We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel w/ very bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamuning House

Kamuning House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cebu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamuning House
Ranked #61 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget hotel w/ very bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have sleep this hotel two times and both times showers hot water dosnt work. First time it dosn't harm me, but second time (last year september 2012, i also think that owner has changed) its too much for me after hard day, and i try to contact reception on evening. No one answer so i go look what's going on and see that receptionist massage securityquard outside the hotels entrance and she is just too lazy for answer the phone.

Well i go to tell my problem for her, and she send some guy to take a look. He can't do nothing.
They dont apologize, offer another room, discount or anything. Just say "it dosnt work". Thanks for telling that..

Also receptionists looks always bored and have lazy attitude and securityquard sleep sometimes inside the lobby with gun on his waist.

I think there is many other options with better service so why choose this?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller457654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Me and 17 of my friends stayed in Kamuning Pension House. The room is very basic but its very clean. Cable tv and okay bathroom (though it may need some retiling). The room rate is very affordable. Good location since there are bars, malls, restaurants and spa nearby. We ordered food for breakfast because it was cheap and surprisingly it tastes good. The hostel doesnt have an elevator so you might want to request for the 2nd floor rooms.

I have recommended this pension house to my friends and we all shared the same experience, we are satisfied with our stay in Kamuning Pension house.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wreckxki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I have stayed in Kamuning 3 times. In 1999 in 2002 and in 2010.All 3 times were pleasant. Friendly staff and they even let me store my luggage for a week when I had to go to the province.
However it was a big schock to find the neighbourhood run down between 2002 and 2011. Llorente was always a quiet back street behind Fuente Osmena, but on my last visit there were obviously more touts, standby's and prostitutes on the street there. Not that they were aggressive, but persistent. One prostitute -who I must say introduced herself with a handshake- followed me all the way to the McDonalds on Fuente Osmena, (but she remained very friendly). The hotel staff is very friendly to kids and I must admitt even the prostitutes were friendly to kids.

The hotel -actually more a pensionhouse) is very basic. We had a small room with TV and a shower. Prices are reasonable.
At day time the area is OK. At night time I would only go from the Hotel into the direction of Osmena Blvd (where Anita's Bake shop is. I would advice against going the other way into the direction of national book store. Too many standby's that strangely enough in the daytime are OK and friendly, but at night -when drunk- come across rather shady.
Next to th ehotel is Governor Roa street that at night time I would not venture into too deep. Recently a nursing student got shot there, just because some thugs wanted her cellphone that she had pulled out.

It is a pity coz the kamuning house itself is really a nice place to stay, it deserves a somewhat better neighbourhood though

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cebutraveller110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
0.2 mi away
Palladium Suites
Palladium Suites
#157 of 213 in Cebu Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#32 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#39 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Century Plaza Hotel
#53 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#55 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#19 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamuning House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuning House

Property: Kamuning House
Address: 37 Kamuning, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kamuning House Hotel Cebu City
Kamuning House Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing