We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I decided to stay at The Golden Prince in Cebu City to take a break from the many cheaper hotels and B&Bs I'd mostly been staying at during my trip. It was not bad, but not quite the 'upgrade' I'd expected.

The reception staff wasn't too polite during check in nor too helpful when I called them from my room asking for at least a couple of hangers for the closet (there weren't any). The restaurant/room service staff has, however, left a much more positive impression.

I was staying in a suite, quite a small one at that. It looked a little tired and not very clean. The towels in the bathroom were gray and damp. The air-conditioner wasn't working properly, so the room was very very hot at night.

The Golden Prince is conveniently located next to a large shopping centre, The Ayala Mall, and the town centre is a short drive away. The neighbourhood itself is neither good for walking nor otherwise interesting or attractive.

Overall, I would say that the Golden Prince Hotel is a good option for business travellers, but a backpacker looking for some local flair is best advised to stay elsewhere,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

I spent two weeks at the Golden Prince Hotel back in August 2009 with my girl friend, having already stayed a week there in March 2009. It is a very nice hotel. It is a pity that it has no swimming pool! But it is modern and well maintained with a great team of staff.
My only problem was that when I urgently needed to change some GB Pounds (in cash) into Philippine Pesos, I was told "NO... We only change USD, Yen or Euros. Our accountant says so."... It was not the desk staff's fault! simply a ruling from a particularly stupid accountant, or some other brainless member of their management.
But apart from that, it''s a nice place to stay and very good value. Good location too, Walking distance from one of the best shopping malls in Cebu.
Dr V.J.Walden

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrVjWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

we're just looking for place to sleep for a night & i have never seen my father-in-law (70yrs old) so sound asleep and appreciate everything with respect to the price. i also have a very hard to please but Golden Prince had keep my mouth shut. definitely would recommend to a friend. not to mention just a stone throw away from ayala mall.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Although this hotel does not have the usual Tea/Coffee making facilities but when i called for a flash of hot water, they arrived immediately, then i asked for another and again it came immediately. After that we need hair dryer, and again we called, it comes in jus split seconds...Fantastic service for a 3 stars hotel.
We only stayed 1 night and that is really a good experience. Breakfast is ok with the various set to choose from
overall a good pleasant stay for the amount you pay

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank LynnKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Golden Prince is very near (walking distance) Ayala Center Cebu. If you're on a vacation, and you think you'll be out the whole time... you can stay here. The room is fine. bathroom is fine also. Breakfast? well, small serving.. => Though one night, i ordered an old fashion chicken soup.. and it was great. They have wi-fi access for 50peos per hour.. (quite expensive huh?!).

Reminders for those who will go for this place... make sure they spray Lysol on the beddings.. Another thing, ask for extra linen.. the bed is quite itchy.. (as per experience)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jho1-on-the-loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My family and I stayed at the Golden Prince in Cebu City for 2 weeks in a two bedroom suite with a small kitchen. Breakfast is included. The hotel is small, the staff is friendly, helpful, and always there for you. Internet is available. We were put to sleep on many nights with a nice massage (available by making arrangements with the front desk). The rooms are simple but are clean and well cared for. The food served in the restaurant is excellent. The hotel helped us plan a family event (for about 50 people) and the food was excellent. Every detail for our event was taken care of. This is the second time we stayed in this hotel with family and we enjoyed our stay very much. We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lulube2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tonerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
#18 of 92 in Cebu City
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 92 in Cebu City
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#8 of 92 in Cebu City
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cebu Grand Hotel
Cebu Grand Hotel
#68 of 92 in Cebu City
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.3 mi away
MJ Hotel and Suites
MJ Hotel and Suites
#24 of 92 in Cebu City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Prince Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Prince Hotel & Suites

Address: Acacia Street | corner Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#13 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: £30 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Prince Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites is the only home-grown (Cebuano) hotel property that is: --> 4-Star accredited by the Department of Tourism, Philippines --> Family-friendly environment due to our Cebuano values: Pahiyum (Genuine Smile), Paminsar (Smart Attentiveness), Pangbarog (Excellent Demeanor), Pakigtambayayong (Great Team Player) and Pagbati (Empathic Anticipation). --> Socially-responsible through our unwavering commitment in various communities and thrusts that support local tourism, heritage and culture. --> Meetings, Conventions, Exhibitions ready for major events and activities --> SIMEX (Simulation Exercise) certified by Key Security Agencies: Philippine National Police, Cebu City Police SWAT, CITOM (Traffic Enforcement), Burea of Fire, Cebu Disaster Risk & Reduction and more --> PWD (Person with Disability) friendly - with such facilities as: Wheelchair elevator, Ramps, Room space and more Golden Prince Hotel & Suites highlights a Unique Cebuano Royalty Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Prince Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Prince Hotel & Suites Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing