We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twice burned”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Elegant Circle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elegant Circle Inn
Ranked #77 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Twice burned”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many many time do to the offstreet parking and location.
But have since decided to look for another place to stay in Cebu. Twice I had reservations
for certain size room with reasonable rates. These two times I was told even with reservations they only had bigger rooms at almost twice the rate. No discount, nothing either pay the higher rate or find another hotel. The breakfast was one egg and 3 slices of very very dry toast. Very hard to eat plus few hours later I was as sick as a dog. Two days of sitting in cr. As far as noise what can I say kids or young adults running and playing in hallway at 3am, phone ringing at end of hall all hours of the night and early construction next door.

Room Tip: If you want to save little try to book exective room is same as junior suite but without the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    30
    22
    19
See reviews for
13
33
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I've made a booking in this hotel by booking.com, and when I got there it occurred that they didn't know about it. So I had to wait in a hall for about half an hour... (why?)
Sorry - I have to write it - Ladies at the reception where terrible! Although you think they understand you - they don't! Everything we wanted from them lasted forever!
Rooms where average, no daylight. Windows only in the most expensive rooms.
There's a breakfast included, but don't expect much.
If I were to choose a stay in Cebu once more I wouldn't choose this hotel.

Room Tip: I've seen 3 rooms: 2 with no windows and 1 with windows facing a wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hare_otoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

If not because of its location, i might give this hotel a poor review, but considering the price and the location, to be fair it scored average. Located in Fuente Osmena, very accessible, safe, near to bars and anykind of nightlife in cebu. Transportation is very easy, outside the hotel are taxis and jeepneys available. Don't expect too much of the room and the facilities, just think of how much you paid, very cheap. Staffs are quiet friendly. Didnt had the chance to taste their food. But when you're in Cebu don't miss the lechon and if you are the adventurous kind, try out "pungko-pungko" its fun way of eating street foods, youll also be amazed that doctors and nurses are also their eating with you, have fun.

Room Tip: Higer floor rooms get good view of Fuente Osmena
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_herrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel meets expectations, and does not exceed them. It is basically the definition of what you should expect for the price. The location is really the key factor in whether or not you will enjoy your stay. If you want a convenient location, and you don't mind being harassed every time you step outside the hotel, you will be fine. If the harassment of people begging for money and trying to sell you garbage will upset you, don't stay anywhere on Fuente Osmena Circle. Once you get inside the hotel, you will feel safe and will not be bothered. Once you get to your room, though, you may be disappointed. It feels slightly dirty and the walls are extremely thin. All in all, it is just average, and fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night in an economy room. The economy room was fairly clean and was located in the centre of the building. Hmmm? Centre of the building? Hence, there was a window which was way up high close to the ceillng and facing the corridor, which was something different :). The quietness was the advantage to this room. However, occasional noises from the other patrons passing through the corridor can also be heard.

I felt secure inside this hotel. The staffs were also friendly. What I like most about this hotel was the location. I think it was fantastic. Everything seems accesible like restaurants (eg: Chowking, McDonalds and KFC), shopping centres (eg: Robinson's which was just around the corner), public transport, etc.

Eventhough, this hotel seems old and needs a little bit of tender loving care. For a budget hotel. It is a good hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GSR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

It's a large hotel with lots of rooms. I have read some of the negative reviews but gladly my experiences differed. I stayed here on two seperate occassions and enjoyed my stay both times. The place is very secure. The double rooms were clean and spacious. The bathrooms were very clean too. I paid P1195 for a standard double room. You can probably find better deals elsewhere but for what you get it's pretty good value for money. Recommended.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Karlosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

As tourists, we wanted to be where the action is, and knowing the Fuente Osmena is in the capital area, we decided to book a hotel here.

When we got off the cab, we were wondering if we were in the right place. A lot of vendors were sitting right in front of entrance and I didn't feel comfortable walking past them.

We entered the hotel and checked in. We were required 1000PHP deposit before we can go up our room. I was too tired AND hopeful that the rooms are at least "ok".

To my horror, I was greeted by a cockroach, bumped my head on a swinging closet door, appalled by the "grains" that are on the bed and the comfort room was so filthy I felt like barfing right there and then.

We then went out to find another hotel (Luckily we found Sampaguita right behing the hotel, past the alley with KFC beside it.). After about 30 minutes, we came back to check out and get our deposit back. Of course the receptionist asked us "why". We told her that the room was really dirty and that we talked about it and we decided that we really cannot stay there. She told us that "perhaps you got one of our cheaper rooms, that's why." Well, if that's your argument, Miss - then ALL your rooms should be attended to the same manner as you attend to the more expensive rooms!

I was exasperated to know that she will not give us back our deposit because we stayed more than 30 minutes already. If we didn't threaten that lady (I think we eventually spoke with the manager?), then we wouldn't get our money back. The 1K doesn't even compensate for the hassle that they have caused.

Avoid this shabby hotel!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank EYLAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#64 of 87 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#57 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#55 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Circle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Circle Inn

Property: Elegant Circle Inn
Address: Fuente Osmena, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elegant Circle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Elegant Circle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegant Circle Hotel Cebu City
Elegant Circle Inn Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing