We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pacific Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Pensionne
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
South Pole
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

for 800php, don't expect too much from this place. you'd really get what you pay for. It was my friend who booked this place, who doesn't want to spend a lot. Luckily, we only stayed here for one night. The location is not on the main road. you have to go thru an alley to get there. We arrived around 7pm. The staff was very helpful specially the guard. our room was on the 3 floor, i think. So we had to go through a few flight of stairs. The room was nothing like the photos advertised on their website. Our room had a weird smell when we first got in, the bed was hard, the sheets doesn't seem to be clean, and the A/C sucks.
I think this place is best for those who are on a really really tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mekiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
17
26
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We went back to Cebu City after our Bantayan Island trip and i can say that i made the right choice.. since we wanted to try the sky adventure.. this pensionne house is the best choice ever!! The staff welcomed us with big smiles and every questions that we have about how to go around the city were answered.. This pensionne house is very near Mcdo, Jollibee and the famous Crown Regency hotel.. approximately a 5 minute walk.. if you would want to go to larsian, shamrock or ayala this is just one jeepney ride away..

Accomodation is very basic.. no hot and cold shower.. but the rooms have ac's.. I will definitely go back to this pensionne house if i will be going back to cebu.. =)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank my_kat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Photos in the website are not exactly whats in the property. I reserved 2 family rooms and were given rooms with 2 double beds in each room when we arrived. I work in the travel industry and I should know what a family room is. I asked to be moved as 7 adults and two kids would not possibly fit in those rooms. No family rooms available as per front desk so they gave us one room with 4 single beds and the standard with 2 doubles. The rates by the way did not change, as the standard room accordingly had "hot and cold" shower that was on and off the three days we were there. The kitchen folks were nice with a smile every morning when I have my coffee in the "garden". Which by the way was surrounded by dormitory type houses and the only indication that it was a "garden" was the big umbrella and plants surrounding it. The rest of the staff were non existent. Or, we were non existent to them. I just realized that the good reviews this place got were from the foreigners and the negative ones from the locals. If we didn't have two hyper active kids with us, I would have checked out and looked for another place to stay. I am not a chronic complainer. I knew that the hotel wasn't top class. I knew the walls were thin and you can hear people talking outside your room and that the floors had cracks. I should have trusted that knowledge. It wasn't worth all the hassle. There's a lot of accomodations around the area. Take your business elsewhere.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank memeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Makati
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

From Bantayan, we went back to Cebu and stayed here for a day since our flight was early in the morning. Upon checking in, we didnt felt welcomed. i am used to travelling and i can personally say that they are not hospitable. I know Filipino are known for being hospitable. When we entered, no one greeted us with good morning or even said hello. The receptionist that time wasnt that accomodating as well. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and no one was there to help us. Good thing there was a woman, i am not sure if she's the owner but i think her clinic was there on the first floor. She told us - please leave your bags and there will be someone who will take the bags for you. So i didnt mind this at first.

When we went out for a late lunch, it was raining, we asked the guard if we can borrow an umbrella, he told us, its not allowed by the owner. So its okay, its their policy.

The most terrible experience i had was when we want to ask the guard for a cab for our dinner. It was still raining, he told us he cannot get us a cab, he only take calls. So we asked again the receptionist, this was a different set of guard and receptionist. So she called someone who can get us a cab. And then, the boy went back telling that the GUARD TOLD HIM THAT WE ARE NOT CHECKED IN SO HE WILL NOT GET US A CAB??? what the F. First of all, they treat people like this, so if they are not guests, they wouldnt get a cab for them?

Is this how they treat guests?

I will not recommend this hotel. But if you dont mind the people, then you can stay here since its convenient, but personally, there are other hotels/inns nearby.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelandtravel005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Pacific Pensionne is a good place to stay if you are a budget traveller to spend some nights in Cebu downtown. I paid the normal very reasonable rate of only 850 pesos for a superior double room. I could sleep well in the clean bed.

Everyday I used the WIFI zone for free at the small resto which is also good enough to have a coffee and some water. For a good meal it is recommended to walk around in the area where you can find McDonalds, Jollibee, pizzeria, very cheap eateries on the way to Robinson's Shopping Mall (a 10 minutes walk only) with numerous restos. Just right on the corner you find a local bar to have a cold San Miguel Beer or a budget meal among the local people who are friendly. At the Osmena Boulevard the cabs offer service day and night. I paid 202 pesos for the cab from Mactan Airport to this hotel, but I paid attention to catch a metered taxi and did not accept the "nice price" offers (395 pesos) of fix rates special taxi services runned by an agency just at the exit doors of the arrival hall at the airport.

The staff of the Pacific Pensionne is friendly and helpful. They carried my baggage upstairs to room 201. There I found a clean bathroom with hot and cold water to take shower and use the provided towel, shampoo and soap. The aircon works also very good.

As the place is very economic I did not expect more than the basics to spend time there and have a good rest. So there is noisy traffic day and night on the floors in this hotel, it is not one of the calmest places. But the best management cannot educate guests to stop knocking at the doors of the rooms of their friends in the night and disturb other guests who are there to sleep.

The location is very central but the view out of the window of the room I had, was not worthy to look out there but okay for the price I paid. I could also use a tv in the room but I did not do it. And the hotel provides also phone in the room so that it is possible to arrange a wake up call. The table and the clothes storage look very old, but these installations are clean and useful. I could also make use of the 4 electricity plugs to charge cellphone, camera and laptop batteries and so on.

Last not least, the place is very save. The room door can only be opened with a badge and it is locked without badge in. The management took well care to create a kind of good ambience in this hotel so that the lobby and the environment makes the guests feeling welcome at this place.

I would recommend this place for budget travellers who want to stay some days in Cebu downtown in order to do some shopping and enjoy nightlife or take a rest before exploring other islands. I would recommend this place for simple single travellers and couples, not for families because it is not child-friendly. Before I came here I mailed from Europe and I received a confirmation within 24 hours.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goddiejens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

It's near to everything. Carenderia, church, fastfoods, mall, the park. One ride to SM, Ayala and IT Park. But we were given a small room, and you can hear the staff talking to each other in the hallway in the dead of the night. Can't sleep well with the rectangular, foam pillows that they have.

I'd recommend it to anyone who's on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikenmary0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila/Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Cebu is a great place to visit and relax. Whenever I am on a budget I stay at Pacific Pensionne. The rooms and bathrooms are bright and clean (this is really important to me) and the beds are firm. In the few times that I've been to Pacific Pensionne I saw workers doing paint works and minor renovation. This is a good sign for me because it means that the hotel is always trying to improve itself. But this may be a bit annoying to those who sleep in. The service is okay, staff can be trained a bit better I think but for the price I am paying this is a good deal. The free wifi is good too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossgoMNLBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.7 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#32 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#52 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Pensionne

Property: Pacific Pensionne
Address: 313-A Osmena Boulevard | Jones Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Pensionne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pacific Pensionne! Pacific Pensionne in Cebu City, Philippines assures you of a good mix of quality basic accommodation and warm Filipino hospitality at very reasonable rates. We take pride in our location in between uptown and downtown Cebu, situated within close proximity to commercial districts, recreational venues, and tourist spots. When planning for a trip to Cebu, make Pacific Pensionne your choice of stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Pensionne Hotel Cebu City
Pacific Pensionne Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing