We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a business meeting in cebu and my client arranged an accomodation in Sampaguita suites, plaza garcia branch, stayed for 3 days and 2 nights.

the location is near Cebus famous spots, Magellan cross, Sto. Nino Church, Capitol. A 7-11 a few meters from the hotel, mc donalds just across the street.

The rooms are pretty neat with basic ameneties like hot and cold shower, cable tv, telephone, and a very comfy pillows and mattress.

elevator with soft touch buttons hehe,

cons, quite far from the airport.

i just like the location of the hotel specially a night, no theres no parteee happening, just love the old feel of the environment, the old structures, the lights, the serenity ( 9 pm onwards ) makes you feel like your in a different city.

the best part is that the rate is affordable if not the most affordable hotel in Cebu, about 18$

i will stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank morenosherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    78
    81
    12
    8
See reviews for
46
44
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Sampaguita Suites has a perfect location, close to almost all tourist attraction of Cebu. Right beside Sto. Niño Basilica and Magellan's Cross. Few blocks away to other location like Plaza and AA Bbq. Another thing, the price of the room is just right for your budget. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaCastisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights from 17/9 to 22/9 at Room 604. We can see the sea from the room. Room is small but sufficient as it has a cabinet with good storage place (unlike most of the budget hotel which doesn't even have a place to hang our clothes). Aircon super cold, water heater and pressure inconsistent. Cabel TV actually has tons of watchable channels. If you asked for any assistance like towel, a flask of hot water , it would happened in a speed of lightning. Not many hotel , even the 5 stars hotel can provide such efficient service.

The staff named Chan is extremely helpful and always cheerful and smiling. He seems to understand our needs and pointed us to all the right place from local eatery, laundry service, internet cafe etc.

The location is simply great as we walked to all the nearby attraction like Magellen Cross, Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral, Yap Santiago House, Plaza Independence, Fort San Pedro ,Colon Street, City Hall.

24 hours Mc Donald is just across the street. The 7-11 is a stone throw away and Internet Cafe and Laundry service (25 peso per kg, minimum 2 kg) located 3 blocks away. Same roll there is a little eatery called Nito's Lechon that sells great roaster pig (about 60 peso for a serving of pork, rice and coke) . We went to the famous TNT Lechon just opposite SM Mall but we prefer Nito's lechon (Open daily from 10am to 8pm). Another place the staff recommend was the AA BBQ next to Plaza Independence, yummy food at reasonable price, try their Green Mango shake.

The street kids at the corner of the hotel as well as street vendors doesn't really bug us much as they are not persistent.

Overall a very pleasant experience. Very good base for our stay in Cebu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lixT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Superb customer service,..
Kudos to all the staff and crew of this hotel,they are so friendly and accommodating all through out of our stay.keep up the good work guys,..
We will definitely stay at this property again,..good location,food is great,clean room..two thumbs up...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clifton_pascual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Considering that this is a budget hotel, the service I got during my stay here was nevertheless above par. Hotel staff go out of their way to please and serve. At one point, they even "chided" me for not asking for their help (well, I was used to being on my own when staying in a budget hotel). Staff were alert at all times (and I do tend to call them either very late or very early) and ready to assist with anything, even when I asked for help finding a box in the wee hours.

The location is good but not very ideal for me -- it is right beside some key tourist areas like the Magellan's Cross and the Sto. Nino shrine, near other tourist destinations (walking distance from Fort San Pedro and Plaza Independencia), but not very near commercial areas where I can go if I need anything (although there's a 24-hour grocery around the corner). Another plus is the 24-hour McDonalds in front, which is good for people who like to stay up all night or make really early morning starts. The hotel also has it's own small restaurant where guests can have their meals or a snack.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiFetalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

just located in the old town, near to the historial building,charch etc.
the room is clear, the air conditions are noisy.
only the ground outside is not good, some waifs are around,ask for money or food.

Room Tip: closed to historial building and charch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank elane z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Sampaguita Suites has an ideal location, it's just a stone's throw away from famous Cebu landmarks, the Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Sto. Nino church. Just a few steps is the Fort San Pedro, the Heritage of Cebu Monument, and a Shamrock store where you can buy all the famous Cebuano goodies/pasalubong (otap, barquillos, dried mangoes,etc) to your heart's content. And if you really love walking as much as I do, you can just walk to see the Museo de Sugbu (about 2km from Fort San Pedro). A 24-hour convenience store, a grocery store, bakery, souvenir shop, fastfood chains are all within walking distance from the hotel. The room that we had was just basic but clean and comfortable. They have a dining area at the 2nd floor (with free wi-fi) which serves Filipino dishes. I only got to try their breakfast meal and was particularly fond of the homemade longganisa. What I liked most about the hotel is the friendliness and courteousness of the staff, they are always ready to assist you. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 87 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#28 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#7 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#35 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#51 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location

Property: Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
Address: Plaza Garcia Building | Magallanes St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#11 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing