the chance to know on your recommendations.

Whist I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the stay with us,

Undeniably, it is our greatest desire to keep and live to our vision, hence the feedback and suggestions which you have provided, brought information to other guests.

I certainly hope that ALU Hotel Davao have contributed to some good memories that you can hold dearly to and I thank you for your support of ALU Hotel Davao.

Best Regards

Randy Ibot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 16 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.7 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#9 of 53 in Davao City
278 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#34 of 53 in Davao City
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
#15 of 53 in Davao City
87 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#19 of 53 in Davao City
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alu Hotel

Address: M.Roxas Avenue | and Padre Faura Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALU Hotel is your urban comfort within your reach, centrally located at the heart of downtown Davao, with its residential chic appeal, the hotel provides a cozy yet comfortable backdrop for both business and leisure in the metropolis. Facilities include Standard, Deluxe, Suite and Family rooms, Le Café an all day-dining restaurant, business center, Meeting venues for discerning business and leisure travelers. Alu Hotel Davao offers premium service to give guests a unique experience. Its intimate setting is ideal for Alu Hotel Davao's brand of truly business hotel offers a personalized service. All details are double-checked to assure guests that they get more than what they expect from a regular hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Zenrooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alu Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing