We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AA BBQ

AA BBQ
Ranked #6 of 693 Restaurants in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: pronounced as double A BBQ
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“GOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

You can pick anything you want and they will grill it for you! I love their liempo and cuttlefish. Also their pitcher of Four seasons.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YaneSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    207
    91
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cebuano BBQ at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you are seeking an authentic and vibrant local experience in Cebu, then this place is a must. Just tell your taxi drive to take you to AA BBQ on S.A. Fortuna street in Manduae. A local food blogger friend of mine, Jed Uy, took us here. It will be the most memorable meal and experience during our week's stay in Cebu.

You first walk through a 'cafeteria' style line, where you choose from a very fresh selection of meats, fish and chorizos, You place your choices on a plastic tray and hand it to the counter person to be grilled.

You go to a table where a bowl of the local condiment of soy sauce, vinegar and thinly sliced green tomatoes are placed in front of you to wait for your food to be grilled.

The outdoor sitting area is a great open feeling and a buzz from the fellow patrons waiting anxiously for their food or those that are enjoying their prepared selections. There are hand washing stations in the dining room because this is a kinetic meal. Flatware is provided, but you just wind up using your hands to really get into the meal.

We enjoyed grilled giant squid, juicy, tender and brushed with a soy based sauce that was a perfect accompaniment. Other items were a pork on a still, pork belly, garlic shrimp, grilled giant prawns, chorizos, and so that mom would be happy, a sauteed cabbage with garlic.

It is one of those types of meals that you are sad that your stomach said, "enough" while you tongue says "more."

Like all places we have eaten here in Cebu City, prices are very very inexpensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Denverbri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ate at the location behind Fort San Pedro. We were uncertain at first, not knowing the food well and not seeing any prices on the menu, but we were lucky! The creamy iced tea especially was a highlight!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frabb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The food is okay.. The staff ignores customers!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my family went to Mactan AA restaurant coz the staff at the Shang said its the best local resto for good food and affordable price... When we went there the good was fine especially the spicy sizzling sisig and buttered chicken... BUT the staff ignores customers raising their hands and already shouting just to call their attention.... All 6 of us in my family had our hands up high calling the waiters.... So I went to the counter and followed up my additional sizzling sisig coz I've been waiting for 15 minutes already... The waiter said... The plate is just being heated... The girl at the counter said my order is next... I stood for five minutes and then tried to look for the manager... The other waiter said I should sit down first coz the plate is already being heated and the other counter girl and waiter said the plate is already being heated.... I told them.. I have not seen any plate heated and that all of them are liters... The cook at the grille said.... "O eto na ang plate mo sir, iinitin ko na para matigil ka..."

I tried to get the names of these staff especially the cook.. They didn't want to say...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalyehon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Tried several types of longganisa, barbecued tangigue, and pork barbecue.

Everything was decent to good, with the tangigue being the best among those I tried.

Prices were good and ambience is that of your typical open air ihawan place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leche1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AA BBQ also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to AA BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing