We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Pier Cuatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 29 November 2011

nice hotel.... sarap ng foods d2.... clean room and rest room..... medyo malayo nga lang sa mga pasyalan... but if u want a place to relax to sleep i highly recommend this hotel... till nxt time guys... salamat sa good service

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alona1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

My fifth stay in Pier Cuatro. Was in both the standard room and the Deluxe suite. Rooms are spacious enough, bathrooms basic, enough warm water, new towels every day and cleanup. Staff is very friendly, both at the deks and in the restaurant. Dont expect mariott but good Pinoy quality.

Price-Quality ratio is excellent. Especially compared to other places where either staff is unfriendly (or ignorant) and all extra requests are charged extra.

Big plus is the breakfast buffet: 5 to 6 warm ( Filippino) dishes, rice, bread, coffee, juice, toast etc. all tasty and fresh. Had breakfast in other places where the inclusive breakfast was so little you had to visit McD afterwards or order extra.

Location is near the harbor (Pier 4). Opposite the hotel is club Arena. No noise problems. Allways enough taxis around. A trip by taxi to Colon/Ayala/SM is about 70 pesos (1 euro and 20 cents or so). Taxi to/from airport is about 170 pesos.

Positive experiences last time: doorman warned me the waiting taxi would charge me way too much. Adviced me to get a cab at the corner. Also ladies at the desk helped me find a good address to repair my pc when I mentioned mine crashed suddenly.

Also the owner of the hotel is often around and discretely makes sure you get the service you pay for.

Room Tip: get either a deluxe suite or the standard room. Or just ask to see the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKA-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Friendly warm reception staffs, providing valued foods & drinks. Clean & well secured hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenGoingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was not a good experince for me.
The airconditioning was loud it was actally hard to sleep and even though they say that they offer Wifi, i found this not to be true.
I told them that i was having problems connecting to it. They said that they would look into it, but i never heard from them again.
The biggest issue for me is when i recevied a phonecall from the reception saying that there was a lady there that wanted to speak with me. She i asked me if everything was okay with my stay and if i needed some girls sent to my room. I told her to let me speak with the staff again and i told them that i didn't appreciate how they did business and that i didn't want any phonecall like that again. He replied "okay sir, don't worry"
Overal,l i'm needless to say disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1412, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pier Cuatro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear sir, we are deeply saddened by your review. As much as we respect your personal opinion of your stay with us, we are left with no choice but to take time to respond and defend ourselves, as some items you wrote may mislead readers of this community.

1. WIFI - WIFI is offered. In fact, aside from our bldg WIFI, we offer a backup connection in the lobby (from a different internet provider) in case a connection is down. Our bldg WIFI (Bayantel) was down from Oct18-20 but our backup connection (PLDT) was up the entire time. For what it's worth, here are the actions we took behind the scenes.
*Oct 19 2:30pm: REPORT FILED. Our IT in-charge called Bayantel to report our internet connection problem.
*Oct 21 10am: ACTION TAKEN. Bayantel service crew arrived at the hotel to check the connection. They discovered the problem, which was from their end and the problem was solved. Bldg internet connection restored.

2. PROSTITUTION - Hotel Pier Cuatro, its owners, management and staff do not sell, promote nor support prostitution or any illegal activity. We are a 100% family-friendly establishment. We have imposed rules for outsiders and they cannot go to the rooms nor have their calls transferred to our guests without knowing a specific guest's name and room number. We asked the 2 frontdesk staffs on duty when this incident happened to submit incident reports and here are points that popped up:
a. The lady who called knew your name and your room number.
b. Our frontdesk staff called to ask permission from you before transferring the lady's call.
c. Our frontdesk staff gave you the name of the lady before transferring the call, and whether you knew the lady or not, the fact is that you still gave our staff the go-signal that you will talk with the caller.

We, the hotel's management, are extremely disappointed and at the same time find it unfair for you to blame this certain incident on us. We find it insulting for you to associate our business with the activity of the lady you talked with over the phone. And for you to give us the lowest rating in all 5 categories based on this single incident to prove a point sure does not make your review a truly honest one.

For the WIFI problem, we are sorry if we were not able to give you instant feedback on the matter but we think you and other TripAdvisor readers should know that we always act on a problem - immediately and sincerely.


-Hotel Pier Cuatro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Very nice reception and friendly staff.
Standard room is really regular and looks better on picture… with window to a wall.
Hot and cold water avalible.
It is clean and smells good, but has small TV and decent selection of cable content. Complimentary Breakfast is Philippine stile, very basic.
Hotel has free WiFi service. Located Near pier4 (5-10 minute walk) it is good for those who take Weesam ferry to Tabilaran City.
So bottom line – if you are on transit in Cebu for one night or low on budget, this is a good budget hotel.
Otherwise, look for something else.

Additional Info: We haven't looked around, but most probably there is no convenient store near by. So if you need anything hotel's restaurant is the only option.
Taxi from airport cost us less than 300 pesos.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyboyTel_Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed twice there in October2011. Standard rooms are quite small, the furniture is somewhat spartanic, but still at that price it's good value to have a simple room with aircon and hot water working. The second time I opted for the slightly more expensive deluxe room, I didn't regret my choice. The reservation process is very easy, no need for credit card guarantee. Staff is very very friendly. There is a reasonably priced restaurant and its fun to singalong for free in their mezzanine area.

Room Tip: If you're not on a very tight budget, try the deluxe or superior rooms. They sometimes have prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had to stay 2 more days in Cebu because of a typhoon alert, therefore this hotel was a great choice for us as it is only minutes walk from the pier 4. We could just walk there and check if our boat received a green light from the coast guards.

We took the basic room, still with air con and hot water, very good price for the three of us. Buffet breakfast is included and quite nice. The hotel itself is very clean, elevator seems safe.

The staff is excellent and very helpfull. We could pay only half price for our room the last day as our boat was finally granted green light at 5pm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#26 of 91 in Cebu City
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugbutel Family Hotel
Sugbutel Family Hotel
#50 of 91 in Cebu City
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#23 of 91 in Cebu City
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites
#34 of 91 in Cebu City
81 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#37 of 91 in Cebu City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pier Cuatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pier Cuatro

Address: 3rd Avenue, North Reclamation Area | North Reclamation Area, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pier Cuatro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pier Cuatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pier Cuatro Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing