We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, but staff a bit inflexible”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayflower Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayflower Pension
Ranked #17 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place, but staff a bit inflexible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Plus: permaculture & green-friendly, good value, room is OK , good location (near everything by jeepney or taxi without being located in noisy center), basic local food, friendly staff.
Minus: Light through curtains during night, humid room, smily staff but not helpful at all and money-oriented (we stayed here more than 8 days but did not get the weekly rate because we asked to get it too late, after 3 days of staying!...)
Good place anyway

Room Tip: Ask for one room with double bed+single bed (at same price than 2 persons), bed is better and room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank systembenlaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    28
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
23
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had booked the accommodation as it was recommended in the Lonely Planet for the Philippines. To start with, the rooms are very small and not at all clean. The curtain is so thin that it does not block out any light - I had to use the two bath towels and my clothing to block the light. The bathroom stunk of cat urine, mold on the bathroom tiles. The aircon unit was extremely loud and there was a massive gap from where they installed the unit so outsiders could actually look into your room. I would not recommend this place at all, pay an extra $10 and stay at Quest op. the mall in Cebu.The location of the accommodation is in the dodgy are of Cebu and we (two Australian girls) felt incredibly unsafe and could not wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelW156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cainta, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Cebu has a very rich culture. Mayflower Inn embraced this. Location is very near to Fuente Circle. If you like to try lechon, its near Zubuchon. Front desk receptionists were very nice, can speak English/ Tagalog. I saw a mini library which I enjoyed.There is an elevator. Room is spacious with no toiletries included. We stayed for 2 nights (1100/night). I'll be coming back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamy_arte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here twice on our journey through the philippines - came back for the second time because it was so good on our first stay! Mayflower Inn ist perfectly located uptown (the safer area to stay than downtown), nearby some restaurants, ATMs (working with foreign cards) and shops. We felt very warmly wellcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. The reception is 24-7 occupied and theres a security guard at the front door - we felt perfectly safe here. Our room was basic, but very clean and quiet. There´s good working wifi in the rooms. Furthermore we liked their eco-friendly philosophy. We would definetly come back - very good value for the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mztravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This Inn is located in a good spot in the northern center of the city. The Inn is slightly pricier than the cheapies but its also cleaner and in an area of the city which is safer than the heart of downtown. The rooms are nice and cosy, there is space to get unpacked and even a TV! The philosophy behind the Inn is interesting and ads to its charm. There is free wifi, a restaurant with a simple but adequate menu, free drinking water (for refill), a computer for guests to borrow (free of charge) and great common areas with musical instruments, table tennis, board games and books. There's also a play area for children. The staff is well informed and very helpful and will assist you as well as they can with anything you might need. There is a laundry place just next door, and streetfood is availble just a couple of minutes walk away. There are other eateries, shops and a bar within walking distance as well. This is definately a good accommodation option in Cebu City!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emelie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Well,this review is pretty easy
The staff is super nice
The food at the 'garden' restaurant is good (maybe a bit expensive but still good)
The rooms are clean (cleanest for me so far in the Philippines and I have paid more for less elsewhere); air con, cable TV, hot/cold water, a shower that is separated from the toilet; and sound-proof (best sleep so far in the Philippines)
Maybe you can find a place that is similar or better for a little less but this place is a safe bet, for sure value for money (850Php for a single room)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dualprocess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

i arrived Mayflower 11am wuthout any notice or reservation. Lady (pronounced as Lah-dee and nit Lay-dee), told me that there were no available rooms for my budget, but asked me if I could wait till 12 - 1. I said yes but tried looking for a better deal.

I walked on the long stretch of Escario St. but still ended up with Mayflower.

Lady and the reliever guy was super nice, they were very accomodating. All my questions were answered and requests given. I so love them.

The room was okay. Aircon was really cold. Id best describe it as a place to rest and rest aline. Other than that.. nothing more. The restroom as decent.

Overall, Im happy... and I think Ill be staying here till monday afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fud3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
#30 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#19 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Pension

Property: Mayflower Pension
Address: Villalon Dr | Capital Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayflower Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mayflower Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Pension Hotel Cebu City
Mayflower Pension Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing