We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Hotel in Cebu City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cebu Northwinds Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My wife's family are from Leyte and whenever we travel to see them, we stop over a few nights in Cebu city at both ends of our trip. We have tried several hotels in Cebu City over the years and frankly none offer the value that Northwinds does.

Ok, it's not plush and has no real "wow" factor, and if you quadruple your budget you can find a hotel that does. Its a bit old and dated inside but so what? It's clean and comfy, great value and great location!

Firstly, the rates. It varies, but we have never paid more than P1500 (exc breakfast) for a standard room (all aircon) and this can be reserved via email, website or phone.

Standard rooms are the ones to go for (deluxe adds a bathtub, exec adds an additional single bed etc and a larger room) but all are of the same finish. The rooms are big enough, aircon always works (and quiet) the bed is good (and with clean linen) and we have always had hot water. TV reception is ok and the ref in the room is always well stocked. Free safety deposit boxes in reception too if there's not one in your room. My only gripe is that there is never a plug in the sink in the bathroom - we just bring one with us now!

From the cleaning ladies, front desk staff to Denis the security guard, all the staff are always really friendly, helpful and polite. And they are there 24/7 if you need them.

The restaurant is really a cafe serving tasty (if a bit basic) fare, but does excellent brewed coffee. There is wifi in the hotel, but not in all rooms. Best to log on in the cafe or reception.

Location of Northwinds is really good. 20mins in a taxi from the airport (just ask the driver for Waterfront Hotel and its 100m further up on the left opposite the Chikka Ann restaurant), or 5 mins in a taxi from the Port. Taxis are plentiful right outside the door 24/7. SM Mall is literally just down the road and Ayala Mall is 10mins in a taxi. There is a great Filipino restaurant next door (the Golden Cowrie) and a 24hr convenience store and ATM just 2 minutes walk. The new IT park is a few minutes walk with a good McDonalds (free wifi) plus several nice restaurants including the Mooon Cafe, which serves great Mexican.

We love this place, for us it's the best place to stay in Cebu City, and a bargain at under £20 a night!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tet-and-Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

The place was perfect, very accessible to taxi all the time. Ayala Mall is very near. I had so much fun walking around I.T park just walking distance from the Hotel itself. Tha rate very affordable. The people were very accommdating and very friendly. I really ahd a good time. I love the place its very close to all the things i wanted to go.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We had our wedding reception and stopped a couple of nights here. Generally I found the staff service was good and efficient. The room was clean and well laid out. The building itself like most typical city hotels was bland on exterior with basic windows. Internally it was a typical hotel. Nothing really to write home about negative or positive. If you looking for somewhere reasonable to stop in Cebu near to the city life then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tr0picalpenpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Initially we are opting for a 3 star-5star hotel but then we were on a budget, we had Cebu Northwinds Hotel's Ambassador Suite for two nights. The prices is really afofrdable considering they also have a discounted price. Location wise, it is near IT park and one ride away to Ayala Malls, food/spa/internet shops is around the corner.

The interiors is not like a hotel-type but more of a motel type turned into a hotel. Its not so bad after all you are paying an amount of price that is reasonable enough for an air conditioned place in a location near everything-you-need.

The people are okay. One of the receptionist is the one I really do not like at all and when we checked out she charged us for the 2 extra beds that we used. From the start of our trip, upon checking in, she told us, extra person in on room is already free. Now we realized that extra person and extra bed is two different thing.

If you just needed a place to sleep in, then you can stay here. But if youd rather have the best treatment, then this is not a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadeandthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I stayed here for just 2 nights and cant complain about the place.The staff were very pleasant and a good little cafe on the ground floor.Rates are very reasonable and the room that I stayed in was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukeyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

excellent chicken diner across road from it..nothing good to say about hotel as i was robbed there on last day of stay..rooms were cheap and tawdry but as i wasn,t paying so i couldn,t complain...only needed the bed which i found to be hard. japanese tourists picking up young girls to bring back with them......that type of hotel

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stew50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Stayed in the so called "Presidential Suite". They should be ashamed to let anyone stay there let alone a president. The bed actually had a odor coming from it. I had to look under the bed to be sure there wasn't a corpse under it! The lights would not work. The windows did not lock and would blow open everytime the wind blew. The air conditioner gave out after 3 hours and we were stuck with a floor fan. The food was over priced, cold and not very tasty. Towels were thin and old. Be sure to shake them out first, this is where the roaches spend their nights! had to get up either early or wait till late at night to get a hot shower. Any other time and it feels like luke warm spit. The roaches like to hang out on the shower curtains too. Keep and eye on your receipts too. They tend to forget to mark your charges as paid when you pay in cash. There is wireless internet, however it is not in the rooms and it is not consistent. When there is a problem, the staff has no idea how to repair it. They tell you to just wait 10 minutes. After 1 hour I finally reset the modem myself. The place needs a major overhaul. It is ready for good furniture, better beds, electronics that work and a staff that cares. The noise won't go away, but double pane windows would make a hell of a difference. Don't waste your money here unless you are one step away from being homeless.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Mooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Garden Hotel
Crowne Garden Hotel
#68 of 92 in Cebu City
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Park Hotel
Metro Park Hotel
#78 of 92 in Cebu City
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsai Hotel & Residences
Tsai Hotel & Residences
#28 of 92 in Cebu City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#43 of 92 in Cebu City
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
#34 of 92 in Cebu City
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu Northwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu Northwinds Hotel

Address: Salinas Drive | Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £17 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cebu Northwinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cebu Northwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu City Northwinds Hotel
Cebu Northwinds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing