We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel with five star service”
Review of Hotel Pier Cuatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I’m currently on my fourth visit to Hotel Pier Cuatro. The rooms are clean, with good aircon, TV, Wi-Fi, hot water and really comfortable foam mattresses. The all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is included in the price, and there’s quite a good menu if you want to eat here in the evening. While you can’t really walk anywhere from the hotel (apart from the pier if you’re taking a ferry), there are always taxis out front. If there aren’t, the doorman will go up to the main road and get one for you. And that’s what makes this hotel really stand out – the staff are all very friendly and incredibly helpful. (I had to go to Singapore for a week then return, and they looked after my dive gear while I was away.) Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

we had our training program held here and it was not only affordable but the food is great, karaoke is free and whatever request you ask you from the staff they always respond promptly and with a smile. Will come booking for more on future events!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mackiechoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a transit or just a place to spend the night. The hotel is affordable given that it serves a buffet breakfast. Not bad for a place to stay but I would not recommend a long stay in here.

The restaurant offers a reasonable menu but the food could've improved a bit in taste. Location-wise the hotel is 2 out of 5. The nearest mall is about 1 to 2 blocks away. And convenience for a food to eat or things to buy is not accessible. Currently, a mall is being constructed in the corner of the street and that will probably change everything soon.

The hotel states its name, that it is near pier 4 (about 5mins. walk) for fast ferries going to Bohol. Across the hotel area is home to a night club/bar.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Kurt John Eliez... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is a pretty good choice. Its in a shady area, but aren't they all in Cebu? Walking distance to the pier for all the ferries, and about 250 peso in a cab from the airport. Its also walking distance to SM - the big shopping centre with heaps of bargains and shopping. Good place to eat too.

The rooms are clean, staff are exceptionally friendly. The walls are a little thin and it is opposite a girly bar. There are a few other hotels on this street, and this looks to be the least sleazy.

Breaky is basic and very local. Get used to sweet toast in the Philippines! I cant make myself have eggs on sweet toast! The food is clean and we didn't feel any traveller belly gurgles while staying here.

We stayed for 2 nights, and on the first night our phone rang at 11pm. Breathy female voice on the phone offering who knows what....??? I took the phone off the hook and listened to the phones in all the other rooms ring for what seemed like hours. Didn't happen on night 2 tho???

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you can. Superior rooms are worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

this was supposed to be written last october 2013, but better late than never. we stayed here for a night prior to our trip to bantayan island cebu, room was okay during the stay worth the money. we got two double beds. i think the staff are really friendly and accomodating because when we called the front desk for water, they brought it promptly maybe less than 5 minutes and then kuya even offered the idea that we can asked for bread if we are hungry, true enough we asked for coffee and had our bread toasted for free considering its around ten pm already.. the breakfast buffet impressed me so much, i mean with the room rate i had a great meal that jump start our city tour. One bad thing by the way was the taxi that we rode on our way to the south terminal it was an old taxi and waiting outside the hotel, we thought that the charge was just too much the meter was acting weird (me batingting), so for all who are staying in this hotel avoid those taxis waiting outside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scatterbrained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

During our two night stay in this hotel, every interaction we had with the staff was charming and fun. One our first night, we particularly enjoyed the free Videoke bar. When checking out, we were running late but the friendly front desk staff but us at our ease and allowed us to store our luggage for a couple of hours after checkout.

The included buffet breakfast was good, standard Filipino buffet, and the dining area was pleasant.

The room itself was okay but disappointing compared to the lobby and the professionalism of the staff. When you come across an old shower head that leaks half of it's water in the wrong direction, you know that not a lot of care is being put into maintaining the rooms - we could shower just fine but it is an example of the generally run-down condition of the room. Also, our small window looked straight across a narrow duct at another window, about a meter away.

None of our devices could hold onto a good WiFi signal which, these days, should be considered an essential feature in any hotel. Signs in the hotel mention a recent upgrade to make WiFi available to all rooms, so, perhaps we just had a room that is hard to reach.

For us, the location of the hotel was terrible, there is nothing interesting within easy walking distance, apart from a fancy strip club across the road, everything else in the surrounding area is either industrial space, wasteland or squatter camps, making it quite dangerous to walk at night. There is not even a 7-11 in the area.

The nearest place to go is a big SM shopping mall, but that is 1.2km, a 15 minute walk, and involves running across a very busy intersection with no traffic lights. Of course, the lobby staff were very helpful in getting us taxis but, really, it is so much nicer to be able to walk out of a hotel and try out nearby restaurants and bars.

Probably the best area to get a taxi to would be the top of Mango, ask for the National Bookstore, there are a bunch of restaurants and bars there. That is 2.2km away, about ten minutes drive and a fare of around 70 or 80 pesos at quiet times ... but avoid having to catch a taxi anywhere at peak times, it will take ridiculously longer.

I think the location could work really well for groups of people who enjoy each others company, the videoke bar would be a big plus in that situation, and perhaps it is also a good stop off for people who simply want somewhere to stay before flying out the next day and have no interest in hanging out in the city. Also, obviously, it is close to the port, so, this hotel would be a good place to stay the night before a boat trip.

Finally, this hotel suffers from the same problem as so many hotels in Asia: elevators that make a loud pinging sound every time the doors open. I am not sure why Asian hotel managers don't realize that, if waiting for an elevator, people will see the doors open, they don't need to be reminded that they were waiting for one. This noise, which is not technically necessary, is a nightmare for guests in the rooms close to the elevator on each floor. Our room was on the other side of the floor, so, we could hear it but it wasn't annoying, but we chatted with another guest who was leaving earlier than originally planned because of it.

Again, I want to stress that the staff were lovely, the management have done a great job of creating a good atmosphere, it is just a pity that the rooms themselves don't receive that level of care and attention to detail. The location is a problem that not much can be done about.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator but close to the WiFi router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnacha_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a great stay here. One of the best budget hotel near Pier 4 and SM City Cebu. All the staff is very accommodating.The room was small but clean. Price is okay because of the free breakfast buffet.

Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellinebyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#28 of 92 in Cebu City
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugbutel Family Hotel
Sugbutel Family Hotel
#49 of 92 in Cebu City
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#23 of 92 in Cebu City
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites
#31 of 92 in Cebu City
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#36 of 92 in Cebu City
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pier Cuatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pier Cuatro

Address: 3rd Avenue, North Reclamation Area | North Reclamation Area, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £16 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pier Cuatro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pier Cuatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pier Cuatro Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing