We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry about that”
Review of Mayflower Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayflower Pension
Ranked #18 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Mindanao, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Sorry about that”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel has alot going for it: bright painted walls with alot of art in the rooms, a pocket garden with huge koi, a small play room for kids, lots of books to read and board games to play.Much thought has gone into the hotel. BUT more HRM training should go into its staff. Inflexible, uncaring, rigid, non service oriented, but rules are king. As an example, there are no fridges in the rooms. OK, no big deal. But for the last day of our stay we bought some vegetables and asked to store them in the fridge for the cafe. "We don't have any room in the fridge". sorry, but look, it's half empty. "Against policy". Oh, show me this policy in writing. "But what if all the guests wanted to do this?"

Also the internet is the slowest one I have been on since I worked in Laos in 1997. "Oh, we are studying the problem." Right.

Next time Cebu R. We will make reservations in advance there. This time we came at the last minute and it was fully booked. Wonder why Cebu R is fully booked and this hotel has half its rooms empty? And Cebu R is a five minute walk down the street.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless other hotels are fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
23
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This place is a very good Hotel. The staff is great and the room is very clean. I paid 1150 php for one night, they allso have a restaurant but I didn't ate there. The location is allso good because its a few minutes walk from the Robinson's mall and from KFC, McDonal's and Pizza Hut

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eitanmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is owned by a Filipina Canadian artist. It has a lovely pocket garden with tropical pronts and gold fish. The hotel abounds with art and the lounge area has many board games for adults and ch8ildren if you are tired of touring or malling.

The rooms are clean and bright. No smoking in the hotel. the hotel is centrally located near the provincial capital building.

My only reservation is that they do not have individual safety deposit boxes and will only stand behind 20,000 pesos deposited with them for safe keeping. Not good.

If you want a central location, reasonable price and nice surroundings, the Mayflower Pensiion is for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Plus: permaculture & green-friendly, good value, room is OK , good location (near everything by jeepney or taxi without being located in noisy center), basic local food, friendly staff.
Minus: Light through curtains during night, humid room, smily staff but not helpful at all and money-oriented (we stayed here more than 8 days but did not get the weekly rate because we asked to get it too late, after 3 days of staying!...)
Good place anyway

Room Tip: Ask for one room with double bed+single bed (at same price than 2 persons), bed is better and room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank systembenlaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had booked the accommodation as it was recommended in the Lonely Planet for the Philippines. To start with, the rooms are very small and not at all clean. The curtain is so thin that it does not block out any light - I had to use the two bath towels and my clothing to block the light. The bathroom stunk of cat urine, mold on the bathroom tiles. The aircon unit was extremely loud and there was a massive gap from where they installed the unit so outsiders could actually look into your room. I would not recommend this place at all, pay an extra $10 and stay at Quest op. the mall in Cebu.The location of the accommodation is in the dodgy are of Cebu and we (two Australian girls) felt incredibly unsafe and could not wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelW156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Cainta, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Cebu has a very rich culture. Mayflower Inn embraced this. Location is very near to Fuente Circle. If you like to try lechon, its near Zubuchon. Front desk receptionists were very nice, can speak English/ Tagalog. I saw a mini library which I enjoyed.There is an elevator. Room is spacious with no toiletries included. We stayed for 2 nights (1100/night). I'll be coming back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamy_arte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here twice on our journey through the philippines - came back for the second time because it was so good on our first stay! Mayflower Inn ist perfectly located uptown (the safer area to stay than downtown), nearby some restaurants, ATMs (working with foreign cards) and shops. We felt very warmly wellcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. The reception is 24-7 occupied and theres a security guard at the front door - we felt perfectly safe here. Our room was basic, but very clean and quiet. There´s good working wifi in the rooms. Furthermore we liked their eco-friendly philosophy. We would definetly come back - very good value for the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mztravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#24 of 89 in Cebu City
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#22 of 89 in Cebu City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#8 of 89 in Cebu City
743 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Pensionne
Palazzo Pensionne
#3 of 76 in Cebu City
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuente Pension  House
Fuente Pension House
#5 of 76 in Cebu City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Pension

Property: Mayflower Pension
Address: Villalon Dr | Capital Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayflower Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Zenrooms, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mayflower Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Pension Hotel Cebu City
Mayflower Pension Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing