We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Checked in overnight for some much needed R&R. Went swimming in the pool in the afternoon and was disgusted to see molds building up in between the tiles. Really filthy and unsanitary that we immediately got out and never went swimming again after that.
We got the standard room for 2, with twin bed. The paints on the center table were peeling off. The beds though were comfortable and gave us both a nice sleep, but my boyfriend complained about the noise from the upstairs unit.
The bathrooms needed immediate renovation. The towel rack was falling off, molds building up on the corners and on the lavatory.
The breakfast buffet was okey, but was upset when my omelette had eaggshells in them. Immediately complained to the chef, amd she was very apologetic.
I hope the management will immediately do something about this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherll C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    426
    216
    84
    38
See reviews for
295
203
43
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a month. All the staff were so nice and we received excellent service on our entire stay. The buffet breakfast is awesome, great selections! The rooms just need updating in all furnitures and fixtures and bathrooms. We'll definitely stay again in this hotel on our next holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As always..Good service. Every time i traveled to the Philippines I need a peaceful surroundings or place to sleep after a long trip.I always choose this hotel because it is perfect for me..Its a bit expensive but what can i ask for,they have swimming pool,wide/clean/green garden and when you wake up in the morning the ultimate good breakfast and smiling worker is welcoming you very happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and colleagues had a 4-day visit in Davao last year and they chose this hotel because it is one of the prime hotels in Davao. The place is very nice and breathtaking because of the view of the sea and the garden. However, my 1st night was quite not appealing to me because our TV was not responding to our remote control. So, I called the reception to fix it and the staff said they will send someone to fix it, but no one came up. I called the reception TWICE, yet no one came up. On the 2nd night, same thing happened. I ended up watching tv on my friends' room on my entire stay in the hotel.

On our last day, when I and my friend paid our bill at the reception area we asked for a receipt. The lady staff told us they will not issue receipt for no concrete reason at all. She just called her supervisor to inform our concern that we need our receipt, yet an answer from the supervisor via phone just simply told her (the staff) they don't issue receipt.

I think the management must always bear in mind that 'CUSTOMERS ARE ALWAYS RIGHT.' The salaries and the income of the hotel depend on the number of visiting customers and the their satisfaction. On the other hand, the hotel is very expensive, so we expect an excellent service and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjariol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a late review considering we went in Aug 2013, but here it goes. 15 years ago the Insular hotel was the hotel that most people went to; now it seems that tourists try to stay downtown instead (just a guess considering how QUIET it was in the hotel - especially during the Kadayawan festival).
Staff were very friendly and hospitable.
Room was spacious and clean. And room service was prompt when we called for help with the TV. They charge for the water bottles, but they do offer smaller free complimentary water bottles. Air conditioning worked great and WIFI was pretty good considering how some of my internet connection in the Philippines was slow.
The grounds, which are right off the water front, are well maintained and quite large so it would take a while to see the whole thing; there was a wedding going on while we were there, so people do acknowledge it's unique beauty! Considering how hot it is in the Philippines, having the hotel right by the ocean kept the place nice and cool with a breeze. Unfortunately the water is polluted so visitors cannot go swimming right off the waterfront.

We had breakfast here(it was included in our hotel booking) and it was quite scrumptious! It was a continental buffet with a few typical filipino breakfast dishes.

The pool is large and deep, with a hot tub on the side. There is also a bar for those who want to grab some food or drinks. For those who like to lounge next to the pool, there are padded beach chairs that are very comfortable. They've also added some fans for those who get a bit "too" hot from laying under the sun too long.

All in all, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: It may cost a little bit more, but try to get a view facing the pool: it also faces the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbong92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I can't say nothing negative about this place. Stayed in deluxe room with balcony. Plenty of room, and very nice. They have beautifully maintained landscaping. The free buffet breakfast was great.
Although they have a beach front, not much used for swimming. The pool was always clean, and well maintained. With well secured grounds. Nothing comes in to the complex without a thorough search. I give it a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowledgeseeker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was told that back in the 70s, the Waterfront Insular Hotel in Davao was the premiere hotel of the city with its sprawling gardens, its fantastic view of the Davao Gulf and its ultra modern accommodations.

Four decades later, it seems nothing has changed. The gardens are still there, although at night you'll hardly notice it because the hotel barely provides lights for common areas (cost-cutting, I suppose). The hallways to the rooms are dimly lit that hotel security and staff guide you to the rooms with flash lights. There are no elevators in this hotel, so if you're a guest with a wheelchair or a baby stroller, be prepared to take the stairs or to holler for assistance every time you leave the room. In the summer, the lobby and hallways of Waterfront Insular can feel like a sauna. I mean, you really appreciate the airconditioning provided by newer hotels when you are greeted by the ceiling fans (that hardly provide any relief and cause frizzy hair) at the Waterfront Insular. The toilet in the room needs to be replaced (there are stains!), the bathroom tiles also need to be changed (were they ever replaced?), and I fear the rattan/wooden furniture in the room have termites (they squeak and look worn down). The complimentary breakfast buffet was barely average (bacon, sausages, ground beef, pancakes, sweet bread, and a fruit bowl). If you're vegetarian or vegan, I don't know if you'll even bother get up for the free breakfast.

Are you a smoker? There are only 2 smoking areas in the hotel and both are located near the function rooms. In both smoking areas, the smokers need to walk to the middle of the garden (watch your shoes or slippers get muddy!) to a small open area. When it rains, you and your cigarette will get wet. There is no chair, no lighting, and no roof. I recognize that it is a city regulation to ban smoking in Davao's public areas and hotels, but if you're going to provide designated smoking areas: (1) make sure there is proper lighting in the path leading to the smoking area; (2) if guests are asked to walk far to get to the smoking area, make sure the path is paved because the muddy grass is not only an inconvenience but also a hazard; (3) if you want to scrimp on roofing, provide an umbrella.

There are some good points. The bed was comfortable (not too firm, not too soft, not too bouncy, just right), and pillows were clean and fluffy. Room airconditioning is centralized and was at a comfortable 70F (you need it that cool after walking from the lobby to your room without any airconditioning). At around 3:00 am there was a power interruption (unannounced), and there was genset power in less than 3 minutes. Note though that there is no uninterrupted power supply, so for 3 minutes it was so dark in the room before the genset kicked in. The hotel is a 20-minute drive from the airport, and is also about 20 minutes away (PH 105 cab fare) to Ayala Abreeza mall. Finally, the staff was friendly and helpful.

I don't think I will return to the Waterfront Insular Hotel on my next visit to Davao, unless it gets a major renovation. For the same rate, I imagine being more comfortable at Seda.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
3.6 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,098 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
532 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
349 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao

Property: Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Address: J.P.Laurel Ave, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Insular Resort Davao
Davao Waterfront Insular Hotel
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing