We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive dump, good location, but pay extra for housekeeping” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sampaguita Suites JRG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampaguita Suites JRG
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Inexpensive dump, good location, but pay extra for housekeeping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My Poyry-Manila client put me up at this dump. It's got a good location across from Magellan Cross, but you pay extra for housekeeping. No extra charge for the prostitutes coming and going in the lobby. No charge for Internet as there is no room Internet service. There's a nice and pleasant restaurant and a Western Union for currency exchange next door, plus a large two-story supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Please pardon us for disputing the statement you made above. There are times when a review is negative but we always appreciate the opportunity to glean pointers where we can improve. We are not certain however, how to take this one.

First of all, you just gave a review for a hotel you never stayed in. Our records show you stayed in Sampaguita Suites –Plaza Garcia NOT Sampaguita Suites JRG. Your reference to Magellan’s Cross betrays your claim. Magellan’s Cross is across Sampaguita Suites Plaza Garcia, not Sampaguita Suites JRG.

Secondly, you indicated in this review you stayed on November 2012. Records show you stayed on January and March 2012. There is no record of your stay on November 2012.

Third, you mentioned you were charged for housekeeping. Housekeeping has been, and always has been since the hotel has been operational, FREE.

Fourth, no sex workers have ever been allowed to enter our establishment, or loiter in or around the premises. If you saw a woman accompanied by a guest of the hotel please know we cannot question our guests as to who they escort into the hotel. Not because we condone it but because we couldn’t really judge who is or is not a sex worker and risk offending our guests. We would have accorded you that same courtesy of privacy and discretion IF you were actually our guest.

Finally, you write this “review” almost a year after your supposed stay. Why sir, may we ask, only now? Your careless use of such terms such as “dump” and “prostitutes coming and going in the lobby” are irresponsible and heedless to the potential damage you cause without basis on actual facts. One tends to wonder the motivation behind this tirade hidden in the guise of a review.

The company who booked you is a valued client of ours. We have always been in good business standing with them, hence the reason why they often book their clients in our hotel. Furthermore, we are rated as the best value hotel in our category in Cebu, and one of the top endorsed hotel by Trip Advisor. While we appreciate constructive comments from guests, we hope future comments from you can be fair and truthful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    46
    44
    16
    13
See reviews for
18
33
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

They have clean room. Free WiFi is available in lobby area. The hotel staffs are accommodating, courteous and very helpful. They would offer they help to carry your things. They have security guard 24 hours a day. The hotel is near with the Robinson's mall. Larsian, where you can find delicious and affordable BBQ in town is walking distance with the hotel. I would definitely going back to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We checked-in around 7PM, the hotel was fully booked, good thing we had a reservation. The staff was accommodating, service was good. Room was just Okay. No free breakfast. We stayed there because of its location and it's very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rax_Jacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice place, great staff always friendly and ready to help! All arrivals and departures they carry all luggage and do not even expect tips altho we do- Many restaurants of all kinds right outside the front entrance...

Room Tip: (There is no swimming pool there)- All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location is what you are paying for this hotel. Easy on-line booking even a day before our stay last August 30, 2013. Price of the standard matrimonial is affordable. We stayed on room 216. Room is small but still okay for a short stay. Upon waking up in the morning of August 31st, there was low pressure of water when we were taking our shower. I called reception and informed about it and a few minutes their staff informed me that it is strong. I insisted that it was not because my fiancee was already irritated and already turned the two handles to the maximum but to no avail. There was literally no water flowing from the shower. So, I asked for a pail and dipper so that my fiancee can flush the toilet and finish her shower. I should have taken a picture about it or a video to show proof that there really was no water at all. It's a minor incident but taking a shower with no water is really disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeb083079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed for one night in Aug 2013. The location is great if you want to be near Fuente Osmena circle and the price is very reasonable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The WiFi signal in my first room didn't work so they quickly moved me to a room with a much stronger signal. Lobby is nice and the rooms are very clean. However, the rooms are small and a bit dreary; the ones facing Maximom Ave are very noisy and best avoided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good WiFi reception if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxjimOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

LOCATION is superb. It is the cheapest hotel you could find along the heart of Cebu. The room is average but it is decent enough. Service is also good. There's nothing much to say but this hotel is nicely located, otherwise I would have given this 3 stars. Nearby is the Cebu Rotonda, where all establishments are present. Just a little walk is my favorite restaurant of Abuhan and Larsian. A jeep away is the IT park. Fastfood is just around the corner, souvernir shops, drugstore, banks, malls. All that you could ask for!

Room Tip: Go walk. Explore Cebu City and try the nearby Larcian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xChaLeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.2 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 87 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#51 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#28 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#38 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites JRG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites JRG

Property: Sampaguita Suites JRG
Address: Jrg Building Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sampaguita Suites JRG 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sampaguita Suites JRG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites Jrg Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites JRG Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing