We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their standard room is a bedroom with an aircon, a bathroom, and a tv.”
Review of La Guardia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cebu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Guardia Hotel
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Service: Prompt and honest. A little too helpful at first, because even if I only had a small luggage bag I could handle myself, two of the bellboys accompanied me to the room, so they had to share the tip. =) I was impressed later on during checkout, when the staff checking my room rushed downstairs while I was claiming my deposit to give back the sunglasses I'd left behind. The staff are young and energetic, while the receptionists can be cheerful or just bland, depending on how late it is into their shift. They are all polite though, and answered my questions adequately.

Room: I stayed in the standard room, since the receptionist told me the only available Deluxe room was on the noisy side of the building. Corners of the room were still dusty, and I may have found a couple of hairs that weren't mine on the bed. I say "may" because I found them only after I'd lain down and they were too short to be mine, but the moral is, when in doubt, to request for a change of linen if possible. The shower has commercial sachets of shampoo and usual tiny bars of soap, with two bath towels on a rack, and one roll of tissue paper. I had to turn on the shower heater myself. No free toothbrush, toothpaste or bedroom slippers, but at P550 per night, this is to be expected. There is a closet with a shelf, a mirror with a table and a monobloc chair to sit on, and a tv. The aircon worked fine. At night, I could overhear the tv in the next room playing.

Amenities: No restaurant or gym. Their massage services may be done "in the comfort of your room" and you can buy a wifi card, though I found it expensive. Food and drinks are available at the reception area. I don't recall if they offer laundry and ironing services.

Location: It is situated along downtown Cebu, with Chowking and Jollibee fast food eateries nearby. Beside an appliance store and above a travel agency (I think), once you step outside you can eat a stick of isaw, sample some balut, enjoy halo-halo, buy pirated dvds, surf at a 24hr internet cafe for P20/hr, and purchase those slippers and hygeine products you thought the hotel would provide at the nearby Gaisano Mall. In other words, a hotel that's easy on the pocket in a well-suited location.

I did not feel all that safe at first, either outside or inside the hotel, since the hotel posts very clear signs not to leave valuables in the room and to deposit it instead with the front desk, and I read a news article where the mall near the hotel was robbed a year or so ago, but as I mentioned, my experience is that the staff are honest (about sunglasses, at least) and outside the hotel, the commercial establishments have security guards and there are traffic enforcers at the busy intersection, so just keep your wits about you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Semi-ambivalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

I booked this hotel months before our actual travel, so I was able to avail of the old/discounted rate (550). And although I had to make reservation changes (addition and sked changes) during a time when they already had higher rates, I was still given the old and cheaper rate. The staff replies to email promptly (thanks, Yen!).

When we arrived in front of the hotel, the outside environment was a little unflattering. It was located in a crowded area, not one you would expect for a hotel location. But when we got inside the hotel, our initial impressions were reversed. The interior of the hotel was orderly and clean, and there was a receptionist at the front desk who accommodated us. A 300 pesos deposit is required per room, but that is refunded during check out (minus expenses incurred like phone calls).

The room given to us was also very clean, with double beds, a big TV with cable, big bathroom with hot and cold shower, telephone, extra space and hangers for our clothes, and toiletries. When we had to ask for hot water (we bought coffee packets with us), the service was also fast.

The only hassle (but only a little hassle) we had was during check out when we had to wait at the front desk while the receptionist sent one of the personnel back to our room to inspect that everything was in order. Maybe we should have informed them about our check out time in advance to avoid the hassle.

They also have wifi, but their wifi cards are expensive - P100 pesos for one hour (expiration of the card is after 24 hours). That's not a problem with me, though, because I had my broadband (although the second time we checked in, there was no signal for my broadband and very little signal for our mobile phones - maybe it was the room given to us).

Overall, La Guardia offers a nice stay at a very affordable price. I'm not sure why it's not known to many in the area (twice we had to ask a taxi driver to bring us to La Guardia, and at both times, the drivers were not familiar with the place). And its unflattering location proved to be beneficial in the end because it's near malls and other public places.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naysan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I'm a Cebuana who is now based in Manila and I go home about 2 - 3 times a year and everytime, I stay in La Guardia Hotel.

Although the front desk people are not so courteous or nice, I still prefer to stay here. Nothing can compare to their rates. I can even say that I get more for what I pay.

Php600 (about $13), clean airconditioned rooms, hot & cold shower, clean bathrooms!, 21 in cable TV, nice clean sheets everyday! and big beds!

and everything is so accessible, You wouldnt expect such amenities in the heart of downtown cebu...

all i can say it's the city's best kept secret. :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank gothichique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I came from Palawan to Cebu City and had to spend two days there before flying back to Italy. I read the reviews on this site to search for a low-budget hotel in cebu city centre which could suit my taste: cheap but -clean- (not easy in the Philippines), -comfortable- and possibly -silent-.

After two hours of reviews reading and checking different hotel websites, comparing their different qualities, my final choice fell on Hotel LaGuardia.

Strange but true, this hotel was listed on tripadvisor, but without any comments at all. That scared me a bit, but after checking their website I felt myself 90% sure about making the right choice: very nice photos, incredibly low prices (600 Pesos, less than 10 Euros for a double room)

So I finally arrived to this hotel, a bit unsure about what I might find and afraid of being disappointed.

Well, not only i was not disappointed, but I was really positively surprised by the beauty and the comfort and the silence of the structure. Everything had been recently renewed, so I had the impression that the price was too low for what you get. I have been travelling for 2 months around Philippines and have stayed at many low-budget hotels or pensions. This was one of the best and the cheapest hotels, especially if you consider that you are in the centre of town.

The bed was very comfy, pillows also, and the room - besides being very big, had a TVset, Aircon, a brand new bathroom/toilets, with hot shower.

All this for 500 Pesos (promo fare)!!!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nakedtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jonas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelYeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#25 of 92 in Cebu City
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#34 of 92 in Cebu City
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cuarto Hotel Cebu
Cuarto Hotel Cebu
#16 of 92 in Cebu City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#9 of 92 in Cebu City
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Guardia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guardia Hotel

Address: Osmena Boulevard | Kalubihan, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Guardia Hotel is a -very- budget hotel located in downtown Cebu City. Our rooms are airconditioned, have tv sets, en-suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water. Elevator, 24-hour front desk and security are available. Please research about downtown Cebu City before considering our hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Guardia Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing