We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different era in an hour . .”

Yap Sandiego Ancestral House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Cebu and Lapu-Lapu Cultural Tour
Ranked #5 of 112 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Different era in an hour . .”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our family visited the Yap Sandiego Ancestral House last May 2012 as part of our 4- day vacation in the charming city of Cebu. Saw this place in the internet and decided to check it out. We rode a taxi to get to the place and requested the driver to wait for us (w/ extra charge) since we do not know the jeepney route to the place and back to the hotel.

It was actually a unique experience especially for my kids to be able to see and get inside a real century old Spanish-Filipino house. It was built 300 years ago!! Amazing . We were allowed to carefully touch the antiques inside, sit on the old wooden chairs and take a lot of pictures. Great short trip for the young and old. An hour or two will give you a lifetime journey back in time. .. . Have a great visit!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank APRIL8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    162
    55
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“charming Spanish period ancestral house”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I think it is a typical Spanish era colonial house that is worth the visit. This is only a few steps away Casa Gorordo, another ancestral house, and the Heritage of Cebu monument.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank girlygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historical”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

At first I was scared to enter the house because it was like haunted house, and lots of antiques and lots of Santo Nino in every corner. But when the tourist guide already started to explain the History of it, It seems very interesting. I did not regret the day that I went to Cebu and visit one of the historical place like YAP- Sandiego Ancestral House

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank emy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The personal touch of the Yap Sandiego House”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This ancestral house has more character than any of the other buildings in the area. The staff are very aware of its' features, the collections have such personal insights and the owner has contributed to the community atmosphere through building awareness of Parian history. It was definitely the highlight of my visit to CebuCity. Ask questions and you will be rewarded with information not found in any guidebook. Learn about the habits, architecture, style and basic way of life from 1600 to present. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BabeWithABackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu, Philipppines
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old ancestral home”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Gives you a glimpse of architecture centuries ago. Beautiful wooden floors.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mchs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yap Sandiego Ancestral House also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Yap Sandiego Ancestral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing